We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
12
6
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
6
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthornton lodgestayed heretwo nightsgroup of friendshawkes bayheat pumpkitchen
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2017

A group of 4 couples stayed here over the weekend and had an awesome time. Hosts very friendly and accommodating. Unit well maintained, clean and spacious. Lovely warm beds (electric blankets). Highly recommended

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank _pammikenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillyandNess, Owner at Thornton Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thanks so much for the time to write a review.
Pleased to hear you all had a wonderful time here.
Yes the electric blankets are great on those cool nights and mornings along with the heat pumps :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Great Motor Lodge, Hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely stay here again. Handy to the wedding we were attending and handy to anything else you could need.Stayed here with wife and baby.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarveyF56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Three of us stayed here while travelling through on motorbikes.
The hosts were welcoming and were able to help with the queries we had.
Unit was clean and well maintained although would have been a bit crowded if the 3 single + queen beds had been occupied, but it served our purpose well.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: It is on the main road and our unit was closest to the road so light sleepers may benefit from using earplugs!
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bamaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed with a group of friends for a wedding, our unit accomodated 5 adults perfectly and had a spacious bathroom and kitchen. Spacious clean and tidy - a very stressfree stay. Staff were friendly and helpful but unintrusive.

Cant imagine i will be in waipukurau again however if so would definately stay again.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Kiwi_chick28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton L, Owner at Thornton Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2016

Thanks for your time in writing a review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and you never know if you are ever back in Waipukurau we'd be happy to host your stay again
Ness & Gilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Thanks Ness and Gilly,
My mother and I had the best rest and were most comfortable, your hospitality and friendliness was warm and service second to none. Thanks for taking time to welcome us to your region and helping us with maps and directions. We were truly blessed to have met you and stay in your beautiful clean self-contained rooms... Excellent home away from home. I will recommend it for future travelers to your region. Kind regards Teresa and Linda Hermsen.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhaniestar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton L, Owner at Thornton Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2016

Hi Teresa and Linda - thanks for your time to write us a review.
So nice to meet you both also and are happy that you enjoyed your stay
Ness & Gilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews