We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$147
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Retired at last

Large room, plenty of parking.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Nov 2019
30 + 31/10/2019 Room 9. Yes would stay here again. But some things you need to be aware of. There is no breakfast facility on site and no toaster or microwave. There is a basic breakfast pack available FREE IF YOU BOOK DIRECT. The hotel bistro (separate building) is excellent, perhaps the best quality smorgasbord food I have ever experienced, and a discount is applied for resident guests. Room was large with good ensuite, good shower. Comfortable beds. Beds are on casters so can be risky, We have found this in some other places and as an ex business owner I fail to understand why the hospitality industry has not realized how they are leaving themselves liable to an injury claim - imagine the outcome if an older frail person goes to sit on the bed and it moves away and they fall. The room and linen were clean, the only fault I could find was the ensuite window frame needed a clean.
Date of stay: October 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$175
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Nightcap at Ferntree Gully Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest Room - Queen and Single
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$147
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Nightcap at Ferntree Gully Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
PunthillKnox Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$178
  • Official Hotel
5.9 km from Nightcap at Ferntree Gully Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$158
  • Hotels.com
5.9 km from Nightcap at Ferntree Gully Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Cavalier, neat and tidy
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$122
  • Priceline
5.9 km from Nightcap at Ferntree Gully Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$132
  • Priceline
6.2 km from Nightcap at Ferntree Gully Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$240
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$240
  • Agoda.com
    AU$210
  • Expedia.com
    AU$240
7.6 km from Nightcap at Ferntree Gully Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$169
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$169
  • Vio.com
    AU$141
  • Hotels.com
    AU$152
7.3 km from Nightcap at Ferntree Gully Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$370
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
7.0 km from Nightcap at Ferntree Gully Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$139
  • Priceline
7.6 km from Nightcap at Ferntree Gully Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Ferntree Gully
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
40
69
52
21
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
40
69
52
21
30
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2019

We checked in for 2 days while attending a wedding in the Dandenongs. It was close to some good food and shopping by car and was well priced for the facilities offered. Parking was just outside the door which was very convenient.
Room was very large (was a triple occupancy) but was great for the two of us. Only downside was a shared internal door with adjacent room, so some TV noise etc was able to be heard from the other occupants.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2019 via mobile

Great room, clean, modern, spacious, all amenities provided, could stay a week and cook and wash clothes, sleeps 7. Grest bistro, went to smorgasbord great prices, variety and excellent food.
Definatley would recomend and come back again. The price was low so wasnt expecting such a great place and service.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2019

Spent a night here while visiting friends in Ferntree Gully. A budget motel but the room was large and bathroom was modern. The room was very clean and bed was comfortable. Note there are no lifts only stairs to upstairs. They do have a resturant attached which we did not use but was recommended to us. If you are wanting a cheap stay this is the place. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2019
2  Thank Illarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ferntree G, Manager at Nightcap at Ferntree Gully Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2019

Hi Illarius,

Thanks for the 5 stars and the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks
Jacqui
Venue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2019 via mobile

Cannot thank the hotel enough for not exploiting travellers over Easter. Different story tonight with a different hotel. Nightcap at Ferntree Gully is not the ritz but appear to be doing the best they can. Free voucher for alcoholic beverage on checkin, descent size long life milk and 2 water bottles in fridge. Walls are a bit thin but our considerate neighbours and us worked this out early and kept tv down and chatter to a whisper. Thank you neighbours in their 60s, don’t make them like you anymore!! Happy Easter Nightcap at Ferntree Gully, we had a lovely overnight stay 👍

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank elizabethsB5305BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2019 via mobile

Just average, paper thin walls and a strong odour as you walk through the door, this could be because of the age of the motel. Do have to to say the Feast buffet dinner at the hotel, was quite good for the price, but was told we would get a 20% discount if we showed the key to room, but that didn’t happen, but did get complimentary drinks.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hamy_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews