We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
4
2
1
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
2
1
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

The road is awful... it will seriously ruin your car!! The pool is a cestpool for mosquitos... stagnant nasty water! The shower house is falling down. The little store was torn down and never replaced. There has been absolutely no upkeep or improvements. Such a shame.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

This may not be a five star resort, but if its pease and quiet you are looking for I highly recommend the place. Kind of rustic. Had a blast fishing and watching the squirrels.reminds me of being a kid at grandmas just beautiful

Stayed: July 2015
Thank KISAllf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

It's primitive cabins, very clean. You can take a walk to back side of island and swim and sun; walk 100ft in front of the cabins and you'll be at boat ramp. To the right is swings and play area for kids. Next to each cabin is a fire pit; for roasting hot dogs or s'mores. Yum yum. Fish when ever you want. You can fish from the bank, boats or the docks. It all looks a little primitive but every thing works well. The views are so beautiful. It's so relaxing and quiet. The people here are pleasant, welcoming and very helpful. You feel as if your out away from the real wold. It only takes a phone call and you will have any of the local pizza joints at the door. I like it. You have to take the good and the bad. I think the good out weighs the bad.fun for the family. Fun for guys weekend or maybe just want hide away from the world. I would recommend

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
3  Thank Welcomingyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014

How can Gwinn Island or anything pertaining to it possibly be labeled a RESORT??? My family used to vacation here when I was young. It was a fishing camp type island then with lake swimming, but sufficient for our needs. Now the place is a TOTAL DUMP and the reviews written here stating that it is "Pure Joy" etc. must have been written by a total nut case. This place is SO trashy and dangerous that you could die here and no one would miss you. Doesn't anyone of authority EVER inspect these kinds of places??? Don't the owners have to get some kind of license to operate as a business to the public. It was SO sad to see the horrid shape this entire place was in that I wanted to cry. BE WARNED......DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME. Just visiting here is like a chapter out of a Stephen King Novel. BEWARE!!!!

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
11  Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

this place is terrible, roads are hard to navigate if not impossible, sewer is on top of ground,
with open outlets, if you dare to go be sure to read your elec meter upon arrival, gives you and amount owed not a bill, the hill getting in and out is very steep, no public restroom, or swiming
pool, i am told that the refrig, toilets, and bedding in the cabins some do not work or are in poor condition, no portapodies are located on the property, under poor management , not nothing
like the day a few years ago since this management purchased the property, in badly need of
repair.

Room Tip: do not stay here
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews