We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant nights rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2017

First, let me start by saying we had a great time touring the Village, which included a horse & buggy ride + a ride on the KY River.

However, the room was pricey ($215 for a one night stay for four adults) and the air conditioner didn't work in the room. We contacted Guest Services and maintenance did the best they could by providing us with an extra box fan and opening the window.

It was odd to us that we weren't offered another room or even a discount for the uncomfortable sleeping arrangements. It was 79 degrees in the room most of the night and we were not comfortable with the idea of leaving a window open on the first floor. But, there was no way we could have slept in the room with the window closed.

Thankfully, we were only there for one night. There was no way we could have spent another restless, uncomfortable night in a sweat box!

Room Tip: Make sure the A/C works early or consider staying somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lonniemcdaniel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We take a day trip to Pleasant Hill every few years to get an authentic Shaker home cooked meal and relax by walking around the place. When we got there, we went to make reservations and lo and behold, the menu is considerably different. Many of our favorites are gone and have been replaced by a lot of pork. I think we may take Pleasant Hill off our list of neat places to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ahaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This is a great place to learn about the Shakers (Shaking Quakers) and the way they lived. They withdrew from much of the secular world and created the things they needed to function as a pretty much closed society. The place is peaceful and beautiful, visually and emotionally. The organic farm provides high quality food for the restaurant. The exhibits are well labeled and easy to access. Not all the buildings are accessible - there are stairs and narrow doorways, but the grounds alone are worth a visit. Children will love the barn and animals and have a chance to gather eggs or do other farm chores. The dry stone walls are amazing. There are overnight accommodations in some of the buildings and I want to go back and stay. I think being on the grounds at night would be a remarkable experience.

Room Tip: I did not stay in the hotel in this visit.
Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank GigiRoss2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Beautiful drive to a out of the ordinary place. Love learning about how the Shakers lived. Shakers were very talented craftsman and this place will take you back to their era. You can actual stay their onsite just like the Shakers did and they have a onsite restaurant. Highly recommend a day from the past.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zipgirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

I won't even attempt to describe the beauty of Shaker Village at Pleasant Hill in Mercer County Kentucky. I simply would never be able to say enough to do it justice. What I can say is that YOU NEED TO VISIT FOR YOURSELF! located off of US 68 in the lush hills and palisades of the Bluegrass region of Central Kentucky you will find this unique and humble little haven. It is an affordable tour and free to walk/hike. There is an inn and restaurant as well as guided tours, a wagon tour and if you fancy a paddle boat ride on the Kentucky River too. Just go..okay? You really need to go. Seriously.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrodsburg
10.4 km away
Baymont Inn and Suites Harrodsburg
22.5 km away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
443 reviews
19.8 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 6 in Danville
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Comfort Inn Lexington South
Comfort Inn Lexington South
#2 of 4 in Nicholasville
62 reviews
27.4 km away
Best Western Lawrenceburg Inn
Best Western Lawrenceburg Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrenceburg
277 reviews
17.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nicholasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn

Address: 3501 Lexington Rd, Harrodsburg, KY 40330-9218
Region: United States > Kentucky > Harrodsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Price Range: $94 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaker Village has been a warm beacon of hospitality for more than 200 years. Named as a top hidden travel destination by BBC News, The Inn is much more than a traditional hotel. Guest rooms, suites and private cottages-each offering distinct character-are located in 13 restored Shaker buildings. Rooms are comfortably appointed with Shaker reproduction furniture, original hardwood floors and spectacular countryside views. This complete Kentucky destination allows you to be as active or as restful as your heart desires. Dine on seasonal seed-to-table menus at The Trustees' Table and take home treasures from The Shops, then explore Shaker Village's 3,000 acres of discovery. Shaker Village is within short driving distances from Kentucky's legendary bourbon distilleries, horse farms and historic sites. Whether you're planning a family vacation, weekend getaway, business meeting, destination wedding or other special occasion, The Inn provides the perfect stage for your most memorable occasions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shaker Village Of Pleasant Hill Hotel Harrodsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing