We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting ”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Porter House Museum
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Beautiful house with a lot of interesting artifacts that the family either collected, made, or painted in their life

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank C5799SRjeffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2017

I stopped by based off of times on website and no one was there. The fence was unusual and I'm sad I couldn't get in. Lesson call ahead.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank bLiselotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

it is a lovely well preserved old home. There is a wonderful array of collections like dishes, furniture, butterflies. The staff is well informed and very friendly

Date of experience: December 2014
1  Thank Virginia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

The Porter House Museum shows all of these aspects!
It was quite the surprise and we're so glad we made time for a tour. We'd been intrigued by the creative use of rocks and whimsery in the fence like wall around the house. That same sense of artistry extends to butterfly collections displayed as parts of paintings and hand painted China. It was definitely worth extending our day in Decorah to see this house thoroughly and learn about the Porters.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank 2seniors53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2014

This historic house museum is a fun stop. Check website for hours.
Mr. Porter constructed the yard's fence with exotic stones collected on his travels throughout the US. The inside is very interesting as well. With a fabulous butterfly collection and the original interiors from eth Porter family.
Tour takes about 40 minutes and our guide was quite witty and informed.

Date of experience: October 2014
3  Thank elgatogordo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porter House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Porter House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing