We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
4carob
Marseille, France

Luxury comfort and calm - perfectly located for great skiing and/or walking

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Dec 2019
This 4-star hotel is well-located across from the chairlift in St Chaffrey, in the valley of Serre Chevalier, 10 minutes' drive from Briançon. Rooms are comfortable, generally calm and the breakfast is scrumptious! On-site ski-hire and availability of ski passes make any stay hassle-free. Lunch and evening meals can also be taken in the excellent restaurant - or in the bar, with its open fire. Try the tapas one evening - much better than the average. Summer stays are also good, with great walking available in the valley for all levels. The outside pool is open during the summer and the small spa is a relaxing way to end the day any time of year.
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
regis l, Directeur général at Grand Hôtel & Spa Nuxe Serre Chevalier, responded to this review
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Dear Miss, dear Mister,

Thanks for choosing Grand Hôtel & Spa Serre Chevalier for your stay and for taking time to share your comment.

We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate our location, the comfort of your room and our amazing breakfast.

We're looking forward to welcome you soon in our beautiful region.

Yours sincerely,

Alexandra Berger - Directrice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
    0.2 km from Grand Hôtel & Spa Nuxe Serre Chevalier
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Dining Room.
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    0.1 km from Grand Hôtel & Spa Nuxe Serre Chevalier
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      0.3 km from Grand Hôtel & Spa Nuxe Serre Chevalier
      Free Wifi
      Maeva Résidence Chantemerle
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      • eDreams
      0.3 km from Grand Hôtel & Spa Nuxe Serre Chevalier
      Free parking
      Pool
      Le Chalet de l'Eterlou
      • eDreams
      0.4 km from Grand Hôtel & Spa Nuxe Serre Chevalier
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      • eDreams
      0.3 km from Grand Hôtel & Spa Nuxe Serre Chevalier
      Pool
      Fitness centre
      Sur la terrasse du chalet
        1.6 km from Grand Hôtel & Spa Nuxe Serre Chevalier
        Free Wifi
        Restaurant
        AU$259
        • Hotels.com
        • Booking.com
        • Expedia.com
          AU$259
        0.0 km from Grand Hôtel & Spa Nuxe Serre Chevalier
        Free Wifi
        Pool
        Résidence Néméa vacances l'Adret
        AU$341
        • Hotels.com
        • Expedia.com
          AU$341
        • Priceline
        0.3 km from Grand Hôtel & Spa Nuxe Serre Chevalier
        Pool
        Restaurant
        Go to your Happy Price
        • Hotels.com
        • ZenHotels.com
          AU$221
        • Vacances Bleues
        1.0 km from Grand Hôtel & Spa Nuxe Serre Chevalier
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        View more hotels in Chantemerle
        Reviews (438)
        Filter reviews
        438 results
        Traveller rating
        272
        97
        33
        19
        17
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        272
        97
        33
        19
        17
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        4 - 9 of 438 reviews
        Reviewed 4 September 2019

        The restaurant at this hotel stood out as the best throughout our trip through the French alps. They were able to accomodate vegetarians with ease and with gourmet offerings. The outdoor pool was also a plus, as was the lunchtime terrace. They also offer a free spa hour a day, which includes a large wood indoor hot tub with
        wonderfully strong jets, and a steam room and sauna.

        Date of stay: August 2019
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank Pamela R
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 14 August 2019

        On the terras were several broken chairs and tables. I advise to repair them. I think it is not fair that you have to pay extra for parking your car. The rooms were nice. It would be nice if one speaks english at the front desk.

        Date of stay: August 2019
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank René V
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 19 February 2019

        We stayed last week of Jan 2019, 4 adult males in 2 twin rooms

        Compared to most ski hotels I have stayed in this was an absolute delight!

        Amazing location, 100 yards from the main ski lift/centre of the village surounded by restaurants, apres bars, ski shops, etc.

        A recent refurb meant that despite the traditional exterior the rooms and communal ares were really modern and stylish.

        Room was just about big enough for a twin (I think we had a superior room) but was clean and comfy. Complimentary bottled water and Expresso machine in the room.
        Bathroom was clean and had a great shower.

        The restaurant was classy and had a great view of the slope. The breakfast was the BEST breakfast I've had in a hotel anywhere! It was quality and had a good selection.

        We had one evening meal in main restaurant. It was tasty but on the expensive side, particularly when they charged us 15 euros for "filtered" tap water.

        We used the 1 hour free access to the spa each day, huge hot tub, sauna and steam room. Great way to ease the muscles and sweat out the beer/vin chaud! Towels, robes, slippers etc all provided for the spa.

        You can hire ski equipmnet at the hotel although we had already prebooked ours at a shop nearby.

        All staff were great.

        Slight negatives were the tap water mentioned above and I hate having to pay for outdoor parking, should be included.

        The local restaurants are VERY good but generally pricey, try a raclette (death by cheese) and we tried the ice karting which was a 5/10 min walk but the highlight of the holiday!

        We would 100% stay here again!

        Date of stay: January 2019
        • Trip type: Travelled with friends
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Service
        Thank ProfessionalKarter
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 16 January 2019

        Lovely staff, great breakfasts, the ski lift right opposite, and a lovely bar/restaurant area. The boot room is fully heated and the ski lockers are good.

        An observation, but by no means a complaint: The small classic rooms are small. For one they are fine, for two, cosy!

        I would happily go again, I really liked it..

        Date of stay: January 2019
        Thank PaulBMarlow
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

        The bar area and the table were lovely. Beautifully dressed and cosy but overall it was underwhelming and definitely not worth the price tag. We waited quite a while for cocktails and once seated dinner was slow, too slow leaving us craning our necks trying to get the waitress attention. Most of dinner our glasses were empty and plates absent. The Christmas set menu with wine paring was €95 + €35 and the kids €40.
        Their menu was opening with foie gras, they definitely had mousse de foie gras instead which is quite different and cheaper. Our kids know the difference and felt cheated. They loved their 'poularde' (bit on the dry side) with mash but even with dessert it was a bit basic for €40 and a set menu.
        Our food was more elaborate but took forever to arrive and servings were ridiculously dated as 'nouvelle' : 1 (one!) slice of duck breast as the main meat... And only 3 small glasses of wine served as pairing..1 organic had turned and gone fizzy...
        It was replaced but still it was 'meh' at best. Even with a flute of '' complimentary'' champagne with dessert the whole evening left us disappointed with a slightly bitter aftertaste... Altogether with 1 cocktail, 1 glass of chardonnay, 1 juice and a mocktail tab at aperitif the bill was nearly €400 for the four of us... Gag! Was it except good?
        No
        Was it worth €130 pp in France?
        Definitely Not worth it.
        We might return for after ski coffee as the bar is lovely.
        Might...

        Date of stay: December 2018
        Trip type: Travelled with family
        1  Thank benedictebro
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews