We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food for the price”
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #84 of 175 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Takeout
Description: Steak 'n Shake, a classic American brand, was founded in 1934 in Normal, Illinois by Gus Belt who pioneered the concept of premium burgers and milkshakes. For over 80 years, the company's name has been symbolic of its heritage. The word "steak" stood for steakburger. The term "shake" stood for hand-dipped milkshakes. Gus was determined to serve his customers the finest burgers and shakes in the business. Today, Steak 'n Shake remains the "better burger" leader, serving premium 100% beef steakburgers, hand-dipped milkshakes, thin crispy fries, and more. Steakburgers are made without preservatives or artificial ingredients, topped with fresh produce, and always hand-crafted to order. Other classics include the Frisco Melt, 7x7, Prime Steakburgers, and fan favorite M&M milkshakes.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Went for lunch with my husband. Had the chicken sandwich, and he had a burger. We used one coupon for the burger. The food was good and service was excellent.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2017

I've been here several times the Steak Burgers are delicious.... Large Shakes, and very filling. The Burgers are not cheap, but like most around $8.00 you can get a juicy Steak Burger with Fries.... Open concept booth's available. Location is in Walmart area Shopping Mall. The times I have been there for lunch no waiting a few people may be ahead of you but they move fast to seat you, and serve you. Casual Setting, and dress.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Food was fair. Shakes good.. Service was good. Bathroom dirty. I would probably not go back because of that. Also food was not wiped off the seats. The place didn't feel clean.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 319violet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This is my husbands favorite place to go for a hamburger. I like the fries myself. We have never had a problem with our food here.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Been to many of these locations, been disappointed in many. However this location restored faith that I can still get good food and service at a steak n shake.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank jamesfrazier1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing