We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant week, Great Accommodation, Perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property
Mill Cottage, view across mill pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Cottage, view across mill pond
private sun terrace Lounge / Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Mill Cottage, view across mill pond
private sun terrace
Lounge / Dining room
Kitchen
Magnolia in back garden, flowering beside the stream
Charlie waiting to go out in the field
Charlie and Danny
our sheep are very friendly
we sometimes have delicious eggs for sale
the duck pond in our orchard
our dogs
Canada Geese and their ducklings visit our Mill Pond
jetty on to mill leat
us, from the end of our lane
the village pub
River Avon
Aveton Gifford village church
Kingsbridge town square
Kingsbridge estuary
Thurlestone Sands
Avon Estuary Walk in Spring
view of River Avon from the Avon Estuary Walk
River Avon tidal road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aveton Gifford, Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Stephen E
1 review
“Brilliant week, Great Accommodation, Perfect Setting”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Set in a beautiful location in our favourite part of the country next to the mill stream and within easy reach of the beaches at Bigbury on Sea. Maggie and John, the owners, were perfect hosts and even lent a pair of waders to rescue my camera lens cap which I dropped in the water and which floated off down the stream - the rescue attempt was in vain I'm afraid to say...

The owners welcomed access to their extensive gardens and land with sheep, donkeys, hens and ... a cricket (see photo). We did see 4 Kingfishers (or maybe the same two twice?) which was a real bonus!

Convenient village shop and pub which serves good food. Also well situated for visiting the South Hams area, Dartmouth, Kingsbridge, Salcombe etc and Plymouth is not too far away either.

We will hopefully visit again in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Wi-Fi wasn't the best but it was the best that was available in the area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11June55
Waterlooville, Hants,UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“IDYLLIC”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely peaceful location and a lovely millstream rushing by. It was very well equipped and the hosts, Maggie and John , were very friendly as were their two little dogs. Handy little community shop a short walk away and a decent pub, that serves food, just on the corner. Sure we'll stay there again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The narrow roads of Devon.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjh12016
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place with wonderful surroundings”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

the property sits on the mill stream &mill pool ,has access to the owners garden which is extensive. The owner welcomes dogs and has made efforts to list places which accept dogs in bars. Great places to visit close by and some brilliant beaches. All in all BRILLIANT

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley25...
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace & Tranquility”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our second visit to Marsh Mills and we were not disappointed. It is a perfect location for us as we enjoy either relaxing in the Cottage or walking down the nearby tidal road. Kingsbridge and Salcombe are nearby and they are always worth visiting.
Maggie and John are perfect hosts and always make you feel very welcome. We came away very relaxed and happy and have already booked for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr. David...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scenic, Relaxing, Cosy & Recommended.”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Mill Cottage for a week from 18th July 2015. An absolutely beautiful & delightful place to stay. We didn't meet the owners as they were on holiday.....their friends looking after everything were lovely and very helpful. It is very dog friendly and my wife, our dog and I had a very relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing