We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini-Vacation Must!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manhattan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Morning Star B & B
Ranked #3 of 5 Manhattan B&B and Inns
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mini-Vacation Must!”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Located within easy walking distance of Downtown Manhattan, this charming B&B is a must for those just needing to RELAX!! One of the Innkeepers met me at the front door and gave a tour of the public areas (wonderfully decorated in rich colors). She recomended nearby local-owned restaurants for dinner. Once back in the room, no TV and no radio guaranteed peace and quiet, making relaxing in the Jacuzzi tub then getting in a little knitting time the ultimate way to wind down. The bed was very firm and the down comforter very "snuggly". Breakfast was delicious fare (I'm already craving more of those muffins) and checkout was very low-key.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank looneylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We stayed at The Morning Star Bed and Breakfast over Christmas weekend while visiting family in Manhattan, KS. The place is everything you would ever want, the owners/hosts are amazing, and the breakfast is delightful with a casual atmosphere that makes you feel at home.

Highly recommended! We will definitely be staying again next time we are in town.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BryanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here during a visit with our son and his family. It is a beautiful home, with a spacious front porch. Breakfast was delicious, and served at the dining table or on the porch. . The owner, Laurie, is know for her muffins. Our room was beautiful, clean and spacious. We both had trouble sleeping because the bed was too hard.
A number of the other guests were regular visitors, who come every home football game.
We will definitely stay there again on our next visit in Kansas.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madelinejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I stayed one night when lecturing at KSU. This is a beautiful B&B with VERY comfortable rooms. The owner was exceptionally nice. The B&B is on a quiet street a block or two from downtown. I will stay here on my next trip to KSU!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LukesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I stayed at The Morning Star in March while visiting Kansas State University on business. I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. The rooms were huge, the bathrooms even bigger, the owner incredibly friendly, and the breakfasts were amazing. This B&B is in an restored Victorian close to downtown Manhattan and a reasonable (but not short) walk to campus. If you travel to Manhattan, don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tkelly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manhattan hotels
1.3 km away
Bluemont Hotel
Bluemont Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manhattan
223 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Manhattan Inn
BEST WESTERN Manhattan Inn
#5 of 16 in Manhattan
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Parkwood Inn & Suites
Parkwood Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Manhattan
104 reviews
1.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 16 in Manhattan
85 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morning Star B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morning Star B & B

Property: The Morning Star B & B
Address: 617 Houston St, Manhattan, KS 66502-6139
Region: United States > Kansas > Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manhattan
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing