We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some tender loving care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We like to stay at Country Inn & suites. After reading reviews we choose to stay.
This location just needs some help and tender loving care. The staff was nice, but the room.....well let's say that housekeeping needs to be doing a better job. Our tub faucet would not turn off . We could have filled two tubs of water! The long mirror has not seen any Windex with all the finger prints. The sheets, carpet, chipped bathcounter, and dated furniture are all saying "help me." Also when you see a wounded bloody wrapped dog walking around and in the breakfast room, this doesn't exactly make a meal appetizing. I would not want to be the next guest to stay in that room!
I went to work out and only one TV station works -and it was infomercials, and I had a difficult time getting the treadmills to work.
Possibly this is an older property, but please this is a poor reflection on the company and owner of this property.

Room Tip: Ask if animals have stayed previously in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby5480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are currently reviewing all of your concerns. We thank you for bringing these to our attention. These comments will help us improve our service for you and future guests to our hotel. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope that you will consider us again on future visits to the area.

Thanks again for your time. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 396 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

Nice place to stay in the area. Clean, friendly (with cookies), nice bedding package, air conditioning worked and was not noisey.

Room Tip: Nice place and a good bargain in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mas4467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always like to hear when they are doing a good job.

Thanks again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again, on future visits to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Reasonably priced for the area. Rooms were larger, however the decor was dated. Clean facility. Breakfast selection was pretty good and included in rate. A little farther than most hotels from the university, but commute was negligible. Nearby shopping mall and restaurants. Convenient to I80.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place for all of our guests to stay.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope that you will come stay with us again, on future visits to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We come here because we have a child at the University of Iowa. We've stayed many times at many locations, and now this is our first go-to place. We were extremely disappointed with the Fairfield Inn after 2 stays. The Iowa House is so-so but always booked. The Marriott is lovely but too expensive for the short time we stay in the room when visiting.

The Country Inn is just right! We always encounter a friendly desk worker, the room is clean and comfortable, and the food is adequate for what we'd expect--saves us from having to go to a restaurant. The value is perfect, we like not having to have 2 night stay on football weekends, and the location is an easy drive over to campus. Parking is readily available, and shopping is very convenient for those campus move-in days.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank value_quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2011

We really appreciate your comments about our hotel. We are very happy that we could accommodate you on your many visits to the area. Our guests are our number one priority! We strive to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay for all of our guests. Your comments will be passed on to our staff.

Our prime location near the University of Iowa Oakdale Campus, just off I-80/I-380, is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Whatever your travel itinerary, the Country Inn & Suites is the perfect choice among hotels in Coralville, Iowa.

Thanks again for your time!!! We hope to see you again, on your next visit to the area!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Clean, comfortable overnight lodging. Located in a shopping center area. A little pricey for the location, but it is right off I-80. Decent breakfast (standard free motel fare)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments. We strive to provide a safe, comfortable, and clean place to stay.

The Country Inn & Suites Hotel's Coralville location provide guests with convenient access to local attractions, the University of Iowa, the Coral Ridge Mall, Downtown Iowa City and much more. Our Iowa City area hotel is also convenient to golf courses, Iowa State Parks and more, and is an ideal home base for exploring the area.

Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you again in Coralville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coralville hotels
4.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
1.8 km away
Comfort Suites Coralville
Comfort Suites Coralville
#6 of 21 in Coralville
173 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville
0.2 km away
AmericInn Coralville
AmericInn Coralville
#18 of 21 in Coralville
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville

Address: 2571 Heartland Place, Coralville, IA 52241
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Coralville
Price Range: $115 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Coralville for Easy Access to Downtown Iowa City Make the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson®, Coralville, IA your home base near Iowa City, where you can attend University of Iowa games at Carver-Hawkeye Arena or Kinnick Stadium. Located off I-80, the hotel gives you easy access to the shops at Coral Ridge Mall and the hands-on activities at Iowa Children’s Museum, both within a five-minute drive. Continue your family fun back at the hotel by relaxing in the indoor pool and hot tub. After a day out, unwind by returning emails or browsing social media with our free Wi-Fi. The fitness center offers a great workout, and the business center enables you to stay productive if necessary. Don’t forget to stop by the lobby anytime for a free cookie and coffee, which you can enjoy while you read a good book from the Read It & Return Lending LibrarySM. Amenities and services include: Free Wi-Fi Indoor Pool and Hot Tub Fitness Center Business Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Coralville
Coralville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing