We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow, a very pleasant experience!”
other travellers have booked this property
LES HIBOUX
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LES HIBOUX
THE SITUATION OF THE HOUSE IN THE SURROUNDING COUNTRYSIDE GARDEN VIEWS FROM THE TERRACE
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
LES HIBOUX
THE SITUATION OF THE HOUSE IN THE SURROUNDING COUNTRYSIDE
GARDEN VIEWS FROM THE TERRACE
SWIMMING POOL (4 MTS. x 7.5 MTS.)
RELAX BY THE POOL
PRIVATE APARTMENT GARDEN AREA
GARDEN
GARDEN
EVENING SUNSET
ENTRANCE TO YOUR ACCOMODATION
KITCHEN AND DINING AREA
LOUNGE
BATHROOM
BATHROOM
AND SO TO BED
FISHING LAKE -GOUZON
SUNSET OVER GOUZON LAKE
ETOILE ENJOYING A STROLL
WELL I'M READY - WHEN ARE WE GOING?
TYPICAL AUTUMN SCENERY
VASSIVIERE
LES HIBOUX IN WINTER
THE CREUSE IN WINTER
THE CREUSE IN WINTER
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gouzon, Creuse, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
HugoMelis
Oisterwijk, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow, a very pleasant experience!”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had the most wonderful time in the Gite of Trevor and Paula. They went absolutely out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Really nice touch was the nice cake we had when we arrived after a long trip getting to France.

From the first moment on we were feeling at home here. Whenever we had a question both of them were directly helping with answers. It was also possible to have a dinner prepared by Trevor and Paula, and eat in the lovely gazebo. We did this, and boy were we in for a treat. Lovely food, and very well prepared. It was a magical night, and a magical 2 weeks in total. Loved it.

Thanks for the hospitality!
Hugo & Anne-Frank

Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellyjo78
1 review
“Perfect little getaway”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Paula & Trevor were wonderful hosts, really helpful. We had a fantastic break, so peaceful. The pool was lovely as was the garden. The gite had everything we needed & more. Would recommend for anyone looking for a real taste of rural France.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adinars
France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My two-day stay at this studio was exquisite. The hosts go above and beyond to make you feel at home in this gorgeous part of France. As other reviewers said, Paula and Trevor are excellent cooks, and many of their ingredients come from their own backyard. They also are quick to provide recommendations for things to do in the area. The studio itself is clean, comfortable, and quiet.

All in all, Paula, Trevor, and Phoebe's home is the perfect spot for a relaxing vacation.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joeninho
Lake District
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A little slice of heaven...”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our stay at Les Hiboux was absolutely fantastic. Indeed, it is difficult to find the words to describe the exceptional hospitality we received from the moment we arrived until our reluctant departure 10 days later.

Trevor, Paula and Pheobe are the perfect hosts. Upon arrival, we were delighted to discover a welcome pack, which included a much appreciated bottle of wine, fresh eggs from the hens, homemade jam among other things.

Travelling with our 5 month old daughter for the first time was a little daunting, yet our fears were soon allayed, as Paula had everything we required to hand. No request was too much trouble for our hosts and we were pleasantly surprised to learn that Paula had high chairs, baby seats, a travel cot and everything else that one would require when travelling with a little one. Isla was in her element and loved the luxury afforded to her by our generous hosts. Our only regret was not asking Paula to babysit for us!

All 3 of our hosts have a wealth of knowledge when it comes to the local area and we took full advantage of the advice offered. It is difficult to think of anything else you could expect from a holiday. The local area is fantastic and we were delighted with our own little piece of rural France. Dining on our terrace as the sun set was a particular highlight for us. Isla's favourite moments were splashing in the pool and chatting with the ducks. The ducks and the dogs were equally as welcoming!

If you decide to stay at Les Hiboux (and you should), you MUST avail yourself of the opportunity to dine in the gazebo. Trevor and Paula have impressive culinary skills and we were thoroughly enjoyed their menu. We enjoyed a terrific night, which easily surpassed anything one could expect in a top hotel.

In summary, we had a wonderful time staying at Les Hiboux and the only disappointment was having to return home. Amazing, genuine and friendly hosts, who go above and beyond the call of duty to enhance your stay in outstanding accommodation and all in an idyllic setting.

What more could one ask for?

Joe, Claire & Isla x

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatMikeB
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Perfect Holiday Rental”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our two week stay was a fabulous experience.. The studio is exactly as described, spotlessly clean and all furnishings and equipment of the highest quality. Trevor and Paula are magnificent hosts and truly offer their guests a personal service. They spent endless time enhancing our stay with useful information about the area, serving us a magnificent dinner in their outside gazebo and providing us with fresh eggs, preserves and a welcome afternoon tea. We felt very much at home in their beautiful garden watching the delightful hens, ducks and the many interesting birds that visit.
The Creuse is a lovely, tranquil part of France with many interesting towns and villages to visit and great walks in the vast countryside around. I cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough and it is well deserving of the great reviews it receives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal service that the owners provide
Liked least: Nothing, liked it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing