We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you are looking for peace and quiet then get...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Birch Lodge

Welcome to Birch Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Birch Lodge
Luxury hot tub on south facing sun deck Sun loungers, dining table and chairs, plus gas barbecue enable full use of outdoor space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Welcome to Birch Lodge
Luxury hot tub on south facing sun deck
Sun loungers, dining table and chairs, plus gas barbecue enable full use of outdoor space
Enjoy the hot tub night and day
Stylish open-plan interior
Private garden surrounded by greenery
Large shower with over-head and adjustable shower heads
Modern bathroom with stylish lighting
Large TV with wi-fi connection and Netflix included
Explore the local area - there's lots to see and do
A fresh clean bedroom with king size bed and ample storage space
Wake up to the view of the garden and the sound of birdsong
A kitchen fit for a cook
Dine in comfort and style
A modern lodge with a personal touch
Towels, linen and bathrobes all included
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stanton, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob F
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“If you are looking for peace and quiet then get booking”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is our 3rd visit to Upthorpe Lodges and each time we have stayed in a different lodge. Birch lodge is every bit as good as the others.
We used the lodge as a base to visit Lackford Lakes, Minsmere, Diss, Dedham, Flatford, Bury St Edmunds, Southwold & Ipswich.
The lodge is well equipped and has everything that you will need. Despite there being 4 Lodges they are all really private and the only noise you will hear is the wildlife. Ian & Debbie are great hosts who will be on hand if you need them but otherwise leave you to it.
We are looking forward to our fourth visit already so we can test out Maple Lodge.
Go ahead and book, you won't be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
What can we say! Thanks for being great visitors and for leaving our lodge ready for the next guests. As always, you're welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany B
1 review
“Best stay in England”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Couldn't have imagined.a better place for a quiet couples getaway, secluded and only the sound of nature to keep you company! Ian is a wondeful host who is always so happy to stop and have a chat, and leaves so many helpful guides to the area along with personalised tips on places to visit! Honestly couldn't have asked for a better holiday, and we had such luck with the weather, we were barely out of the hot tub! The addition of the BBQ and the decor of the lodge, makes you feel as though you are in a villa aboard! This place really is out of this world, can't wait to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Thanks so much, really glad you found the lodge to be just what you wanted. Hope to see you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeMcL
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant anniversary stay”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary by spending a weekend at the lodge and I can honestly say we were absolutely delighted with it. From the beautiful garden pathway to the lodge, to the decking, hot tub, and excellently kitted out lodge itself, we can highly recommend it. I requested a surprise bottle of champagne, which was provided hassle free, and the hosts have even posted back a shirt that I forgot on departure. Very low interaction with the lovely and attentive hosts Ian and Debbie - which suited us perfectly. Ian was quick to respond to email inquiries, and daily maintained the hot tub, and Debbie was lovely when we bumped into her working on the garden. Fabulous and would stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
We hope your anniversary break was the first of many happy anniversaries for you both, and that you'll want to return to Upthorpe Lodges in the future. We'd be delighted to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary A
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Our second visit to Birch lodge ,our 3rd to Upthorpe ,and once again Ian and Debbie prove why its so popular,
Wonderful location, very high standard throughout , attention to detail and nothing is to much trouble,
Spent a relaxing weekend celebrating Yo's birthday and our 3rd anniversary, star gazing in the hot tub , didn't want to leave,' as normal'

Looking forward to returning again in August for my birthday .

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2017
So pleased to hear that you have had another great weekend.
We look forward to seeing you again in August.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thanks so much for your very kind words....and glad you enjoyed the jam! We look forward to seeing you again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing