We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful, warm, cosy and surprisingly spacious...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunset at the estuary opposite the cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset at the estuary opposite the cottage.
Living Area with Log Burner Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Sunset at the estuary opposite the cottage.
Living Area with Log Burner
Living Area
Lounge Area
Log burner for cosy winter evenings by the fire
Kitchen
Dining Table
Welcome on Board
Dining Area
Master Bedroom
Twin Beds
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Back Yard
Location of cottage
From the front, near Cariad Cafe and The Roma.
A view from distance showing location to waterfront..
Marsh ponies (250 yards)
Low tide on the estuary (100 yards)
Boats and horses
Loughor Estuary (just across the road, 200 yds)
Penclawdd's famous blue boats
Hide tide with reflections
Go see Arthur's stone which was a tourist attraction in the Dark Ages.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Penclawdd, Swansea, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Feasty88
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful, warm, cosy and surprisingly spacious cottage”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We hired this cottage as it's located not far from my mother - we travelled to Wales to celebrate her 70th birthday. The cottage information was very clear and straightforward and the cottage very easily found. The inside seems bigger than possible from the outside and the ground floor is very well laid out. We watched Star Wars films (that we took with us on DVD), and played lots of family games around the coffee table - it was very cosy and warm. It wasn't actually cold enough for us to light the fire. We had fish and chips from Romy's next door, which a lot of people claim to be the best in South Wales - we couldn't fault it. We didn't get to Cariad cafe which is also very close by, but we did have a birthday lunch at the Oxwich Bay Hotel followed by a few hours rock-pooling with all the grandchildren which was good old classic beach fun. All in all, a lovely stay in a great cottage. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lots of space but cosy, option to have a fire, very clean
Liked least: no mirror in the master bedroom, mirror too high in bathroom for small people!, no coat hooks by front door, no basket/shelf for shoes, could taste the cleaning products on the cups and glasses - but minor quibbles!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathS4318...
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very comfortable cottage, quirky and 'Tardis' in style!”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Cockle Shell Cottage is extremely comfortable, and quirky in a 'Tardis' style! We had plenty of room, yet felt cosy at the same time, We were only two adults, but a family of four would have plenty of space downstairs to spread themselves around. A handy fish'n'chips shop next door supplied us with one evening meal, and chips to accompany a steak on another occasion. We were completely unaware of any noise or 'fishy' smells from this establishment. Plenty of beaches to visit without having to travel miles, so this cottage is in a good position for getting around the Gower. There was also a very generous welcome tray waiting for us on our arrival. For those with kiddies, there is a small playground across the road, which would help to compensate for the lack of a garden. Modern, clean facilities, but with a homely feel.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind review, it's much appreciated. Really glad you enjoyed your stay in the Gower. Hope you visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easter weekend”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed for 3 nights over the easter weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Plenty of room and seating for everyone - there were 4 of us & we didn't trip over each other. Easily accessible to supermarket & restaurants within walking distance, also a quick drive to Swansea. Would recommend the place to anyone. Only let down was no Internet services.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We value all our guests feedback. We are currently looking at options to have internet installed in the near future. Hope we can welcome you back next time you visit Wales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfer199...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious holiday home in ideal location to explore Gower and west Wales”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Had a lovely Valentine's weekend at Cockle Shell cottage. Had a delicious breakfast at Carid Cafe up the road and a beautiful morning walk along Llangennith beach while my boyfriend surfed. We defrosted by the log fire drinking mulled wine after a busy day. Will defiantly will visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Glad you enjoyed Valentines night at Cockle Shell Cottage and exploring the local beaches. Thank you for your valued custom. Hope we see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mymini198...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely,comfortable,everything you need,good value definately will be returning.”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely clean,very spacious holiday home.Everything you need for a comfortable stay .Good position for exploring the Gower.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind review and look forward to you staying again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing