We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Platypus Riverside Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Junction Motel(New Norfolk)(Great Value!)
USD 82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Claremont Hotel Motel(Claremont)(Great Value!)
USD 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mona Pavilions(Berriedale)
USD 519
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Balmoral Motor Inn(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Martin Cash Motel(Moonah)(Great Value!)
USD 65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Graham Apartments(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 105
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Argyle Motor Lodge(Hobart)(Great Value!)
USD 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
7
5
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
5
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslogging trucksliving roomriverside cottagesightingsdeckheritagefireplacelinensbbqloungeamenities
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here one night as we had planned to go to Russell Falls the next day , was so lovely right on the river and the cottage was easy to find as well. The cooking facilities where great the cottage is only small but three of us stayed quite ok . The fireplace is wonder and when we arrived it was already going . Just loved it .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sallyearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madala53, Owner at Platypus Riverside Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review Sally - glad you had such a great time.
I hope you saw your platypus.
See you next time round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Wow! What a winter wonderland. We travelled to Tasmania from QLD to elope, and chose Platypus Playground Riverside Cottage as the site for our nuptials. We were looking for a location and due to the winter season we were looking for something quaint which had a wow factor. We were not disappointed. We made the right choice, a quaint cottage, a warm inviting fireplace, beautiful surroundings, a babbling river and wonderful support from the owner. He couldn't have been more helpful and even provided a witness for our wedding. It was a magical day and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Thank you Rob!!
Recommendation; a must for anybody who is looking to escape the hustle and bustle of city living for a quiet, relaxed, idyllic experience in a picturesque environment ( or anyone wanting to get married).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trikemonkey, Owner at Platypus Riverside Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for such a lovely rap! Well that was a first for our little cottage on the river.
It was a pleasure having such great guests who appreciated simply everything we had to offer to make you stay enjoyable.
Best wishes from the 4 platypuses in the river ... and me for a wonderful life together.
We look forward to seeing you again for your your anniversaries perhaps?
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

It was fine for a night and was clean which many places in Tasmania are not. Cooking utensils are basic. Microwave, weird little grill/oven that takes forever and 2 little hobs. Main bedroom was comfortable. Problems are it is right next to the main road and juggernaughts do use it. They started at 5.30am! The doors and windows are not sealed and there are big gaps, making it not only draughty but allowing a million moths in. The kitchen was just swarming with them from 9pm onwards, meaning you had to sit in the dark to stop more coming in.
If you just need somewhere for a night or 2 and aren't going to spend most of your time there then it is fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Firefly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madala53, Owner at Platypus Riverside Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thanks very much for your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay apart from the moths and although there is a big can of insect repellent in the cupboard we understand your eco friendly option!
Thank goodness this happens once a year for a week, and the juggernauts - they are infrequent and most guests are enthralled by letting the sound of the river only a few feet away send them to sleep.
Best wishes with your travels and we hope you might see fit to visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Two of us went to Westerway and used the cottage as a base for a fishing trip. I had been in contact with Rob the owner on a number of occasions to make sure the property was suitable for 2 friends to stay there and he assured me it was. I made it clear that we wanted to cook in the premises and although he said there was no oven he said the kitchen was well equiped (see attached photo). The bed in the second bedroom was so worn our in the middle that a pillow had to be placed under the mattress to support it. The second bedroom also had no door fitted and the light globe was not working.As previously reported on Trip Advisor there has been no effort to fill in the gaps in the floor and non of the doors fit properly allowing all of the cold air in (August in Tassie). The front door of the cottage is approximately 2m from the road and you will have the joy of the cars waking you up from 4.00am as the people go off to work. The cottage literally shakes when a truck or fast car goes by.

I also asked the owner if they had aDVD player and was told that there was one there but on arrival there was no player and the smallest TV you would ever find. We were told the DVD player was stolen 2 years ago and like most things in this cottage not replaced. The owner either lied to me or does not know what is going on with his own property.

The bottom line is this property is in poor condition and over priced. The owner markets it as a Platypus haven which it is but they can be found all around the area. We saw modern properties in the same area advertised for short term rental at the same price as here and they had 3 bedrooms, proper kitchens, spa, plasma TV etc. My advice is to think very carefully before staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trikemonkey, Owner at Platypus Riverside Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Oh my - a poor review after thousands of great ones - that certainly needs a response as Trip Advisor is a public venue that costs operators money when visors cancel due to one bad report. Gratefully, TA gives us the opportunity to respond.
Thanks Tony W for bringing these things to our attention publicly, always works for an immediate response.
Please note that the owner was not contacted to rectify or explain any perceived or actual issues associated with this visitor's stay.
The mattress will be replaced next week, it is foam and should not 'dent' however it will be replaced. We replace all bedding every 18 months in any event.
In 8 years of operation not one person has ever complained about the cooking facilities as most folks stay 3 or 4 days and find all the BBQ and inside kitchen facilities more than adequate.
A light bulb or even a DVD could have been replaced immediately by our caretaker if advised - or a call to the owner directly as with any accommodation anywhere.
The owner is very much in touch and so is the caretaker who lives a few doors up the road so we need some perspective here. The few millimetres of gaps in the original floor will be filled - the majority of visitors love the 'cuteness' and 'originality' of the renovated old workers cottage and a few millimetres of daylight in a few spots has not bothered anyone in the last 3 years since that review. - but easily and quickly fixed.
Now to the trucks. There is a truck on average (one truck) that passes early in the morning as it is a logging area. Again - never a complaint as the Platypus Playground Riverside Cottage is literally 15 feet from the river (5 feet when the snow melts upstream) and the only road follows the river for most of the accommodation venues, so they would all suffer from 'the truck'.
Finally this visitor received a free night's accommodation in his booking and these little issues could easily be sorted - a phone call away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My son and I spent one night in this delightful cottage while visiting Mt Field, and loved the location beside the rushing stream. We were there on a Sunday, so there were no logging trucks passing, and we found the cottage peaceful and well equipped. Enjoyed the complimentary port on the kitchen table! As the pub up the road was closed for meals that day, we bought some meat at the local store and cooked a delicious meal on the BBQ on the rear deck. The combustion stove was already alight when we arrived and kept the cottage very cosy. Spacious bathroom, comfortable beds, we found the cottage ideal for our needs and reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews