We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really top accomodation in Iowa City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Only stayed in IOWA city for the one night, but I must say stayed in a suite with a friend and it was immaculate. Very spacious, very neat and has everything you need. Weekend I was there was going to stay at the Sheraton but it was fully booked, so they recommended for us to come here, and I'm glad they did. Iowa city central is only very small, but this was right amongst everything

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choz_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

We are so proud you were referred to hotelVetro. The location and unique hotel offers a new experience to all whom travel wanting a special experience! You are welcome back anytime!

Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

Located right on the pedestrian mall in Iowa City, this hotel is perfectly located to walk to campus and numerous restaurants and shops. There is a small whole foods-like grocery store next door which is especially convenient because the rooms that I've stayed in all have small kitchens (not stocked). There are a variety of size/styles of rooms. Some even have decks! The style of the rooms are very modern - glass, no carpet, floor to ceiling windows, hip chairs, and very modern bathrooms which are bizarrely large. There is also a very nice health club in the building. My only complaints are that for a top of the line hotel, even in a small town like Iowa City, the front staff is lacking in professionalism. Service is slow, some can't give simple directions and at times there is no one to be seen at the front desk. (The Sheraton next door has a much more helpful staff.) The elevators are key-operated for safety which is nice since anyone could walk into the lobby and head up to the rooms. I also don't believe that they have movie service on their TVs which is a nice perk and because there is no carpet, the hallways can be a little noisy. Despite these minor complaints, I would definitely recommend this hotel. I travel to Iowa City frequently and have stayed at other hotels in town. This is definitely the best.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldexplorere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words about your experience at hotelVetro. Certainly we do take pride in providing an exceptional product and a unique style not offered at a traditional branded hotel chain.

Should you ever require any type of amenity in your guest room just let us know! Each traveler is a little different in their request and needs. We do provide an extensive kitchen in a box amenity kit which can be customized to your needs. I have heard you loud and clear when you stated the staff is less than professional. I want you to know this is not the level of service we will continue to provide. We strive to provide the same type of service and product this independent designers. You have my personal guarantee we will improve in this area.

Thank you again for selecting hotelVetro. We look forward to your return!

Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I grew up in Iowa City, so it was a little odd staying at a hotel. Hotel Vetro was a very nice place to stay. It's walking distance from all of the cool places in Iowa City. The rooms are clean, large, and have very nice views of downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pedestrian mall have the best views.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banned_in_austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

We are so pleased your return to Iowa City was exceptional! Austin is a great town to live in and certainly it's good to know there are a lot of cool places here in our town as well. You are welcome home any time!

Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the hotel Vetro in December and loved it. The hotel is modern and very chic. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was huge and lovely. The location is absolutely perfect. If you are planning to visit Iowa City, you could not be better located. This hotel is directly on the "ped mall", the area of Iowa City closed to car traffic and bustling with bars, restaurants and a fabulous library. Don't miss the market that is on the bottom floor of the hotel. Excellent beer selection and excellent deli choices. A spectacular hotel experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zippyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you so much for staying at hotelVetro! Our unique hotel provides a great opportunity for a very modern comfortable experience. We also provide options for yoga, a healing center, a sushi restaurant and Share Wine Lounge and Small plates Bistro.

The next time you come back we look forward to you trying some of the indigenous craft beers offered in Share! Wishing you a great year!

Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The hotel is new, clean, modern and hip. Rooms have little kitchens but kitchens are not stocked with glassware, plates or even utensils. You must request thses items from front desk which is annoying considering I am paying $400/ night! Hotel doesn't have restaurant, just a trendy little sushi bar located in the small hotel bar.

Room Tip: Corner room is best.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

I wanted to personally thank you for providing your comments on how we can improve our hotel. We have added standard kitchen amenities to the fourth floor of the hotel and provide an extensive offering of kitchen amenities to all of our guestrooms. During the time of your stay was a very busy University of Iowa Hawkeye weekend. We look forward to a future stay and you may notes price variations which might suit your travel differently.

We are very proud of the offerings we offer and glad to know you had a great stay!

Wishing you the best always-

Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
0.1 km away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 7 in Iowa City
456 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.7 km away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Iowa City
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
3.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Iowa City

Been to hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center

Address: 201 S Linn St, Iowa City, IA 52240-1603
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range: $228 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, sophistication, and metropolitan flair-experience it all at downtown Iowa City's newest hotel and conference center, located just a block away from the University of Iowa. Listed by Budget Travel Magazine as one of the Top 100 Best Values in the World, hotelVetro is the ultimate in upscale lodging. Boasting modern architectural design, deluxe guest rooms, contemporary kitchens, and the sophisticated yet environmentally conscious amenities, hotelVetro is ideal for short or long-term stays. HotelVetro is a premiere Iowa City conference center, with over 15,000 square feet of versatile banquet space and meeting rooms. Featuring a stunning 4,800 square foot open-air Roof Garden, which offers a magnificent view of the Iowa City Cultural District, hotelVetro provides an unforgettable backdrop for business and social events. HotelVetro offers a complimentary shuttle within a 3 mile radius based on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelvetro: Studio Suites And Convention Center
Hotelvetro: Studio Suites & Convention Center Hotel Iowa City
Hotelvetro Studio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing