We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit as good as the first”
Review of Smoky Hill Museum

Smoky Hill Museum
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Salina
Attraction details
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Smoky Hill Museum is a well curated stop. It is an interesting look into the development and growth of Salina and the area. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable and it is suitable for all ages. Nice stop to deepen my understanding of Kansas.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank footballfanI4022JF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"all ages"
in 5 reviews
"interesting place"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 2 reviews
"history"
in 12 reviews
"exhibits"
in 7 reviews
"facts"
in 2 reviews
"fun"
in 8 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Learn about the history and geology of the area. Enter a full size replica of the first dugout home. The Curiosity Shop, the interactive children's area, has a wall size Lite Brite, a tornado simulator, a pin ball machine with a dust bowl theme, a computer with the ability to record and play back your own radio show, and MUCH more. Kansas centered items are sold in the gift shop.

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank K7515POrachell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Enjoyed spending time in this local museum. Worth taking time while in Salina. Every part of USA has an interesting history.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

A variety of historical information. Fun and interesting! A number of kids were thee and seemed to be enjoying the museum as well.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank gailtrip4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Looking for something to do before heading out to South Dakota in the morning, I took a chance on bringing my wife, 14 yo daughter and 10 yo grand daughter to the museum. We were all really pleased with the show pieces and inter-active displays. There was construction going on but it didn't bother our visit. The man running the museum was very informative and polite. Would recommend a visit there. Not very big but big enough( Free Admission)

Date of experience: July 2016
5  Thank gordontgauthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Smoky Hill Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing