We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Falstaff Cottage

Falstaff luxury 5 star cottage with hot tub, in 10 acres of private grounds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Falstaff luxury 5 star cottage with hot tub, in 10 acres of private grounds
The Hot tub has views of the hills, fantastic when a star lit night! Large comfortable lounge with high ceilings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Falstaff luxury 5 star cottage with hot tub, in 10 acres of private grounds
The Hot tub has views of the hills, fantastic when a star lit night!
Large comfortable lounge with high ceilings
Large comfortable sofa bed for extra sleeping
Wood burning stove makes a lovely atmosphere for those cold evenings
Large comfortable dining  space
Super modern fitted kitchen
Super king bed which will split to singles in a beautiful vaulted ceiling bedroom
Comfortable leather Seating area in the bedroom
Large wet room with walk in shower
King size bed with tv and dvd
Views over the Malvern hills
Totally restored to a very high standard
Beautiful grounds in the Malvern hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Colwall, Malvern, Malvern Hills, Worcestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James W
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“In need of some TLC & upgraded facilities, but otherwise a lovely cottage for up to 4”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Falstaff Cottage looked & sounded perfect & in many ways it was, however upon closer inspection, it was tired (needs new carpets & curtains), lacked privacy (the wet-room and the kitchen were visible to the owners & their gardeners through a large window with no curtain which we were forced to rig up ourselves) & whilst the spa looks so attractive in the pictures, it was cold upon arrival & no chlorine was added during our week's stay despite almost daily use by the children, resulting in pretty unattractive water by the end). Furthermore, the fridge is tiny & insufficient for a family of 5 (let alone the claimed capacity of 6) & the TV likewise, way too small for the viewing distance / size of the living room. On the positive side, it was a beautiful pseudo barn conversion, with two lovely, cosy bedrooms upstairs & set in an idyllic area close to the Malvern Hills & would be perfect for either two couples or a family of 4 but to be honest, if you have a larger group, then I'd go elsewhere. Having said all this, with a modest investment & a bit more attention to detail, Falstaff Cottage could be great..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely bedrooms, characterful cottage in a lovely rural location, friendly hosts.
Liked least: Small size of fridge & TV, lack of privacy in kitchen / bathroom, unheated spa on arrival.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble go give us your feed back which we always welcome. Just a couple of comments, the carpet is only 3 years old and kept very clean, the curtains are vintage curtains to go with the antique furniture all in good condition, our taste is eclectic with charecter to create a warm and cosy cottage. The hot tub is sanitised each day at 7 in the morning so as not to disturb guests, we use bromine granules as its not as harsh as chlorine to reduce any skin sensitivity. The water can slightly discolour sometimes after a weeks full use in warm weather but it is always sanitised, if asked we are always happy to change the water unfortunately nothing was brought to our attention. The window to the wet room is opaque so totally private, the kitchen has a glass door and is not overlooked, again if asked we could have understood any comments and helped if required. The items raised were unfortunately not brought to our attention during the stay. Regrettably we can't help or deal with anything if we are not made aware them at the time. We were told everything was good during the stay. We pride our selves in offering a good service, we are more than happy to respond to any items that concerns our guests stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H
2 reviews
“Quiet and comfortable”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My spouse and I spent a week. A little off the beaten track, but not too hard to find. Well worth it once found. If you are travelling into Malvern or Worcester the train from Colwall is frequent and relatively cheap. If you like a country walk this is the place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki_fsk...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2014 New Year”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Falstaff Cottage was an amazing space to spend a few days after Christmas and New Year 2014 in. Clive was absolutely fantastic as a host, so kind, informative and welcoming. Late review but I lost the link, wanted to go back this year but unfortunately I now have two dogs and this is a not pet let. Highly reccommend to anybody wishing to book. Great, idilic location.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log Burner
Liked least: Potholes in approaching road
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing