We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A-DORABLE!”
other travellers have booked this property
Cabin with an ocean theme - Grouse Valley Lodge - Sustaining project of Lighthouse Library/ECCRC
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin with an ocean theme - Grouse Valley Lodge - Sustaining project of Lighthouse Library/ECCRC
Comfortable bed - good night sleep!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Cabin with an ocean theme - Grouse Valley Lodge - Sustaining project of Lighthouse Library/ECCRC
Comfortable bed - good night sleep!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dexter, Kansas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Willa B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A-DORABLE!”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Honestly, I was a bit worried following my GPS to this rental. And if I hadn't seen the pictures and caught a glimpse of it, I would have never found it. But I LOVED it! It had just about everything I could have asked for! A few notes to fellow travellers: bring a bit of charcoal and something to grill. They have a great set-up right outside. And if you use the stove, turn on the fan AND crack the kitchen window a bit, or you'll set the fire alarm off!
The bed (downstairs) was super soft and comfortable. The location was quiet and fairly private. I will definitely be back. Maybe this time without spoiled teenagers who don't appreciate the novelty of sleeping in a loft! Four stars only because my kids were a little too old to sleep on the thin mattresses in the loft very comfortably, but that's just a personal thing. This rental is VERY worth the money if you're attending anything within a 1 hour distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
We appreciate your mentioning there being about everything you need for a fun stay. The kitchen is stocked with pans, dishes, etc. (and even a little food). The grill outside is always there for guests. We keep charcoal in the store on the site and there are some food items in the store as well. We appreciate your mention of your teens in the loft. The loft is a real adventure for most kids. It is probably true that older teens may bypass the novelty for comfort - ha. Past guests have stacked the mattresses upstairs (one on top of the other) for more comfort. Of course you can get several kids up in the loft area, so you may want to bring your own added sleeping bags or something if you want more than the mattresses that are up there. We do provide sheets and blanket in the loft of course. Downstairs, the sofa will pull out into a 3/4 bed. Your older teens may prefer that option. Most travelers enjoy looking at the stars out the loft windows for sure. It's an adventure. Little kids for sure enjoy the loft. We do suggest that no children under the age of maybe 5 use the loft as it is pretty high up there. Toddlers usually sleep downstairs on the couch for sure. We have had adults who opted to sleep in the loft instead of the bed downstairs, so for sure it is a personal preference. Next time, let us know when you bring your teens & we will provide a DVD player for upstairs. We also have a fan & other things, just ask. We don't want anyone uncomfortable, so we will certainly take a look upstairs. one bed is soft with a thicker mattress. The extra one is a little thinner. Downstairs, all guests have praised the comfy bed. Thanks again & come again any time. (Next time, pop some popcorn & make some hot chocolate or sun tea & maybe that will make up for things. It is true - the loft is not for everyone. It really is a long way up there. If you are afraid of heights, the loft is not for you. We also have an overflow sleeping area with a very comfy option. It is listed online as "Overflow to the Grouse Valley Lodge". You might check that out next time as well. Hopefully you caught a beautiful Kansas sunset while you were here. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter KS
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
We provide a cozy cabin with "everything" you need to have a fun & enjoyable stay. We try to keep the price down so families don't have the added worry of funds. Glad you had an enjoyable stay. This area is always quite, peaceful, and safe. Thanks for providing funding for the nonprofit Lighthouse Library. 100% of funds for your stay went to help fund the nonprofit. You are welcome any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wichita Kansas
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
We are so thankful that you have a peaceful weekend. This area is so pretty in all four seasons. The scenic drives to the south & to the west are extra lovely in the fall and spring. Winter is beautiful & the gas fireplace adds to the coziness. In summer, we provide a free swim pass & the nearby park makes a great picnic area as does the large deck on the site. You are welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing