We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place to stay for all the family”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Woodpecker Barn

Woodpecker Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Woodpecker Barn
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Woodpecker Barn
Lounge
Lounge
Dining Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
En-suite
En-suite shower
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Main Bathroom
Private garden and patio
Woodpecker Barn
Swimming Pool
Female changing room
Male Changing room
Outside showing part of the play area and meadow
Outside play area and barbeque area
Woodpecker Barn & Facilities
Games Room
Games Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ipplepen, Newton Abbot, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Climber53...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place to stay for all the family”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Woodpecker Barn was a fabulous place to stay. Set in lovely countryside and with everything you could need. We were a party of 6 mixed age adults and a two year old and found the accommodation spacious, well decorated with comfortable furnishings, well stocked kitchen, with dishwasher and washing machine and secure garden with lovely views across farm land. Great to have a downstairs toilet, a bedroom with ensuite plus a family bathroom. Swimming pool, play area and games room on site, so there never needs to be a dull moment, even if the weather is not great. It's obvious a lot of time and effort has gone in to ensuring every detail has been considered to make the holiday run smoothly. Great information pack and directions too. Lots to do in this lovely part of Devon, for all the family.
Would love to go again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review. I look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnricoPal...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing week at Woodpecker Barn”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Woodpecker Barn in mid-late June and had a wonderful time. Our group comprised of my wife and I, my mother-in-law and my 4yr old daughter and 2 yr old son. The property was presented beautifully and extremely spacious for 5 people. The location is idyllic with great views of the countryside from the back garden. The children loved the indoor swimming pool and the adjoining play area, which were once again immaculate. We found somewhere different to visit each day and always no more than 30 minutes away in the car. We would not hesitate to recommend Woodpecker Barn to friends and family and hope to visit again one day!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satisfiel...
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Family Holiday Accommodation”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed here for 5 days at the beginning of May and this included one 3 year old. The accommodation suited us perfectly and the barn is very well equipped from kitchen equipment to toys and dvds for children. The enclosed garden adjoining fields of sheep with their baby lambs was lovely as we were able to sit outside and the 3 year to play outside knowing that she was safe. The swimming pool was excellent as was the games/play room and the outside play equipment.
The owner was most helpful and the barn was very well kept, decorated and very clean.
Keith and Carol Reast

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Only drawback was the walk from car park to barn carrying out luggage but it meant that our 3 year old was well out of the way of cars.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review. Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect getawaya”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The barn set in a perfect location away from traffic noise with beautiful views from the lounge.The kitchen was spacious with complimentary tea/coffee/sugar/milk and biscuits for us when we arrived. There is plenty of crockery and utensils and you will find everything you need. The lounge has a vast variety of dvd's toys games and books and a lovely wood burner which we made good use of, with plenty of room for us 6 adults and our 20 month old granddaughter All the bedrooms had plenty of storage, the bedding and towels were immaculate and rooms were decorated lovely.The swimming pool are was kept clean as were the changing rooms and we made use of the playroom a couple of times too. We would not hesitate in returning to this lovely homely barn.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Debbie, thank you for such a wonderful review. We look forward having you again at Woodpecker Barn in the near future. Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Risa1234
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family weekend”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with my husband, 21month old daughter and both sets of our parents and we were extremely satisfied with everything woodpecker barn had to offer. The kitchen is huge and the living room is cosy. The wood burner was great as it was quite cold. Facilities were outstanding and the added extras were much appreciated from kids toys, DVDs, games, travel cot, stair gates. Owners were very quick to respond and friendly. Would absolutely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Liked least: Not enough natural light in kitchen and middle bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We look forward to hosting your return visit in the near future. Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing