We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real diamond”

Montania Cafe-Bar-Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 12 - USD 21
Cuisines: Italian, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The multi award winning Montania cafe bar restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. Nestled right on the edge of the Dandenong Ranges with a cosmopolitan atmosphere and a reputation for great food, service and coffee. Our Chef brings to the table an extensive menu with a twist on classic Italian, complimented by a fantastic beverage list. In the mornings kick back with the daily paper, a creamy latte and perfectly poached eggs. What a start to the day! Best news is on weekends we refuse to penalise late risers, offering an all day breakfast menu, with 2 dining areas to choose from.
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

We decided to have brunch here as we had heard such a lot of good things about Montania, we were not disappointed, the tables outside were lovely , the staff were friendly and charming, the food was well worth the drive , and the owner (George) is a fantastic guy who loves what he does.
I would recommend that you make the effort to go eat here as it is well worth it.
We will definitely go back (next time we are over from the UK)
What a brilliant place

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Streetwise02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

This busy little cafe is one our favorites for brunch or lunch. Food is always beautifully presented and equally delicious.
It can get very loud inside but there are plenty of outdoor tables as well. Great if you have a pooch, and you can even grab a doggy treat at the nearby pet store.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Suebie_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2018

Had breakfast here with family. Efficient seating and attention to taking of our order, as we were the only ones in the cafe at this time.
Coffee good and strong but not hot. Great variety of food choices for all dietary requirements. From taking our order to the delivery to our table was not that long but the food was not hot, and at this point only another 2 people had come into the cafe for sit down meal and a few for take away coffees. So a little disappointing.
On leaving no staff member thanked us for coming or wished us a good day, once again hardly anyone in the cafe.
Unfortunately we wont be back hopefully others have a better experience.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Betsie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifthcourse, General Manager at Montania Cafe-Bar-Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2018

Thanks for your feedback, sorry to hear your experience dining with us was less than perfect.
As a team we always aim to exceed our customers expectations.
We have managers on every shift trained to resolve any issues relating to customer service, one of them would have been more than happy to have the coffee/meals remade had this been brought to their attention.
Hope to see you again:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018

There was a choice to eat outside or inside. The service was friendly and attentive but not overbearing.

The shared entree of Sicilian Polpette was a good size (4 meatballs). These oven baked pork and beef meatballs were served in a piping hot dish with a tomato sauce, mozzarella, and yummy light home made puffed bread.

The mains were good. The slow cooked Hellenic baked Lamb was very tender although it could have used something fresh on the plate as a break from feta in peppers and potato (all quite heavy and sticking to the palette so a bit of rocket would have provided some freshness). Pollo Toscana (Chicken dish) had lovely sauce of spinach & creamed sun dried tomatoes plus garlic-rosemary potatoes with olive, lemon-caper sauce - lots of pops of tastes from ingredients.

Limited choices for dessert. Had lemon meringue pie, nice but the filling could have been less stodgy. Meringue was prefect.

Lovely atmosphere - felt welcomed and looked after. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2018

Always walk past here and finally stopped for brunch. Nice selection. Good customer service. Breakfast until 3. Good for families.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeaniesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montania Cafe-Bar-Restaurant also viewed

 
Bayswater, Greater Melbourne
Ferntree Gully, Greater Melbourne
 
Ferntree Gully, Greater Melbourne
Ferntree Gully, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Montania Cafe-Bar-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing