We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, fresh, beautiful, inexpensive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean, fresh, beautiful, inexpensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were very impressed with this hotel. First of all, the rates were great. Second, they are quite new and very impressive. The sheets were crisp, the mattresses are pillow top and we slept great. They didn't have a room that fit the coupon price so they gave us a better room for the same price. The people at the desk were friendly and helpful. It was a great deal all around. Everything was squeaky clean. The breakfast milk and juice drink were refrigerated and there were 4 cold cereals to choose from. There was also hot oatmeal, toast, bagels, and peanut butter as well as hot chocolate. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a coupon from a travel book at a rest area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMColfax, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
thanks for the feed back. always nice to hear what our guest like or dislike. glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. Come see us again soon.
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    108
    60
    49
    17
See reviews for
120
84
36
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This hotel is so clean and the staff is so friendly. I was travelling with my dog and it's always hard to find a nice hotel that is pet friendly and affordable. I was so surprised at how clean the place was. I cannot say enough great things about this hotel.

Room Tip: I have only stayed on the first floor, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Microtel has yet to disappoint. This was an excellent stay, especially for the cost.

The wifi was fast and didn't require any silly hoops to be jumped, the ice machine worked and did NOT have any "no coolers" sign on it. Hotel night staff was friendly and very helpful.

THe room was quiet, well appointed, and very comfy.

My only regret is that i wish these guys were closer to Des Moines so i could stay here during show weekends.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kansasccw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This hotel is perfect for an overnight stay. There aren't any frills to the hotel, but the rooms are clean and cozy and the staff is friendly. The breakfast is your average hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LombardJess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I stayed here for a quick overnight on a long trip. I had encountered a lot of noise in other locations, but this Microtel is isolated enough that it is pretty quiet, for a good night's sleep. I was traveling solo so sought out locations that looked safe, and this definitely fit the bill.

The hotel appears to be nearly new, and is very clean. Comfy beds with several pillow choices. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was basic, but nice enough to get me going (oatmeal, bagels, juice, coffee, cereal is offered). I found the hotel through a hotel coupon-type booklets, and got an amazingly low price. I would highly recommend this hotel for an overnight.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara9889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colfax
0.6 km away
Colfax Inn
Colfax Inn
#2 of 2 in Colfax
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
14.3 km away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
16.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
21.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
21.1 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
Address: 11000 Federal Ave, Colfax, IA 50054-7737
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Colfax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Price range (per night): $62 - $167
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a 48 hour cancellation policy. Must cancel by 4pm 2 days before your arrival or you will be charged for the 1st day of your reservation and the remainder of the days will be released. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Colfax
Colfax Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing