We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. ”
Review of 1958 Restaurant

1958 Restaurant
Price range: USD 5 - USD 30
Description: Bringing Vietnamese traditions into the heart of the World Heritage Site. Named after the year that President Ho Chi Minh first visited Tuan Chau Island on September 13th, 1958, 1958 Restaurant is located few doors away from Paradise Suites Hotel, the first luxury boutique hotel in Halong Bay. The cozy and friendly setting at 1958 makes it the ideal choice for gatherings in the World Heritage Site. The restaurant serves authentic Vietnamese cuisine with signature dishes featuring fresh seafood prepared in traditional Vietnamese style from Northern Vietnam.
Restaurant details
Description: Bringing Vietnamese traditions into the heart of the World Heritage Site. Named after the year that President Ho Chi Minh first visited Tuan Chau Island on September 13th, 1958, 1958 Restaurant is located few doors away from Paradise Suites Hotel, the first luxury boutique hotel in Halong Bay. The cozy and friendly setting at 1958 makes it the ideal choice for gatherings in the World Heritage Site. The restaurant serves authentic Vietnamese cuisine with signature dishes featuring fresh seafood prepared in traditional Vietnamese style from Northern Vietnam.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Fantastic service and great food. Prices were very good, expected to pay a lot more. Clean and comfortable surroundings, very relaxing.

Thank smiler071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuong L, Người quản lý at 1958 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for using the service of 1958 restaurant and for taking time to share your experience with us!

I am glad to read that you spent a great time with us and that you enjoyed our food and service. We are proud to serve the delectable dishes, premium seafood with perfect wine paring - together with amazing atmosphere of island. Your compliment is our greatest encouragement and we really appreciate that!

Once again, thank you for your time and kind consideration - we look forward to having you again at 1958 soon!

With best regards,
1958 Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

The 1958 Restaurant offers a variety of Vietnamese dishes served in a unique, fine-dining manner for one to truly indulge in all the local flavours.

Thank MariaFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuong L, Người quản lý at 1958 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for using the service of 1958 restaurant and for taking time to share your experience with us!

I am glad to read that you spent a great time with us and that you enjoyed our food and service. We are proud to serve the delectable dishes, premium seafood with perfect wine paring - together with amazing atmosphere of island. Your compliment is our greatest encouragement and we really appreciate that!

Once again, thank you for your time and kind consideration - we look forward to having you again at 1958 soon!

With best regards,
1958 Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We were excited to try this restaurant given the top reviews on TripAdvisor. It's a pretty mediocre spot. The food is okay (they cooked the heck out of our grilled prawns!). The portions are small. And it ain't cheap by Vietnamese standards. The staff tried hard but effort can only take you so far. On a positive note, the beer is ice cold!

There isn't many other restaurants nearby. You could try the small local spots serving Pho next to the international marina.

Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuong L, Người quản lý at 1958 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

First of all, I would like to extend our thanks to you for taking the time to review 1958 restaurant. Being in constant pursuit of top dining experience for our guests, we take guests’ reviews very seriously and consider them the valuable insights for improving our services.

Please accept our apology for your unpleasant experience with us. Since, I have checked with our team of 1958 restaurant to avoid similar problem with the food in future.

Once again, please accept our apology for your experience. With your comment and opinion, we will strictly review and improve our quality. We look forward to welcoming you again at our restaurant and see our improvement!

With best regards,
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Prawn, oyster and fish is very nice. They got this sauce that coming with. We had a very good night with good food and the price is great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shinjiw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuong L, Người quản lý at 1958 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for using the service of 1958 restaurant and for taking time to share your experience with us!

I am glad to read that you spent a great time with us and that you enjoyed our food and service. We are proud to serve the delectable dishes, premium seafood with perfect wine paring - together with amazing atmosphere of island. Your compliment is our greatest encouragement and we really appreciate that!

Once again, thank you for your time and kind consideration - we look forward to having you again at 1958 soon!

With best regards,
1958 Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

We had walked a long way trying to find a restaurant that was open. Unfortunately this was the first and only one we found. The environment looked nice and we were hopeful of a good meal. We ordered fried chicken and cashew nuts. The chicken pieces had bone, grissle and fat with very little meat if you were prepared to try and find it. The dish was mostly onion and pepper in grease and water and had no flavour. When we told the waiter we were not happy with the meal we were offered dessert which we declined and were given 10% off the bill.

Thank AnneB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuong L, Người quản lý at 1958 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you for visiting 1958 restaurant and taking time to share your experience with us.

I am very sorry that you didn't have a pleasant experience at our restaurant. Please feel free to contact me at: phuong.le@paradisevietnam.com and provide us with more information - we look forward to hearing from you to improve our services and give our guest a better experience.

Once again, thank you for your comment. I look forward to hearing from you soon!

With best regards,
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1958 Restaurant also viewed

Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 

Been to 1958 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing