We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home - lovely stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alva, Clackmannanshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Lorna F
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home - lovely stay!”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Very pleasantly surprised by this lovely little studio flat in Alva. Jay welcomed us upon arrival at the flat and showed us around - she had even purchased some basics for the fridge which we really appreciated as we had arrived late on in the day.The flat was very clean and well kept with everything we could have needed over a long weekend. We found plenty to do in the immediate area - the high street provided ample amenities aswell as there being plenty to explore in surrounding areas. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: We had to leave. :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Dear Oliver and Lorna thankyou so much for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back sometime. Take Care
Jay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilabil...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Short stay for dancing in the Cochrane Hall Alva”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This wee flat was ideal for what we needed & would love to & will go back for longer next time. The owner, Jay was there to let us in & very friendly & helpful showing us round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very compact wee flat for a couple & well kitted out.
Liked least: Would have liked a reading light at the bedside, as you have to get up to swich off !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great spot and easy parking”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We travelled over central Scotland on our holiday. This clean and tidy apartment is perfectly situated, with easy access to Edinburgh, Glasgow, Stirling, the Wallace Monument and the Falkirk wheel. We were recommended to dine at The Cambus Tea room. Best steak pies and sirlion steaks 5 minutes from the apartment by car.
The bed was comfy and great to have own washing/drying machine. The modern TV has plenty of channels for these odd rainy days Scotland has.
Very pleasant and helpful owner and we recommend the apartment as great value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfy bed
Liked least: Bathroom lighting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver P
1 review
“Lovely, pleasant and airy apartment with great access to Stirling, Glasgow and Edinburgh”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I spent a lovely two nights in the apartment with my girlfriend. It was easy to find, spacious and has a great Italian-style shower. It's also conveniently placed near to the beautiful city of Stirling and only an hour from Edinburgh and Glasgow. All in all a great trip and a lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delmar a
1 review
“LOVELY FLAT - BEAUTIFUL LANDSCAPE”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We've been in ALVA for the weekend, 2 nights. It was lovely and local. Behind the flat, there is a nice walk in the mountain. Fish and chips restaurant, pubs, shop... 1 hour from Edinburgh, 45 mins from Glasgow and 20 mins from Stirling.
The studio is big enough for 2 people, double bed, bathroom with Italian shower, TV with many channels, fitted kitchen, 2 comfortables sofas... The owners are very friendly. I know where to go when I'll be off to Scotland :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing