We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS!! Stay away!!”
Review of Super 8 Clarinda

Super 8 Clarinda
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Clarinda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clarinda
IOWA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BED BUGS!! Stay away!!”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Staying here while doing local construction. Me & my friend both in separate rooms were literally eating up by bed bugs! We had to drive 40 miles away to find a clean place to stay! Staff at desk actually knew about the bed bug problem & apologized! Now my other co worker is still staying there and he has a "remodeled" room & he says he is fine. Our rooms were "older" with old tv's & furniture.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ARATARA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    88
    58
    19
    21
See reviews for
123
31
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
K.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I didn't know about the bed bug problem but that would explain my bites that week. The place is fairly new, but isn't at all clean. My first room smelled like B.O. with smelly cologne on top of it, and my second room had visable soap scum on the faucet handle, soap smears on the counter by the sink, and hair beside the sink. I was told that was the only other room to choose. So gross. I had to try to keep from gagging as I had to clean it up. The front desk staff was really nice, but the manager was short with people, loud, harsh and rude to guests and was shrieking to someone while I was there. Just that made me want to walk out right then, but I had already paid for my room. A very unpleasant experience. Next time I will try to find something else, anything else in the area.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else without bugs and filth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiana
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed for business and found the Super 8 to be clean, quiet and comfortable.
Front desk staff were pleasant and helpful.
Couple of good restaurants in town too!
Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafawnduh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quad Cities IA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Room and premises were very clean; room was right across from checkin desk, lobby, and breakfast area so it wasn't as quiet as we would have liked. Holiday weekend so the place was full which made for more noise and no place to sit in the breakfast area. Checkin was slow as clerk was on the phone for over 10 minutes apparently helping a customer so I had to wait for that conversation to end in order to check in. Thought that could have been handled differently. Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay and probably will return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaraokeMan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Everything was great but the next day I was all bit up. At first I thought it was mosquitoes but I found some bites in places mosquitoes can't reach.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarinda
29.0 km away
No photo provided
Shenandoah Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Shenandoah
42 reviews
30.1 km away
Super 8 Shenandoah
Super 8 Shenandoah
#2 of 2 in Shenandoah
33 reviews
30.2 km away
Tall Corn Inn
Tall Corn Inn
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#2 of 2 in Red Oak
70 reviews
0.5 km away
Celebrity Inn
Celebrity Inn
#1 of 4 in Clarinda
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Clarinda

Been to Super 8 Clarinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Clarinda

Property: Super 8 Clarinda
Address: 1203 S 12th St, Clarinda, IA 51632-2934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Clarinda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clarinda
Price range (per night): $107 - $149
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Clarinda 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Clarinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Clarinda
Clarinda Super 8
Clarinda Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing