We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
8
5
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
5
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews logging trucks living room riverside cottage sightings bedding deck heritage fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Ignore all past negative reviews. As the owners have stated, they have renovated the whole cottage and we can vouch for how lovely it is now. It is a 7 minute drive to the Mount Field National Park visitor center. The beds are comfortable, the linens are clean and the kitchen was well stocked. The fire place was a perk as we read in the living room. We woke up in the morning with a view to the river. My boyfriend was ecstatic that he can just step outside to our backyard for some fishing. We have stayed in many airbnbs/cabins/cottages in our travels and we would not hesitate to come back.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BrysonSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful place to relax. All amenities and the river backs on to the cottage so a perfect haven for relaxing and fishing. Two bedrooms, nice little lounge, kitchen/dining, well appointed bathroom and back deck perfect for bbq and relaxing. Looking forward to a return visit at some stage.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank dancingdebbie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trikemonkey, Owner at Platypus Riverside Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Hi Debbie
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
Not all our reviews have been positive so we have made the following upgrades effective July 2017:
* Full repainted interior
* Brand new beds and mattresses (5 star hotel quality Sealy Posturepedic) for both the Queen bedroom and the Single bedroom now has twin beds (no more mattress)
* Brand new bed linen, electric blankets and towels throughout
* New crockery and cutlery
* New electrical appliances, bedside tables, curtains and extra chair in lounge
* Updated canvas pictures and new furniture including bedside tables
* New TV and all historical cottage "holes" in the wooden floor are bunged up.
* Drafts all eliminated with door seals throughout
* Pictures and website all new with updated current images of the cottage
* New light fixtures and new smoke alarms throughout

I hope we will see you back at Platypus Riverside again soon
Cheers
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Wish I'd read the reviews first. The short version:

This cottage was renovated some time ago but unfortunately has not been maintained. Think of it like a slightly upscale camping experience. If you can get it for $100 / night in summer or $50 / night in winter then maybe consider it but plan to bring some of your own gear. In winter, I'd recommend bringing a well-rated sleeping bag.

If you just want to see platypuses, stay in a better value place and visit the pool near Westerway Primary School at sunset a couple of times (be patient and quiet), or watch under the bridge at Deloraine. Those are the places we had the best luck.

The cottage is right on the Tyenna river and is very conveniently located for trips to Mt Field national park.

The longer version:

As other reviewers have noted, there are significant gaps around the doors. It was warm while we were there so that mightn't have been a problem except that it allowed a continual stream of moths to enter and then buzz around the lights. More of a camping experience than $200/night.

On the subject of warmth, the cottage was very hot when we arrived so we wanted to open some windows. But only the front two windows have fly screens -- the other doors and windows do not. So you can open the front windows and let in all the traffic noise but not get a great airflow, or open windows and let even more bugs in. (It's right on a river, there will be bugs. I'm fine with that, but you at least need some mostly-functional fly screens.)

There's no sign of any insulation on this cottage (you can see the floorboards from the river side), so I can only imagine that it would be *bleak* in winter.

We didn't go there with high expectations of the cooking arrangements, but:
- The toaster oven was broken
- The barbecue was quite small and was covered with an old tarp held on by an old piece of rope. I'm all for a well-seasoned barbecue, but this one had been left pretty gross and wasn't even lightly cleaned before we arrived. The tarp was a pain to deal with.
- The outdoor table was tiny, missing one of its planks, and had only 2 small chairs. There was evidence of past umbrellas but no actual umbrellas to be found.

Checkout time is 10:00am, which is fine. But at 9:58am the caretaker knocked on the door and asked if we were leaving. We were in the middle of gathering up our gear and about to walk out the door, and we were actually out by 10:00am as planned. But wouldn't you give your guests (in a $200/night establishment) a few minutes grace?

The owner responds defensively to other reviews, so I'm going to address some of those responses:
> We replace all bedding every 18 months in any event.
...and later...
> the mattresses and bedding is changed at least annually so everything is fresh

I have trouble believing either of these timelines. The mattress was saggy and most of the bedding was pretty worn. The bedspread may have been new. Maybe.

> A light bulb or even a DVD could have been replaced immediately by our caretaker if advised

The light bulbs, DVD players, toaster ovens, etc should be checked regularly so that they are ready for guests.

More disturbing was that two smoke detectors had been removed. Someone had gone to the trouble of stuffing some paper towel into the hole left by one of them, but neither had been replaced. Seemed to have been like that for a while.

> The TV has been replaced with a big one

It's less than 30" (my guess was 28", but I didn't measure it). Cheap motels have much bigger TVs. It's also stuck in the smaller bedroom. What's it doing in there?

> It allows us to be more specific and ask people to check their GPS to see the address is on a sometimes busy logging road - all part of the Tassie landscape Im afraid.

I had a good look on Google Maps (and again after reading that comment) and I can't see how I was supposed to know that this is a logging route. Looking at maps and photos, it's also difficult to appreciate just how close this place is to the road. There's no front yard, it's just a narrow veranda and then the road.

> the pictures on the website look exactly as the furniture is

The pictures on the website appear to be from right after the cottage was renovated and do not demonstrate the building's current condition. The internal pictures are selectively cropped and do not include the uncomfortable barely-two-seat couch in the living room, the TV's surprising location in the small bedroom, or the general accumulation of junk in and around the property.

This was kind of an infuriating experience. The web site oversells and then overprices the property. More accurate photos and descriptions and a more reasonable ($100/night) price tag might have made it OK.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank binomialpolluted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trikemonkey, Owner at Platypus Riverside Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for jerking us into reality as absentee landlords... we hear you loud and clear and have made the following upgrades effective July 2017:
* Full repainted interior
* Brand new beds and mattresses (5 star hotel quality Sealy Posturepedic) for both the Queen bedroom and the Single bedroom now has twin beds (no more mattress)
* Brand new bed linen, electric blankets and towels throughout
* New crockery and cutlery
* New electrical appliances, bedside tables, curtains and extra chair in lounge
* Updated canvas pictures and new furniture including bedside tables
* New TV and all historical cottage "holes" in the wooden floor are bunged up.
* Drafts all eliminated with door seals throughout
* Pictures and website all new with updated current images of the cottage
* New light fixtures and new smoke alarms throughout
* And we've dropped the price to be competitive but remain as a destination choice
.... and you are welcome to stay for free one night of your choice if available to give us another chance to redeem ourselves.
Cheers
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

This place had no washing machine, no oven, no internet, nor proper fridge & TV set, impossible for wheelchair access. Such a basic place was being described as a high class holiday cottage. We were tricked by the misleading advertisement, spending $220/night.

Room Tip: Overpriced for the condition!!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank HannahJord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trikemonkey, Owner at Platypus Riverside Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

We made the following upgrades effective July 2017:
* Full repainted interior
* Brand new beds and mattresses (5 star hotel quality Sealy Posturepedic) for both the Queen bedroom and the Single bedroom now has twin beds (no more mattress)
* Brand new bed linen, electric blankets and towels throughout
* New crockery and cutlery
* New electrical appliances, bedside tables, curtains and extra chair in lounge
* Updated canvas pictures and new furniture including bedside tables
* New TV and all historical cottage "holes" in the wooden floor are bunged up.
* Drafts all eliminated with door seals throughout
* Pictures and website all new with updated current images of the cottage
* New light fixtures and new smoke alarms throughout
* And we've dropped the price to be competitive but remain as a destination choice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

The cottage was very clean and very quaint. Unfortunately on the main road even though it backs onto a river the cars kept coming till about 10pm at night. Need to take your own dinner unless you get to the local shop by 4pm otherwise the shops were closed and the nearest restaurant was a 20 min drive away! No milk in the fridge. Looked hard but did not see the platypus.
TV was tiny and in the 2nd bedroom but managed to move it in the hallway to watch

Room Tip: Bring your own supplies! Move the TV from the 2nd bedroom to the hallway if you want to use the TV which was located in the bedroom
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jax980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madala53, Owner at Platypus Riverside Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Thank you so much for your review - glad you had a good time.
Yes we are in a fairly remote location with a family of platypus, echidnas, kangaroos, lots of trout and very unspoiled by tourism.
The TV has been replaced with a big one and I hope you saw your platypus.
See you next time round.
cheers
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews