We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really delicious, great service.”
Review of 801 Chophouse

801 Chophouse
Reserve with OpenTable
801 Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 638 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 31 - USD 50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 8th
Description: A late 1920"s New York City steak house interior with signature leather booths, cherry wood furnishings, wooden floors, marble counter tops and high ceilings. 801 Chophouse offers only the very finest and freshest meats, seafood, and vegetables available. Executive Chef, Brian Dennis creates a fresh sheet that highlights the unique weekly offerings. Seasonal fresh soups and salads, oysters on the half shell,four species of fresh fish, live Maine lobsters and king crab legs. Make sure to save room for the Grand Marnier Souffle made from scratch! Aged USDA Grade Prime Beef ONLY, Iowa Farm Families pork chops and Colorado lamb. Customize your party from 6 to 65, the walls reconfigure for the perfect amount of space, the tables change for seating and conversation, and custom menus range from cocktails and hors d'oeuvres to full course dining.
Reviewed 20 October 2018

Treated ourselves to a top Des Moines restaurant and we were not disappointed. The steaks were delicious, great service, nice atmosphere. Not quiet, but not too loud. The baked potato was huge...nice portions for sharing. Dessert was just okay. Wish we had been told about the soufflé and to order it as we were eating because it takes 45 minutes. Our server did admit he forgot to mention it. Expensive place to eat...good for special occasion or when you’re visiting, as we were.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank TravelfromDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2018

We rented the Wine Room, a private room for the ceremony which can hold 36 people. We had requested a 20 person long table which they decorated the table with adorable little pumpkins.
We got married on one side of it while everyone was on the other side seated. 801 Chophouse was extremely responsive to us, let us come in prior to the wedding to scope out the room and test our camera equipment, and let us set up early on the day of. The staff was so professional and I would highly recommend anyone in the Des Moines area who wants a small fancy wedding to have it there.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

Outstanding dining experience every time we visit 801 Grand. It's pricey but you truly get what you pay for at this restaurant. Highly recommended for business dinners or family affairs. Couples too!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank bccloutier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Been back on several occasions the result is always the same, consistently good. Very nice wine selection, great atmosphere. Will return before long.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

After a grueling day of air travel, we took our visiting customers to 801 Chop House for dinner. Jen provided great service from the moment we sat down. We had a variety of seafood for appetizers that were so good we ordered additional rounds! Our steaks did not disappoint--they were AMAZING. Our group was not up for dessert but I ordered us the souffles. Everyone was blown away by them. In a nutshell, 801 allowed my guests to forgive the sins of air travel and set the stage for a great week of interaction.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank nsg5096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 801 Chophouse also viewed

 
Des Moines, IA
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to 801 Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing