We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
226
58
22
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
226
58
22
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews unique decor steam room omelet double sinks front desk gas fireplace downtown des moines romance package beautiful hotel wet bar appointed rooms street noise corner suite beautiful lobby within walking distance hotel bar presidential suite
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed overnight on our way to California and what a find in Des Moines! Unique decor a bit retro mid century and masculine. The dragons overlooking the sidewalk from above are distinctive. We loved the health club on the lower level and the complementary breakfast is attended by an omelette chef and features real China, glass and flatware. The staff we encountered were very knowledgeable of local dining and we enjoyed Django within walking distance for dinner.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank S Reginald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Lux H, Manager at Des Lux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for choosing the Des Lux Hotel for your recent stay while in Des Moines. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive very hard to ensure that our guests have a very comfortable stay while with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Barb Adix
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

I was flying into town looking for something different. I had stayed at Embassy Suites on my last trip and it of course was nice and as expected. Des Lux is gorgeous and the décor is that of a beautiful old time hotel with eclectic artwork and other things unique but not over the top. Romantic. Beautiful room with a very high ceiling. The staff was not only friendly and helpful, but informative as the place has quite a history. Great gym, spa, sauna, steam room, etc. Food and bar top notch. Great spot in downtown. Nothing bad here to say folks, great experience and I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrunner2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Lux H, Manager at Des Lux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you for choosing the Des Lux Hotel for your recent stay while in Des Moines! I am so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we strive very hard to ensure that our guests have a great experience while with us. We do hope that the next time you are going to be in the area that you will come back and see us!

Sincerely,
Barb Adix
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

I would definitely stay here again. Clean, cool vibe, good breakfast, great staff - great value. I received a complimentary upgrade and my room was awesome! Good location, too. Very satisfied with my experience.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank erinsF103KU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Lux H, Manager at Des Lux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for choosing the Des Lux Hotel for your recent stay while in Des Moines. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we strive very hard to ensure our guests have a great experience while with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Barb Adix
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We had such a wonderful time. The entire hotel was rented out yet it felt like we were the only guests. From the bartender to front desk associates everyone was smiling, friendly and helpful. We will be back. Great breakfast to start your day too!! Can't say enough good things about our stay there.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Lux H, Manager at Des Lux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Tony,
Thank you for choosing the Des Lux Hotel for your recent stay while in Des Moines. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we strive very hard to ensure every guest has a pleasant stay! We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Barb Adix
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Retired couple traveling on vacation. Delightful room, very comfortable and quiet, even though we were across from elevator. Front desk staff recommended a great restaurant within walking distance. Hotel's breakfast was the best we've ever seen with made to order omelette and fresh pastry.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank KathrynS2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Lux H, Manager at Des Lux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Kathryn,

Thank you for choosing the Des Lux Hotel for your recent stay while in Des Moines. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Barb Adix
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews