We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some tender loving care” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs some tender loving care”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We like to stay at Country Inn & suites. After reading reviews we choose to stay.
This location just needs some help and tender loving care. The staff was nice, but the room.....well let's say that housekeeping needs to be doing a better job. Our tub faucet would not turn off . We could have filled two tubs of water! The long mirror has not seen any Windex with all the finger prints. The sheets, carpet, chipped bathcounter, and dated furniture are all saying "help me." Also when you see a wounded bloody wrapped dog walking around and in the breakfast room, this doesn't exactly make a meal appetizing. I would not want to be the next guest to stay in that room!
I went to work out and only one TV station works -and it was infomercials, and I had a difficult time getting the treadmills to work.
Possibly this is an older property, but please this is a poor reflection on the company and owner of this property.

Room Tip: Ask if animals have stayed previously in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby5480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are currently reviewing all of your concerns. We thank you for bringing these to our attention. These comments will help us improve our service for you and future guests to our hotel. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope that you will consider us again on future visits to the area.

Thanks again for your time. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    94
    46
    24
    24
See reviews for
165
55
11
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
195 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Nice place to stay in the area. Clean, friendly (with cookies), nice bedding package, air conditioning worked and was not noisey.

Room Tip: Nice place and a good bargain in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mas4467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always like to hear when they are doing a good job.

Thanks again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again, on future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Reasonably priced for the area. Rooms were larger, however the decor was dated. Clean facility. Breakfast selection was pretty good and included in rate. A little farther than most hotels from the university, but commute was negligible. Nearby shopping mall and restaurants. Convenient to I80.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place for all of our guests to stay.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope that you will come stay with us again, on future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We come here because we have a child at the University of Iowa. We've stayed many times at many locations, and now this is our first go-to place. We were extremely disappointed with the Fairfield Inn after 2 stays. The Iowa House is so-so but always booked. The Marriott is lovely but too expensive for the short time we stay in the room when visiting.

The Country Inn is just right! We always encounter a friendly desk worker, the room is clean and comfortable, and the food is adequate for what we'd expect--saves us from having to go to a restaurant. The value is perfect, we like not having to have 2 night stay on football weekends, and the location is an easy drive over to campus. Parking is readily available, and shopping is very convenient for those campus move-in days.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank value_quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
We really appreciate your comments about our hotel. We are very happy that we could accommodate you on your many visits to the area. Our guests are our number one priority! We strive to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay for all of our guests. Your comments will be passed on to our staff.

Our prime location near the University of Iowa Oakdale Campus, just off I-80/I-380, is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Whatever your travel itinerary, the Country Inn & Suites is the perfect choice among hotels in Coralville, Iowa.

Thanks again for your time!!! We hope to see you again, on your next visit to the area!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Follansbee, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Clean, comfortable overnight lodging. Located in a shopping center area. A little pricey for the location, but it is right off I-80. Decent breakfast (standard free motel fare)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments. We strive to provide a safe, comfortable, and clean place to stay.

The Country Inn & Suites Hotel's Coralville location provide guests with convenient access to local attractions, the University of Iowa, the Coral Ridge Mall, Downtown Iowa City and much more. Our Iowa City area hotel is also convenient to golf courses, Iowa State Parks and more, and is an ideal home base for exploring the area.

Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you again in Coralville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coralville hotels
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
4.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
1.8 km away
Comfort Suites Coralville
Comfort Suites Coralville
#8 of 18 in Coralville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
4.6 km away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
4.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
Address: 2571 Heartland Pl, Coralville, IA 52241-2813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Coralville
Price range (per night): $123 - $176
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia APAC so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Coralville
Coralville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing