We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step into the Shaker World”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This is a great place to learn about the Shakers (Shaking Quakers) and the way they lived. They withdrew from much of the secular world and created the things they needed to function as a pretty much closed society. The place is peaceful and beautiful, visually and emotionally. The organic farm provides high quality food for the restaurant. The exhibits are well labeled and easy to access. Not all the buildings are accessible - there are stairs and narrow doorways, but the grounds alone are worth a visit. Children will love the barn and animals and have a chance to gather eggs or do other farm chores. The dry stone walls are amazing. There are overnight accommodations in some of the buildings and I want to go back and stay. I think being on the grounds at night would be a remarkable experience.

Room Tip: I did not stay in the hotel in this visit.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank GigiRoss2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

Beautiful drive to a out of the ordinary place. Love learning about how the Shakers lived. Shakers were very talented craftsman and this place will take you back to their era. You can actual stay their onsite just like the Shakers did and they have a onsite restaurant. Highly recommend a day from the past.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zipgirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

I won't even attempt to describe the beauty of Shaker Village at Pleasant Hill in Mercer County Kentucky. I simply would never be able to say enough to do it justice. What I can say is that YOU NEED TO VISIT FOR YOURSELF! located off of US 68 in the lush hills and palisades of the Bluegrass region of Central Kentucky you will find this unique and humble little haven. It is an affordable tour and free to walk/hike. There is an inn and restaurant as well as guided tours, a wagon tour and if you fancy a paddle boat ride on the Kentucky River too. Just go..okay? You really need to go. Seriously.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

The Shaker village at Pleasant Hill is a wonderful place for relaxation, learning, and enjoyment. We stayed in the Trustee's Office, which is the main check-in, restaurant and hub of activity. All the accommodations are in authentic, restored, historic buildings without elevators, although there is a wheelchair lift to the restaurant and gift shop level. Be sure to ask about accessibility if limited mobility is an issue for you. Rooms are spacious and charming. The atmosphere is lovely, there are horse-drawn wagon rides, guided nature and history tours, and plenty of room to roam. Live music on the patio (weather permitting) on Friday and Saturday nights with bar service available. The restaurant menu is outstanding with extensive gardens that produce much of the fruit, veggies and herbs in the delicious meals. Visit the gardens and farm animals, find a shady bench to read or draw, or picnic near the lake. There is something for all ages and interests.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

A friend had told my wife about the Shaker Village and we planned to stop by on our way home from the Ark. We got there right at closing time for tours but did get to walk around the village and get into some of the pre-civil war buildings. It was very interesting for us and our grand daughters. We ask for near by hotels and were informed that they had accommodations and our grand daughters could stay and eat for free so we spent the night there. What a treat. Our room was great, recently renovated, simple but clean and large. The food at their restaurant was very good both dinner and breakfast. There are no elevators but they had someone carry our luggage to our room. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrodsburg
10.4 km away
Baymont Inn and Suites Harrodsburg
22.5 km away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
473 reviews
12.9 km away
Bright Leaf Golf Resort
Bright Leaf Golf Resort
#2 of 5 in Harrodsburg
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Quality Inn Danville
Quality Inn Danville
#5 of 6 in Danville
92 reviews
15.9 km away
The Farm LLC
The Farm LLC
#1 of 9 in Danville
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn

Address: 3501 Lexington Rd, Harrodsburg, KY 40330-9218
Region: United States > Kentucky > Harrodsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Price Range: $94 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaker Village has been a warm beacon of hospitality for more than 200 years. Named as a top hidden travel destination by BBC News, The Inn is much more than a traditional hotel. Guest rooms, suites and private cottages-each offering distinct character-are located in 13 restored Shaker buildings. Rooms are comfortably appointed with Shaker reproduction furniture, original hardwood floors and spectacular countryside views. This complete Kentucky destination allows you to be as active or as restful as your heart desires. Dine on seasonal seed-to-table menus at The Trustees' Table and take home treasures from The Shops, then explore Shaker Village's 3,000 acres of discovery. Shaker Village is within short driving distances from Kentucky's legendary bourbon distilleries, horse farms and historic sites. Whether you're planning a family vacation, weekend getaway, business meeting, destination wedding or other special occasion, The Inn provides the perfect stage for your most memorable occasions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shaker Village Of Pleasant Hill Hotel Harrodsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing