We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely private retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune Dining with nature views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune
Dining with nature views
A Dune Escape
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom one with a view to the crest of the dune
Bedroom two with elevated hinterland views
Nature and sunshine a part of the living spaces
Cosy lounging with open log fire
Quality decor
Relaxing loungeroom
Sunny open decking
Peaceful and restfull decor design
Stairway to your escape
Bathroom in sea greens and crisp white
Design and quality
Kangaroos on the 15-hectare property
Crystal waters of Emu bay
Walk down the dunes to the beach
Dolphins at the base of the dune
Evening meals on the deck
Romantic walks on the beach
Bike ride on the beach
Family fun
Nature meets the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lbattye
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely private retreat”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stayed for six days for a quiet getaway and base to explore KI. This place was perfect- spotlessly clean, stylish,had everything we needed. lovely private setting, only Neighbours we saw were kangaroos and wallabies grazing in the paddock. Emu bay is a gorgeous beach with pods of dolphins swimming by, but the stairs down to the beach are not for the faint hearted - no handrails and unsuitable for young children and older people. We opted to stay in and enjoy the peace in the evenings and the kitchen was well equipped, plus nice BBQ on the terrace but no dishwasher or microwave. We loved our stay and the owners Brian and Kris were helpful and friendly. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britz
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Kangaroo Island accomodation”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This stunning beach house is located in an idyllic elevated spot beside the aquamarine waters of Emy Bay- tranquility and absolute privacy were our first impressions, which made us quickly appreciate the awesome beauty of this place. The spacious and stylish house interior opens onto wonderful wraparound decks that bring the beautiful KI landscape inside, and the well-planned outdoor areas complement this gorgeous natural setting. The house is fully equiped with everything you need for a relaxing holiday and provides a perfect base to explore Flinders Chase National Park, Seal Bay and the other must-see places and towns on KI. The dune seating overlooking the turquoise bay and private access to the pristine beach are special features that make A Dune Escape so unique.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmAdelai...
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay in this very special 'escape'!”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed 3 nights at 'A Dune Escape' and loved every minute of it! The house is beautiful, gorgeously remote and literally a few steps from the Emu Bay beach. The owners are very nice and easy to contact, everything went smoothly. The pictures are accurate, the house is as beautiful as on the pictures, including the kangaroos who came to say 'Hello' in the morning.
We had three beautiful days there, the perfect place to enjoy Kangaroo Island close to nature and direct access to the ocean <3

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billandsa...
Kalamazoo, MI. USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, and a delight in every way”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The Dune Escape offers peace, quiet and total privacy. Everything is kept sparkling clean and in perfect working order. The house is well appointed and very comfortable. The view from the top of the dune is less than a minute walk from the veranda and is stunning at all times of the day, particularly in the early morning. A great place for your morning coffee! Beautiful panoramic views of the country side and abundant wildlife. One caveat: the walk down to the beach is steep and probably not for the mobility challenged. We are in our late 60's and had no issue. If you don't feel like the walk down the dune you can take the quick drive to Emu Bay and access the beach there. The fish and chips at the Cal Tex petrol station (in Kingscote) is fantastic! Just take our word! The sky at night is a perfect black with thousands of stars and the milky way is very clear. No light pollution (or any kind of pollution). We're sorry that we couldn't have stayed longer. Our expectations were totally exceeded!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caraoke
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Booking was simple and Brian sent us clear and easy directions to the property. Any queries I had were answered very quickly. Emu Bay is about 50 minutes on sealed roads from the ferry terminal at Penneshaw and about 20 minutes from Kingscote where you will find a well stocked supermarket, 2 banks, bakery, cafes, gift shops, hairdressers, gallery etc. The actual road into and up to the property is unsealed and a bit bumpy in places but fine for a hire car to use when we were there. There are steps up to the property and access to the top of the dune might be a bit difficult if you have mobility issues as would the steep descent to the beach. The views are stunning, the colours in the bay have to be seen to be believed. Emu Bay is safe for swimming, you can drive straight on to the beach and the sand is nice and firm for walking.
Brian made us very welcome on arrival and told us he was 2 minutes away if we needed anything.
Brian & Kris have created an idyllic home in such a beautiful location. The house is spotlessly clean and very tastefully furnished. Lots of comfy seating both indoors and out and the most comfortable bed, we slept so well. Beautiful views from all the windows including the bathroom.
Peaceful, quiet and sheer bliss. Roo and her Joey, Wallabies, Possum, Goannas, so many birds. We spent a wonderful 4 nights in this very special home and would highly recommend to couples and families.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2016
Thank you so much Carole and Tony - if only we could write a review for our guests - you were such a lovely couple to meet and you left our house absolutely sparkling clean, we are so glad you had a great stay and are very appreciative of your fantastic prompt review! The Roo with its joey at the birdbath sounds very special - we wish you all the best for Christmas and new year - safe travels Cheers Kris and Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing