We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful hot tub and surrounding area beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
hot tub Cottage (elgar) very beautifully and privately situated
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
hot tub Cottage (elgar) very beautifully and privately situated
Lovely lounge with twith large sofa bed its happy every hour at oldcastle cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
hot tub Cottage (elgar) very beautifully and privately situated
Lovely lounge with twith large sofa bed
its happy every hour at oldcastle cottage
hot tub cottage (Elgar), large glass doors on to garden
superb fitted kitchen
Comfortable dining In Elgar Cottage opening onto garden
A view south of the mountain from the lounge patio doors
A double bedroom opening onto the private garden
Is it a library??
oak bathroom with deep roll top bath
A wood burner for atmosphere on those cooler nights
Hot tub for six in the private garden overlooking the hills
one very large  bedroom upstairs with king size bed
bedroom three downstairs with vaulted ceiling
Tv dvd plus wireless broadband
a wet room with large walk in shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Colwall, Malvern, Malvern Hills, Worcestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NatandMat...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Sadly we did not have a great stay here. We were in a group of 2 families with young children, we were booked to stay Weds-Sunday of half term with husbands joining us for the weekend.
The property looks nice and was tidy but there were a few cleanliness issues, the extractor fan was filthy, there were a number of glasses & cutlery items with finger marks or food stuff still on from the dishwasher and there were mouse traps hidden everywhere including under my bed which I found unnerving, I wasn't surprised with the way the kitchen was. I also went to use a robe for the hot tub but it smelt like it had already been used.
We also had an issue with the layout as the 2 bathrooms are off the kitchen and away from the bedrooms, one of the nights there were people sleeping in the sofa bed to try and help the younger kids sleep better but this meant you would have to walk past the sofa and sleeping people to get to the Lou.
The biggest issue which led to us leaving a night early was the fact that the top bedroom did not have any wall insulation, you could even see rays of light coming through in a number of places which went into the downstairs. The meant that if anyone woke in the nights (which is common with babies!) the entire group was woken up, so basically none of us got any sleep.
The garden isn't property cordoned off so a dog came wondering in one morning, this meant we didn't feel safe leaving the kids to roam about freely in the garden.
It was disappointing when we left a night early and let the host know that we were and the reason why and we received no response. When you spend that amount of money, at least a response would have been nice so I felt it was my duty to write this review to hopefully help other people who are thinking of staying there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2018
Very sorry you were not happy with the cottage in a few respects, The cottage is very popular so i am concerned if you had some issues. We try hard to make your stay tip top but sometimes things can go wrong so we always want to help or put things write if we can.
We have an external laundry firm for all the sheets robes to be cleaned professionally, if you were unhappy with anything, we would have changed straight away and raised it with the launderers.

The garden is totally surrounded by thick hedges and western red cedar trees. There are metal farm gates to the entrance. So you are totally sealed in if you keep the gates closed, most people leave them open to avoid having to get out the car on entering or leaving. If our dog has got in, I wish you had told me as i could have blocked of any gap for you, if he had found one or just kept him in. He has his own private garden in the grounds he goes in.

Re the fan, thanks for pointing it out i have asked housekeeper to check it for the future, i would have asked her to come in for you if we had known.
The cottage layout is open plan, lounge, kitchen 2 bedrooms etc downstairs. There is only one entrance with a door to a hall where there is another door then into the wetroom. Sorry to be pedantic but the wet room is off the hall not the kitchen, we made it that way on purpose to cover the point you raise when we totally refurbed the cottage a couple of years. The other main bathroom is of the lounge not the kitchen, so i don't understand your comment.
In any event, I am sorry if you were unhappy on the points you raise. We have lots of guests staying with us and many many give us nice reviews and compliments. We welcome constructive feedback and thank you for raising these points. We will always listen and try to improve any areas from all feedback we receive.
I suppose my main concern is we have not been given the opportunity to sort out any problems you may have had, why you never contacted me during your stay raising the items you mention. We are always happy to help. It's important to us that you have a good time, things can go wrong, if they do we want to know straight away to sort it for you. So you have a very enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katetibbl...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decor bit tired now”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The area is located lovely as is the farm setting. However, the garden with the cottage is tiny; a small rectangle of grass. It's bordered by a high hedge so whilst the living area has big windows it makes it very dark inside and you don't get a good view.
We found the decor and accessories to be quite tired given that it's not cheap to stay there. It looks like it might have been nice a few years ago.
The shower bathroom is an extension made from wood and stinks of mould despite the window being permanently open.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thanks for your feedback, we welcome any comments so we can improve areas where clients feel improvements can be made.

The bathroom is timber frame construction as are many house new and old homes alike, it was totally newly fitted just 3 years ago all brand new shower, loo. basin, tiling etc with a complete new wet room floor fitted this year. We have re siliconed a small section of the shower screen door as this was the only thing where we could find any discolouration, we can't find any mold??
I also dont understand what you mean with regard to decor being quite tired, the cottage was totally refurbished 3 years ago, all new furniture, beds, sofa, chairs and carpets & accessories then. We continue to upgrade each year with new main bathroom fittings and a larger freezer this year added a few weeks ago. Its a puzzle we continually receive compliments for the decor and furnishings in hot tub cottage.

With regard to the gardens the cottage is on a private plot that is just under a quarter of an acre you only refer to one part of the cottage gardens, there is a larger area where the hot tub and bbq is located, with spectacular views of the malverns?? and there nearly ten acres of gardens around the plot for further use if required, again i dont understand.
We are sorry if you had some concerns with your stay, i wish you had raised your points with us, while you were staying, so we could understand your comments more clearly, after all we do ask you in our welcome letter, to let us know immediately, if there is anything we can do to help improve your stay. Then if we failed to respond to your concerns, i could understand your disappointment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni1026
Copthorne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hot tub and surrounding area beautiful”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend spent in Hot Tub Cottage. Apart from struggling to find the place in the dark,(maybe bigger signage would help) we had a great time in the cottage. The area is beautiful, we visited Malvern for the Theatre and Ledbury for the lovely buildings and lunch. We used the hot tub every day which was a real treat. The owners were just next door so if you need anything you only have to ask. Would love to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: difficulty finding the property in the dark on day one
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2017
Jeni thank you for your nice review, i am glad you all had a lovely break with us at oldcastle cottages in colwall.
regards
clive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelzwel...
chch
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great place out of the hustle and bussle, beautiful location and hot tub was great. Clive was a great help and house was lovely. Thanks for a great stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2015
We are glad you enjoyed Hottub Cottage, thanks for choosing us we hope to see you again soon at Oldcastle cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natk26
1 review
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I recently visited this cottage with a group of friends and the cottage had everything we needed for an excellent time. Plenty of parking and the instructions to find the cottage couldn't be clearer. A car is definitely needed to really enjoy the local area. We were able to cook several meals in the cottage for seven people as it had all the facilities you needed. We had a great time in the easy to use hot tub and all the bedrooms were lovely. One is slightly smaller but still able to sleep two people comfortably. We were able to enjoy the spacious living room and enjoyed the walks available nearby. Overall, it was a lovely holiday in a fabulous cottage which had everything we needed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing