We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stoney Creek Inn - Waukon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waukon
Reviewed 26 September 2016

My siblings and I were in Waukon during a very difficult time on very short notice for an uncertain time frame. The hotel staff were not only sympathetic, they went above and beyond to secure rooms for us at a reasonable price. They worked with us on check in and check out times and when more rooms were needed, they worked with us on that. I can never fully express my appreciation for all they did for my family and me.
They kept us together and were not only efficient, professional and organized but extremely compassionate. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, but what I will always remember is that every person we dealt with was helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikayla S, Guest Relations Manager at Stoney Creek Inn - Waukon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Barbara,
We want to thank you for the time you took to write this review! We understand that there are circumstances that arrive in life and we do our best to accommodate to everyone's needs. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to you returning on happier terms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2016

The rooms are decorated with various lodge-type furnishings making it feel warm and charming. The cost is reasonable and breakfast, while fairly modest in comparison to other hotels, is included. I would strongly recommend getting one of the suites or king rooms with a jaccuzi and/or fireplace. At least one of the king rooms has bunk beds for kids. Book EARLY because space is limited and it's the only hotel within a 20 minute drive--there are always weddings, reunions, funerals and other events going on and space is limited.

Room Tip: The suites are spacious, charmingly appointed, and have a jacuzzi or fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikayla S, Guest Relations Manager at Stoney Creek Inn - Waukon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Jennifer S,
It is great to hear you enjoyed the Stoney Creek atmosphere as it does make you feel like you can finally unwind. The suites are a very popular choice by guests as they do offer more amenities and more space! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here because it was less for us to book 2 rooms (we had 5 people) in Waucon than 1 room cost in Decorah. The rooms were super clean! And the bed was super comfy. We liked that there is a little city park about a 10 minute walk away, because we could get some exercise in before breakfast (as this hotel does not have a fitness center). Breakfast was nice. There were a couple hot options (toaster waffles, microwave pancakes, oatmeal) and things like boiled eggs and yogurt and fruit. I definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in the area!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank CoasterHiker1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Me and my family have stayed at this property many times over the years! The hotel has a great northern exposure theme to it. The staff is always willing to go above and beyond to ensure our stay is great. There was a small issue last time at check in with the reservation we made. It was our fault that we booked the wrong room but Brittany at the front desk worked a little magic and helped us get it resolved! Overall the hotel is always very clean and it has a nice homey cabin feel.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Positives are that the rooms and bathrooms are well-kept and clean and that the room's cost is reasonable. We're bedtime readers and for us a negative was that the bedside lamps had low-wattage fluorescent bulbs that were so dim my eyes watered trying to read by them. The lamps actually are made to accommodate a 3-way bulb, so something of higher wattage could easily be substituted to make them useful for people who like to read before going to sleep. The oversight of the breakfast was also slovenly. Guests had to go seeking someone to restock basics like spoons and sugar, and the trash container was totally filled even halfway through the breakfast service. The selection of breakfast items is also more limited than in similar motels we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Inn - Waukon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2015

John, thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your kind words as well constructive criticism. I wish you would have just asked because we could have made your lamps brighter. Most of our guests prefer the softer, gentler lighting. Failure to restock and clean out the breakfast area is unacceptable and we will address that issue with our team. Thanks again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukon
26.7 km away
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah
24.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Decorah
35.7 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Prairie Du Chien
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Prairie...
#1 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
Hotel Winneshiek
Hotel Winneshiek
#2 of 5 in Decorah
203 reviews
34.4 km away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Marquette, IA/Prairie Du Chien
34.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn - Waukon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn - Waukon

Address: 407 Rossville Rd, Waukon, IA 52172-2223
Region: United States > Iowa > Waukon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waukon
Price Range: $40 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Inn - Waukon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing