We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but a little odd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stay Suites of America - Dodge City
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Dodge City
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My family of four stayed one night on the way home from a two-week tour of Wyoming. The hotel is on the west side of Dodge City central. It appears to be an older hotel that's undergone renovation. I booked a king suite with a sleeper sofa. Unfortunately, the sleeper sofa was actually a sleeper loveseat. So, only one of our two teenagers could fit on it. The other had to sleep in the room's cushy chair. The room was huge, but most of its space was vacant of any furniture and therefore useless. The tub was a large whirlpool tub with a stained surface. The front desk clerk was friendly and helpful with local restaurant selections. And the breakfast was typical Express fare with both hot and cold selections. My daughter preferred the pancakes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skepticmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

We had to change rooms as soon as we got there, it had not been cleaned since the time change!!!!. Got the next room, it was OK, nothing special. The best part was the breakfast with hot pancakes. If we had paid full price I would have asked for a refund.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckylady61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We stayed one night with our three children and one of their friends. We had adjoining rooms. We had a nice stay with no complaints. The check in was quick and painless as well as check out. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. Although they seemed a little pricy for Dodge City. The ammenities were nice and the breakfast was much better than most continental breakfasts. My only complaint would be that we had billing issues, however, Linda, the manager did work with us diligently to resolve the issue. My recommendation to travelers would be to definately make sure you write down names and prices and keep them with you as a reference. I think we may stay there again in the future, but it will be awhile.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpage_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Hotel was good - staff very friendly. Check in very quick which was good after a long day. We stayed for two nights and had no complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgrosch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I had to spend one night here - hotel was chosen by others. HIEs are generally pretty consistent, but this one needed a little work.

Lobby was fine and in good shape.

Walked down to room and saw there was a storage room that had suffered a leak - door was propped open with a box fan blowing the whole time we were there.

My room was generally unremarkable - standard HIE room. However, the bathroom needed work. There was a lot of black mold on the grout around the tub, and the cultured marble had been broken and poorly repaired - a large T-shaped crack about a foot in diameter that was crudely patched. Water pressure in shower was low - the infamous HIE shower head looked like it had suffered from years of hard water, and needed to be cleaned. The toilet also had an odd noise when flushing. It was rather loud, but the noise pulsed about once every second or so. Not the end of the world, but annoying.

I'll probably have to return to Dodge City in the future, and these things aren't enough to keep me from staying there again, but I will keep my eyes open for a nice place nonetheless, and will change when I find something better.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dodge City hotels
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dodge City
0.2 km away
Dodge House Hotel
Dodge House Hotel
#15 of 19 in Dodge City
209 reviews
1.2 km away
Best Western Plus Country Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Motel 6 Dodge City
Motel 6 Dodge City
#14 of 19 in Dodge City
168 reviews
3.7 km away
Best Western North Edge Inn
Best Western North Edge Inn
#1 of 19 in Dodge City
573 reviews
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Dodge City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Suites of America - Dodge City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Suites of America - Dodge City

Address: 2320 W. Wyatt Earp Blvd, Dodge City, KS 67801-3040
Region: United States > Kansas > Dodge City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Dodge City
Price Range: $85 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stay Suites of America - Dodge City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dodge City Stay Suites of America is located just blocks from the infamous Boot Hill Museum and famous Downtown Dodge City, and less than 2 minutes from our Boot Hill Casino. Take a stroll back in time and visit Marshall Dillion or Miss Kitty at the Notorious Gunfighters Wax Museum. Dodge City has something for the entire family with the Dodge City Raceway Park to All for Fun with go cart racing and miniature golf. We are only minutes from Mariah Hills, challenging 18 Hole Golf Course. Free High Speed Internet, free local phone calls, coffeemakers and iron/ironing boards are available in all our spacious guest rooms! Additional hotel amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast, as well as 24 hour access to our indoor heated pool, fitness center, and guest laundry facilities. Last but not least, every year Dodge City host one of the largest PRCA Rodeo's during Dodge City Days, starting the last weekend in July for 10 days of fun and excitement. Take a step back in time but enjoy the comforts of home at the Dodge City Stay Suites of America. "All roads lead to the Stay Suites of America!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Suites of America - Dodge City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dodge City Hotel Dodge City
Holiday Inn Dodge City
Dodge City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing