We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
superstarsrule
Sydney, Australia

Exactly what I needed!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Mar 2011
Having never been to a Health Retreat I wasn't sure what to expect but I loved my time at KIHR, I'm definitely feeling fitter and healthier. The location was beautiful, the exercise was great I really enjoyed the beach walking and yoga, the food was yummy and I loved the massage and facial. I'd definitely recommend it.
Date of stay: March 2011
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    AU$265
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Kangaroo Island Health Retreat
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
1.5 km from Kangaroo Island Health Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Kangaroo Island Health Retreat
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Kangaroo Island Health Retreat
    1.7 km from Kangaroo Island Health Retreat
    Dolphin and Seal Spotting from the Balcony
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$156
    • Priceline
    12.5 km from Kangaroo Island Health Retreat
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$266
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    13.0 km from Kangaroo Island Health Retreat
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Ocean View Room
    AU$223
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$223
    13.0 km from Kangaroo Island Health Retreat
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$263
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$263
    13.0 km from Kangaroo Island Health Retreat
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Trip.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$263
    • StayForLong
    13.1 km from Kangaroo Island Health Retreat
    View more hotels in Emu Bay
    Reviews (17)
    Filter reviews
    17 results
    Traveller rating
    9
    4
    0
    1
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    9
    4
    0
    1
    3
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    13 - 17 of 17 reviews
    Reviewed 3 March 2011

    Kangaroo Island Health Retreat overlooks pristine Emu Bay, which is a great escape from it all.

    The lodgings are comfortable, not glamorous, so not a pamper retreat.

    It was hard work for the first couple of days, with heaps of stretching, exercise and caffeine headaches (curse you morning coffee!!) but by the end of the week, I felt rejuvenated, lost some weight and for the first time in ages not tired.

    The operator is a bit of a health guru, who sometimes can act like a taskmaster!! But she knows her stuff and is really likable. Personally it was what made me apply myself and made all the difference over the course of the week. I have certainly kept it up since I returned home and am feeling great!

    Date of stay: December 2010
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Lanno007
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 February 2011

    I just got back from a detox program at Kangaroo Island Health Retreat I look and feel fantastic overall I lost 5kg, I can finally do up my jeans!

    Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island is a truly inspiration location and I loved going swimming every day. The retreat was exactly what I was looking for after I’d been indulging a little too much over Christmas/New Year and I needed to get healthy.

    I saw the other trip advisor reviews and felt compelled to comment on my own experience because I truly feel inspired from my stay. The rooms are simple but well appointed with views over the bay I had a private bathroom and was definitely comfy. I enjoyed all the exercise and I found Sue (the owner) a great motivator. The nutrition lessons were really informative in fact I’ve already started putting them into practice!

    Overall I found the experience truly worthwhile. It is a detox retreat (which is clear on the website!) I suppose if you want to sit around and be pampered it probably isn’t for you, however for me it was exactly what I wanted and needed. I’d definitely go back!

    Date of stay: February 2011
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank dais0075
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 6 August 2010

    this place is a rip-off, the KIHR website is misleading. By an average persons standards the fitness classes, yoga, pilates, aerobics at KIHR are unprofessional and bit of a joke. Like the 4 reflexology sessions that are basically sticking your feet in a foot rubbing machine bought at an airport? Surpirisingly heating is only available in the communal area, so definitely give the winter months a miss. With no heating allowed in your bedroom it gets freezing if you want alone time. All in all for the kind of money KIHR are asking if you are travelling from a state other than SA you are better off going OS to a genuine health retreat in Langkawi or locally in Australia

    Date of stay: August 2010
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    16  Thank CarribeanDoll
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 May 2015
    Google Translation

    Date of stay: April 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews