We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
33
36
15
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
36
15
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolnearest townroom was cleannice lodgefishing polesfamily reunionwafflesbit datedlodge roomsgreat roombalconyhazardlodginginternetcerealpet
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

There is free WiFi but no cell phone service whatsoever. So if you like being secluded out in the middle of the mountains then this is a decent place to stay. The view is very beautiful, even in your room you get a gorgeous view of the swimming pool and lake surrounded by majestic mountainous terrain. The breakfast is average but the dinner they serve is pretty good. Also the rooms still look like the 1970's as well as the bedspreads. Plus the resort is very hard to find since it is tucked away in the Appalachian Mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Don't forget about the State Park Lodging. This hotel offers a breathtaking view. The food is good and the service is above and beyond. The rooms are large and some have balconys and almost all ovelook the pool and the mountains beyond. It is a lovely, relaxing place to stay and sets you right in the heart of Appalachia. They also have putt putt, boating and swimming in the lake and the outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyDayKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I have stayed at over seven of the Kentucky State Parks in the last three years in the summer and fall months. These venues are fabulous assets to Central and Eastern KY. The Buckhorn staff from the Park Ranger down to the food and cleaning staff are friendly, positive family oriented service minded people. As more visitors find the lodge the breakfast menu will expand. I recommend the cat fish at night and the club for lunch.

Stayed: January 2012
2  Thank Hackbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

So far, I am thoroughly enjoying my stay at this hotel: nice, clean rooms with a touch of old and colorful comforters; very friendly and helpful staff, always ready to assist you and answer any questions you have; nice selection and quality of food at the restaurant downstairs. But nothing can compare to the breathtaking view from any of the windows of the resort. It is worth getting up early and standing on your balcony to witness a sunrise over the lake. Swimming in the lake itself is another story: The water is warm and pleasant, sandy beach is perfect for sand castles and sun-bathing and buoy in the middle are great to just hold on to and rest. Gradual slope makes it perfect for children too! You can always move to the pool if you enjoy the smooth and clear water of a man-made swimming reservoir better.
Overall, this place is great for family getaways or fun time with friends or even as a couple retreat destination: it can be fun or serene, secluded or energetic, depending on your needs.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the best views!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I have to say that I am really enjoying my stay here. Along with 15 other people, I arrived to this establishment and was amazed at the cabin-styled furniture and design of my room. I especially enjoyed the many amenities that are available at this resort. Here I got the opportunity to experience a game of mini-golf, a boat ride with friends, and a relaxing time in the jacuzzi and pool. I also enjoyed the scenic view while arriving, and the delectable dinner at the Buckhorn diner at the bottom level of this resort. Here I was able to experience a memorable time with friends, and because of this I will definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Latrice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews