We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 121
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 83
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 72
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Overland Park(Overland Park)
USD 96
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 150
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
166
67
21
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
67
21
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree soda and popcornkansas citykick backnice noteeach eveninghot breakfastikea storebreakfast and dinnersausage pattiesbaked potatooff the highwaystayed nightshotel chaincomfortable place to stayroom was cleanstaff was very friendlyoatmeal
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Staff above and beyond gracious and accomadating. Somehow we ended up booked through Orbitz who messed up the reservation then wouldn't fix it. Stay was very nice hot meal in the evening and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Would recommend to all of my friends. are planning on staying soon.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank marshakj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

The location of this hotel was great as it was just about 10 minutes from everything we seemed to need. The room was the cheapest room we have paid for in years. It was old and not the cleanest hotel we had stayed in from the moment we got to the door you could see a handprint on the door. There was also a handprint on the mirror. There appeared to be a stain on the door frame in the bathroom, which was a bit gross, followed by some black stuff in the corner by the door. The bedding (sheets in particular) were thin. We then lost a ring so we had to look behind the bed, which I know it doesn't get cleaned regularly...but I don't think it has been cleaned in years. Absolutely gross. The breakfast was substandard for a Drury as we usually enjoy the breakfast, but it all seemed a little less than the usual Drury Inn breakfast. We did enjoy the pool! For an older hotel, and an outdoor pool it was very nice and well kept! If you are looking for a cheap hotel that isn't super clean and nice this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyoffourkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Shawnee Mission, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review regarding your stay at our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed the great outdoor pool and our location!

While our hotel is one of the first Drury Hotels built, we recently had a multi-million dollar renovation, so almost everything inside the hotel is less than three years old. (New carpet, bedding, furniture, décor, paint, etc.)

I apologize that there was a handprint on the exterior side of your door and mirror. Our housekeepers work extremely hard and do a great job, and I'm sorry there were a few minor imperfections. As Managers, we inspect rooms on a daily basis, and I will be sure to become more aware of handprints and the corners behind the doors of the bathrooms. Additionally, we are consistently changing out sheets on a daily basis as we see them becoming thin. I will also remind our laundry attendant and housekeepers how important it is to "retire" the sheets when they notice wear on them.

The great thing about Drury is that we are family owned and operated, which means that every Drury hotel offers the exact same rotating menu options for breakfast and Kickback. (With the exception of our Plaza hotels)

Thank you again so much for your feedback so that we can improve our guest experience!

Respectfully,

Jessica A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

7 family members meet in Kansas City to celebrate our oldest sisters life. Her daughter recommended Drury inn near her. Our stay was outstanding and the people went out of their way to accommodate us. We will defintely stay again and recommend to all.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

I selected this hotel for me, wife, and two granddaughters because it was very close to IKEA where my wife wanted to visit after we took the girls to Schlitterbahn. It provided an AARP discount and a promo discount for Shlitterbahn tickets. The evening meal and breakfast for the family was as good as advertised by other trip advisors. The meals saved cost and time saving as advertised and wife enjoyed the free drink. The hot breakfast has good even for two picky granddaughters. One girl enjoyed the outdoor swim pool as I watched. The bathroom was small but adequate. The AC fan was noisy when wife insisted on running it constantly all night, but not a problem. The cost and meal service was very good for a clean safe Kansas City hotel.

Room Tip: Elevators moved fast enough for 3rd floor room
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darrel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Great breakfast, even better evening "snack" that actually can be a meal each evening.
Location is quiet but convenient to a major highway system to get around the greater KC area.
The plaza is about 15min away. Royals stadium/Chiefs stadium about 20min away.
Great place for summer and winter get away

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews