We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panic at the Prom event.”
Review of Henderson House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stafford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Henderson House
Ranked #1 of 2 Stafford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I went with a group of 8 for the "Panic at the prom" event on New Years Eve. It was not very well put together. They say they have a "professional Photographer" He is also the Chef and the inn keeper. They say they have a live DJ, this is a guy who plugs in his IPod. The food was just OK. I think with some work this could be a fun event.
They fail to mention that you need to bring any dishes that you would like to use. We had to go to the store to buy cups just for a drink of water. Every other B&B I have been to has a fully stocked kitchen with drinks, snacks and dishes for the guest to enjoy. The breakfast was Horrible. It was a casserole that had hashbrowns, sausage, and runny yellow liquid that I am assuming is supposed to be eggs.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylorh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HendersonInn, Owner at Henderson House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

New Years Eve was the first night to run this event. As the event was to begin a wind storm knocked out electricity for the whole town. So, it disrupted everything relating to the Prom Event. However, within 20 minutes power was restored because Stafford had a backup generating plant. Otherwise, the evening would have been cancelled because other areas did not regain power for several hours. We recovered from the beginning delays. Many people thought that the electrical outage was just part of the mystery, not realizing it was the REAL DEAL.

And after the mystery and dinner EVERYONE danced every dance from 9:30-1am. to music that everyone had requested and was run continuously thruout the evening. The group certainly didn't seem to miss a few missing comment from a DJ. Continuous dancing was favored by all.

The comment about photographer is interesting as this photographer is doing the wedding photos for the couple who announced their engagement at this event on New Years Eve and he has nature photographs in nature publications thruout the country. He happens to be an outstanding cook as well as the innkeeper. So, he was wearing several 'hats' during the evening. And seems to have done a favorable job to generate the use of his photo talents at a wedding in addition to the engagement photos at the New Years Eve Panic at the Prom Event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
There are newer reviews for Henderson House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

My family has been to Stafford and stayed at the Henderson House Inns several times. We love the simple atmosphere of classic elegance. We all enjoy disengaging from frantic city life.Beauty, simplicity, uplifting entertainment, great food!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank One4Fun_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We just returned from a wonderful overnight murder mystery weekend. We stayed in the Henderson House which was like stepping back in time. It was built in 1905 and had many of the original furnishings. The meal and mystery murder adventure took place across the street from the Henderson House in the Spickard House. There were 6 in our group so we had a dining room all to ourselves. We had so much fun. The place sent us our parts ahead of time so we were able to arrive in costume which made our experience so much fun! The food was really good--four courses--and worked well with how the murder mystery was set up. We were able to enjoy the food and the drama at the same time in a smooth way. The hosts, cook, and servers were delightful!! Afterwards, our family went back to the Henderson House, where we had the entire house to ourselves, where we were free to watch tv in the parlor, play games at the dining room table, make snacks and drinks in the kitchen, and roam around the entire house. We played card games and board games and enjoyed family time with our grown children. It was great to be able to get together and enjoy each other in such a relaxing and charming atmosphere. The house was clean and very spacious. We enjoyed sitting in the outdoor sun porch area and on the huge wrap around front porch! The town is very charming, peaceful and quiet. The people are very friendly. The blue room had a nice AC and big old fashioned claw footed tub. The yellow room had a bed and daybed. The green room had a tv installed on the wall. The yellow and green rooms had more modern looking bathrooms with showers. I highly recommend this place! I do think that everyone's tastes are different and if you are really picky and want luxury, you might not be happy with this. Hot tub was not working & no pool table.

Room Tip: Get a group together and get the whole house to yourselves! Blue room has a nice AC and big old fas...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SHarrisonKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The Henderson Inn and Retreat Center in Stafford, KS has a number of different houses that are in the 100 year old vintage. We stayed at the Spickard House and had a room that was upstairs. The bed and bathroom were adequate. Someone met us when we arrived and there was one other guest. Part of the time we were the only ones in the house and we were encouraged to make ourselves at home and go into the kitchen for a drink of water or something else to drink. It was a mistake. The kitchen was very dirty and the milk in the fridge was well out of date. The breakfast was bad and we got sick to our stomach which lasted all day and into the next night. The orange juice tasted old, the rolls were stale and the egg dish was probably the source of our stomach upset. We would not recommend staying at this B and B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sentimental01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

The Henderson House Bed and Breakfast is like taking a trip back to 1905 complete with a 1905 Victorian House and all the furnishings. My 25 year old daughter and I stayed in "Mary's Room" in The Henderson House (the owner's Grandmothers home) which is one of 4 early 1900 homes housed on Green Street in Stafford, KS. The homes are charming, quaint, and truly a trip to the past. The city of Stafford is also a trip to the past with it's brick streets and old time main street. It is charming. While in Stafford you must eat at "The Curtis Cafe" which is on the State of Kansas list of "Unique Restaurants". It was started by my grandparents in 1948 and is still family owned by my cousin. It has the best home cooking and is known for it's puzzles on the walls and it's homemade pies. If you are near Stafford, KS, don't miss staying at the Henderson House Bed and Breakfast. It truly takes you back to 1905 with the beautiful wooden staircases, original furnishings, just an experience you can't find in today's world. A unique find in Stafford and wonderful small town experience in the heartland of America.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dcmou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Stafford

Been to Henderson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson House

Address: 518 W Stafford St, Stafford, KS 67578-1337
Region: United States > Kansas > Stafford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stafford
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing