We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
126
131
88
39
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
131
88
39
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice fields babi guling balinese dance air con suckling pig peaceful place ubud centre every afternoon min drive busy road nice breakfast peace and quiet visit ubud yoga pools foundation spa
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

I don't stay at a budget hotel and expect a Hlton experience. This hotel is set in an scenic setting and first light looks fabulous across the Paddy fields.
What I do expect is my food to be served hot and this was not the case at all. Served cold for the four of us except the soup that came with the main course. They must take a close look at the swimming pool area as the decking is rotting and lots of loose planks but the most worrying thing is the amount of nails sticking up out of the decking and this is a big safety issue for anyone let alone my two kids.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Staff were friendly and tried their best to help us in any way they could. Place was beautiful, despite the bugs (we just put on insect repellant and it was fine). Room was adequate, everything worked. Bed was a bit squeaky but not really an issue.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LaurenN1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibu G, Manager at Suly Vegetarian Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Lauren

Thank you for your kind review of Suly Resort.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the beauty and peacefulness of our surroundings. Apologies for the bugs, but they go hand in hand with being surrounded by nature.

We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back to Suly Resort one day soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed in Suly resort & spa for 5 nights. We got fresh watermelon juice when we arrived. Unfortunately the arrival was not very pleasant after this, the staff are young people who are studying hospitality. We booked with Airbnb but when we arrived nobody (except Rini) really knew we were coming and also our reservation was not in their system. Luckily we got a room after waiting half an hour.

The hotel was only booked by a few people when we arrived and so it was almost completely empty. The garden is absolutely beautiful and the rest of the hotel is very quiet and also when you are entering the public areas there is hardly nobody. After 3 days a group volunteers arrived so we got more company, that was nice.

The room was basic and not very clean (we found a worm in the water boiler and there was mold on the bathroom floor). The bed was nice and we slept very well. Also there is a AC, TV, fridge and other standard room equipment. The shower is small, weak and it's having a hard time providing warm water. After we told Rini about the shower she let it be fixed so it was better afterwards. The view in the room is stunning and the staff was willing to bring our luggage to the room and show us around. They are all very helpful and kind.

The restaurant area is very quiet. Breakfast is good, you can get different kind of (fresh) juices, coffee and tea. The food includes: different types of eggs, toasted bread, jam, butter and fruit. Also you can go for Indonesian breakfast.
Since nobody was having dinner when we stayed in Suly hotel, we did not try this. But also the lack of food choice made us not try dinner. Something very pleasant was that you can get breakfast for takeaway!

The hotel has 2 beautiful pools which are located in the middle of the garden. We did not swum, because it was raining during our stay. Wi-fi was everywhere (also in our room).

Overall the staff is happy to help. When you need a taxi or information, they will provide you with it. (Taxi to Ubud center is approx. 10 mins, costs 50.000 rupiah) But we would not go here anymore because of the quietness (no other people in the hotel) and because we don't like Ubud that much. Last but not least, Rini provided us a room for less because the boats to the Gili Islands were not going. That was very nice.

Thank you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gwen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibu G, Owner at Suly Vegetarian Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Gwen

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. I must apologize about the confusion when you arrived. Our traditional Balinese Cottages are a favourite among our guests. The shortcomings in housekeeping have been brought to their attention which is why reviews like this are so helpful.

I'm pleased you appreciated the view from your room, our tranquil surroundings and our two pools.

Overall, it seems you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Suly Resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, so much we didn t see much of the surrounding village and the restaurant ACROSS THE STREET, and the coffee shop and bakery next door ! Yes, I m being sarcastic about some of the reviews I have seen here since my visit. Yes, the buildings are old, the place feels like a calm serene monastery that allows visitors to stay in it s inner sanctuary. Yes, there are bugs, an amazing variety, they live in the surrounding gardens where vegetables and herbs you will eat in the restaurant are grown organically by young people who live at this school and learn their future trade by serving and attending to any of us lucky enough to be guests at this amazing establishment. A lesson in humility when you see how hard these young people are prepared to work to get a good education and a start in a job and career that will help them and their families.
But I suppose it s better to stay in plastic hotels, let s say in New York, where people would step over you in the street and you can ignore the underpaid immigrant who is washing your laundry or cleaning your room.
Quite frankly, if you go to Bali and don t want bugs near you, then look up the modern, recently built hotels with air con and staff you will never see, you will only have to talk to the people at reception and restaurant. There are quite a few and they are five star and they charge five star prices !
If you go to Ubud, there are many places to stay, The Suly resort is unique as it is also a school. The buildings have character and are part of Balinese heritage, there are buildings from it s heyday when Hollywood stars visited, there are old marble bathrooms, it is quite unusual in comparison to what s on offer in the homestay and boutique homestay villas that are now the mainstay of Ubud accomodation.

Do yourself a favour stay a few nights, book a yoga class with a seasoned master, or one of his enthusiastic students who are thrilled to take a class with you and help you with your practice. Book a cooking class with the Chef, Mister Pak man as i nicknamed him, an accomplished chef and btw the yoga master teacher. Pre book a spa treatment with Suravi spa if they are still operating there.
And when you leave remember where you are and leave something of use for the amazing young people who work there.
The people who manage this project are doing a great job, it is hard, not easy, but they have accomplished a great thing here. I am speaking as a retired restaurant owner and I have worked in this business my whole life. So if you are looking to book here, do so and be prepared for a different experience !
Thank you to all the staff at Suly Yoga and Spa Resort, Seksumah and Tri mak asee,
GO RAIBH MILE MAITH AGAIBH, in Irish, THAT IS a thousand thank yous !
Catherine

Room Tip: ask, very happy to accomodate a room change, you can visit on arrival and change if not to your liking
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibu G, Manager at Suly Vegetarian Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Catherine

A thousand thank yous for your review.

You put the benefits of Suly Resort across very well. We have all the things that go with being set among Ubud's rice fields. These, as you point out, are truly part of nature and our environmental policies prevent us from killing every single bug that flies in through our windows. Thank you also for recognising the opportunity we give to underprivileged youngsters, many of whom get the opportunity to serve guests and gain a really wonderful start to their careers in doing so.

Please come back to see us soon. You will again receive that special Suly welcome reserved for all our guests.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Fantastic experiences to stay at suly hotel. Very peaceful place for meditation. Many thanks for Mrs.Rini as she was being very friendly and a very good mentor even for 1 night stay. Hope can go back to visit ubud & stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Darsono S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibu G, Manager at Suly Vegetarian Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Dear Darsono S.

Thank you for your great review of Suly Resort.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Suly Resort very soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews