We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect accommodation in a perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune Dining with nature views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune
Dining with nature views
A Dune Escape
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom one with a view to the crest of the dune
Bedroom two with elevated hinterland views
Nature and sunshine a part of the living spaces
Cosy lounging with open log fire
Quality decor
Relaxing loungeroom
Sunny open decking
Peaceful and restfull decor design
Stairway to your escape
Bathroom in sea greens and crisp white
Design and quality
Kangaroos on the 15-hectare property
Crystal waters of Emu bay
Walk down the dunes to the beach
Dolphins at the base of the dune
Evening meals on the deck
Romantic walks on the beach
Bike ride on the beach
Family fun
Nature meets the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Familyoft...
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation in a perfect location”
Reviewed 19 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely perfect accommodation. I have never stayed anywhere as sparkling clean as A Dune Escape. Spotless. A really well thought out holiday house with absolutely everything you need. The kitchen is really well fitted out with quality appliances and Brian and Kris have obviously thought about all the items you need in a kitchen. Comfortable lounges and extremely comfortable beds too. The house has been well designed and is light and airy and spacious.

The verandah was an amazing sun trap perfect for early morning breakfasts and afternoon drinks.

Loved the fact that the house is ecofriendly. Loved the fire too - cosy and lots of wood.

The view from the dune at the back of the house is incredible. Gorgeous sunsets. Walk down to the beach so easy (thanks to the 100 steps Brian built) and what a perfect beach! When we stayed it was picture postcard calm.

Brian is an amazing host who went out of his way to help organise a marine tour for us and even lent us wetsuits!

Our family of three is fortunate to have traveled widely overseas and in Australia and we have to say that A Dune Escape is definitely one of our favourite self-catering holiday homes.

A Dune Escape is a great location to explore the beautiful North Coast. Highly recommended.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2013
Thank you so much Megan and family, for firstly choosing A Dune Escape, secondly writing us two wonderful reviews and finally for being such wonderful appreciative guests. You really seemed to have tuned into exactly what we tried to incorporate in our beach house, environmental friendliness, nature meets the sea, a great kitchen to cook gourmet food, relaxing, quality and stylish atmosphere and an adventurous beach holiday location. We appreciate your world wide experiences - we too have travelled extensively and our house is a collection of all our favourites. Welcome back anytime!
Warm regards
Brian and Kris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hardy_tho...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A Dune with a View”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We wanted peace and quiet with nature at our doorstep - we were thrilled to get that and more at The Dune Escape. It was lovely to come back to the house after a day travelling around the island or playing on the beach to take in the beautiful views from the veranda and living spaces and to enjoy the sights and sounds of the wildlife. We saw an echidna, wallabies, kangaroos and even a small bat! The hosts, Brian and Kris, went out of their way to make our stay easy and comfortable, and they have put a lot of thought into making the house both very liveable and environmentally sustainable without compromising on comfort and a sense of style and luxury. We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2013
Thank you Tom and Alice for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you appreciated and noted nature meeting the sea at our beach house. We are so glad you and the boys were able to view and enjoy the wildlife on our property also. We welcome you and/or your friends to come and stay again. Warm regards and all the best for 2013 - Brian and Kris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shayeeva
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tranquil, beautiful and comfortable escape.”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We were so pleased to have had the opportunity to stay at this amazing place. It was well designed, immaculately cleaned and great attention to detail in terms of everything you would need for a relaxing, private and comfortable getaway. The location is superb and we loved sitting up on the dune taking in the stunning views of the beach and surrounding landscape. Kris and Brian have a great knowledge of Kangaroo Island and are more than happy to share that with you to maximise your time there. Would very happily return there and could not recommend it enough.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2013
Thank you Shaye and Kim - we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and were able to find the paradise we are trying to share, especially with city dwellers like yourselves. (it's a long way from Brunswick, Melbourne - mind you another amazing place we have enjoyed visiting) We have bought 2 more relaxing chairs for the dune top now, so bring your friends with you next time and escape to nature again. Thank you so much for your very positive review, we appreciate your time! Kind regards Brian and Kris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrie S
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“A Dune Escape - A tranquil secluded retreat - good for the body and soul.”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I had been wanting to see Kangaroo Island for years and at last I was there - WHAT A FIND - Kris and Brian were very hospitable - anything you want to know about the history of K.I., where to go and what to do while you are on K.I. - Kris and Brian have the answers and are always there if you need assistance.

"A Dune Escape" is a tranquil secluded retreat - brand new and nestled amongst nature at its best. All amenities are new and first class.

What a wonderful way to celebrate New Year's Eve - sitting on chairs on top of the Dunes, only a few metres from the house, with friends looking at the stunning views of Emu Bay, where the day before we had been walking along Emu Bay Beach watching two dolphins happily play close to shore - what a photo opportunity that was!

I recommend "A Dune Escape" on Kangaroo Island as a wonderful holiday destination - it won't be long until I will be back to see more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall atmosphere of the house and natural surroundings.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2013
Thank you Kerrie for your great review - we loved hosting you at A Dune Escape and are really pleased it was all up to your expectations. We have actually had the photos of the dolphins mounted on canvas on our lounge room wall - an amazing photo! We look forward to your return visit with more friends or family - We hope 2013 is looking good for you
Regards Brian and Kris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournejan...
1 review
“Tranquil beauty with these ease of modern day living”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. From a very modern home you look at the roaming countryside of Kangaroo Island. Then taking a book, swimmers or a glass of wine to the top of the dune you can sit and watch the sunset, see few walkers on an empty beach and watch the ocean roll in. A truly wonderful place to holiday with countryside and surf as well as the luxury of a beautifully equipped new home . Well maintained and provided for both adults and children. Young and old.
We will be back .

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2013
Thank you Jane and Dave - it was wonderful for you to enjoy A Dune Escape as one of our early bookings. Our house is doing wonderfully well with all guests so positive with their stays and fortunately they are all respecting the beautiful paradise it is and helping us to maintain this - the environment around and the house itself! We really look forward to your return soon :)
Kind regards Brian and Kris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing