We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best Holiday Rental Ever”
other travellers have booked this property
Main living area with high vaulted ceiling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main living area with high vaulted ceiling
Relax outside on sunny south facing terrace Anyone for tennis?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Main living area with high vaulted ceiling
Relax outside on sunny south facing terrace
Anyone for tennis?
You can join us for breakfast up at Thurnham Keep
Characterful, beamy pub that serves excellent food just a stone’s throw away
Where we are
Entrance gates at the bottom of Castle Hill - ruins of Thurnham Castle and the North Downs close by
Large space to just chill
Plenty of parking on private drive
Fully equipped kitchen
Antique king size bed with high quality mattress and bedding
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thurnham, Maidstone, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jeremy H
2 reviews
“The Best Holiday Rental Ever”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for 6 nights and loved every moment. Beautiful setting and extensive grounds. Very comfortable bed and all mod cons. The owners were excellent; very friendly and helpful. We loved the little touches, such as the complimentary jar of honey produced by their own bees (the hives are in the grounds). Also, the complimentary cream tea was one of the best we have ever had with scones made to Claridge's recipe, home made Strawberry Jam and breathtaking views from the terrace of the main house. We will definitely be staying here again and would also be tempted by the B & B in the main house. A real find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful setting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Wonderful - so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangoa
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at The Stables. Amanda is a charming host and we felt really at home. The Stables is beautifully equipped with all you could need and more. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and modern appliances
Liked least: Location a little remote
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking time to write a review.
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve41An...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A wonderful place, perfectly located for visiting Kent”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The former stable is a delightful building, with all mod-con's, and a perfect level of decor (coupled, of course, with a very friendly welcome, and courteous service). It is situated in a truly beautiful part of the world, and within a minute's walk of a fabulous pub, and also sits upon the Pilgrim's Way walk, and is close to heritage, countryside and - if you should want - town and shopping areas too. Indeed, it is nigh-on perfect, although we were a tad surprised to find that it physically adjoins a non-associated house, and whilst the family within were quite lovely, we hadn't expected to share their parking area and their front garden, as this did make for slightly 'uncomfortable' times when sat out in the sun having a glass of wine, as we would have much preferred greater seclusion. That said, however, whilst it's a niggle, it is a minor niggle, and it doesn't detract from an otherwise wonderful stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind review. The Stable as mentioned is situated next to our Lodge House which is also rented and does share a drive which has ample room for parking for both. The garden by the Lodge is for their use but we have 7 acres of gardens, tennis court and swimming pool in the summer where guests can find seclusion and of course there is a private, sunny terrace outside the Stable with table and chairs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaMcQ
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed here with my daughter for 5 days. The Stables have been beautifully renovated to a very high standard. It was a lovely, comfortable and cosy space for the two of us. Our host Amanda was extremely friendly and welcoming and the property was equipped with just about everything we needed. It's set amongst some wonderful gardens and it was nice to have a wonder around. I would highly recommend this property.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBLondon1...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely country retreat!”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed here with my partner for two nights this summer, while visiting the area for a friend’s wedding. Thurnham Keep Stable provides a clean, contemporary living space, while still retaining the character of the house and grounds it is set in. We enjoyed walking around the beautiful gardens at Thurnham Keep – and the bed was the most comfortable we’ve ever stayed in! Perfect for a country weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your review
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing