We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveller rating
467
245
74
21
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
245
74
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ping pong pool area champs restaurant champps restaurant attached restaurant large pool great pool hot tub tables and chairs free breakfast room was clean great place to stay hot breakfast family reunion very nice hotel would definitely stay here again biscuits and gravy
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 825 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Decided to take a last minute road trip, booked the same day. Senior discount available. Friendly staff. Very nice room with spa. Clean and comfortable. Pleased with the exercise room. Feel more choices would have been nice for breakfast. Would certainly stay again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Front Desk Lead at Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thank you, we greatly appreciate the 5-star review! We are pleased to see you enjoyed the amenities our hotel has to offer and that you would stay again with us. As for your breakfast experience, we will be sure to pass your comments onto the management team at Old Chicago as they are owned/managed independent of hotel ownership/management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Have to say somewhat disappointed with this Best Western. We have stayed in a number over the years during our annual USA road trips.

Where to start...at check in no information available to out of town visitors and having been allocated our room 238 we instantly noticed a very strong smell of smoke in a supposedly No Smoking Room! There is no way we would have wanted to stay in this room. So where is the no smoking policy being enforced?

We immediately went back to check in to request a room move. As we said we could have been held responsible for the previous room allocation and smell of smoke.

Have to say the rooms now look very dated and old fashioned. Dark dingy room and furnishings. We would actually question staying again in Best Western.

Our room had torn voile curtains to the window. The rip must have easily been 2/3 feet long. The ice box on the fridge was so frozen you couldn’t close the door to the ice box! Who these days has blankets on the beds so unhygienic and clearly I don’t believe the fleece blanket is changed after each guest stays as we passed the cleaners twice during our stay and they definitely had no clean blankets on their carts!

Also felt it was wrong guests smoking immediately outside the entrance to door to the rooms who you had to pass by surely there’s a rule of being so many feet away from the property?

Housekeeping kept the room tidy but on one day didn’t empty all bins in the room! For the price we paid it was the most expensive of all our accommodation while touring the USA for 17 days and clearly not up to the reputation of the Best Western group and not up to usual standards. Hugely disappointing.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Front Desk Lead at Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

We would like to thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. The feedback we receive from these reviews is greatly appreciated and very useful to us. We are sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us was not a pleasant one. I can assure you that the problems you experienced are being resolved. We at the Best Western Plus Dubuque strive for excellence and want to make everyone's stay with us a pleasant one. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the kind of stay we pride ourselves on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

I have never been to Dubuque before and the staff here were wonderful informing me of areas to see and places to eat. Very friendly staff that enjoy what they do! You can tell that through their guest interactions. My room was very clean, set up well and comfortable. Near the pool area but very quiet. I was impressed with how clear this property was. Again a great reflection of the staff! Keep up the great work.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mbl9029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Front Desk Lead at Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thank you for taking to time to complete your review of the Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center after your recent visit with us. We greatly appreciate the 5-Star review and are very pleased to hear you found our staff be very friendly, informative and feel that they enjoy what they do. Hopefully we will see back again sometime.

Best regards,

Mike Guthrie
Front Desk Lead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

The rooms were clean and it came with all the amenities you would expect in a hotel room ( they were already provided you did not have to request anything additional.) Bed was very comfortable. The pool area was fantastic. Nice, family friendly hotel. We will search for Best Western Plus hotels for our next trips after this experience!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank BoyMom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Front Desk Lead at Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you, we greatly appreciate the 5-star review! We are pleased to see you found your room to be clean and complete with the all of the amenities you had expected. We do hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Our room was very nice & very clean. There is a large pool, ping pong & pool tables in the atrium (2 floor of rooms surround the atrium). We ate at Old Chicago which is attached. Breakfast is awesome as it is also at Old Chicago so the variety was better than the normal BW breakfast.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Front Desk Lead at Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you, we greatly appreciate the 5-star review! We are pleased to hear the children, as well as yourself, enjoyed the pool and atrium area during your stay with us and that you found the breakfast buffet at Old Chicago to be better than the normal breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews