We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
243
76
20
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
76
20
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jardin malanga infinity pool the main house basse terre small fridge drinks cold service provided recommend le a great vacation the cottages peace and tranquility exploring the island colonial house last month each evening low key four nights
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

The rooms in the cabins are relative small. There is no space to put your suitcases. The bathroom is specious though. The breakfast is excellent and fresh fruits and breads are delicious. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank CHFEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pastef, Directeur général at Le Jardin Malanga, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear Guests,
We thank you for sharing your comment on Trip advisor following your stay with us. Best Regards, Claire & Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We stayed at Malanga for four nights after a week in Martinique for a conference and were thrilled with our choice. What a beautiful setting - beautiful gardens, lovely infinity pool, and expansive view of Les Saintes (small islands off the coast) from our veranda on the top of the hill. The daily included breakfast was lovely with baguette, croissants, local jams, tropical fruit, and eggs cooked to order. Dinner (extra charge, but reasonable) was different every night, inventive, and delicious. Most of all, such friendly and helpful service -- Claire, who answered many questions about Guadeloupe and always had a smile and joke; Laurent, who made beautiful kitchen creations seem effortless and ran out to our car with umbrellas when we returned one day in a downpour; and Woody, young waiter who was helpful and flexible. An added bonus was Caramel, a super-friendly, super-huge orange cat. We made several outings from Malanga in different directions and found it to be a very good Basse-Terre location. We would definitely go back. (Only small issue: shower water pressure is very inconsistent, like water fully stops flowing five times per shower.)

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pastef, Directeur général at Le Jardin Malanga, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your great feedback. It was a pleasure for us to have you in our establishment. The problem with the shower is now solved. We look forward to welcoming you another time in Jardin Malanga ! Claire & Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

I visited this residence together with my wife at the end of January 2018. The place is located in higher parts in the south of Basse-Terre in Guadeloupe, on which you can find long, sand beaches, waterfalls and nature reserve established around a volcano. The hotel gives you an opportunity to live in a beautiful garden with lots of high palms and other exotic plants. Apart from the garden, the residence is equipped with an infinity pool which provides a perfect view of other Carribean islands.

You check in either at a wooden mansion built in the beginning of previous century or at one of three free-standing, wooden, holiday cottages. The place is very quiet as there are only few rooms. We had a room in the mansion’s first floor. The room was spacious and atmospheric with view of the sea. It had its own bathroom, although, it was outside the room. If you pick that room its good to remember to take earplugs with you because when rain hammers wooden roof during the night you will certainly wake up.

Last but not least, if you spend there holidays you can taste the most delicious meals and drinks in whole Guadeloupe. Their Chef has great culinary skils. However, as I remember there is one Wednesday evening when the Chef has a day off so be prepared to have a dinner out if you do not want to eat a cold plate.

Also, other staff members did their job very well as they were very helpful all the time so we cannot complain about anything. All that made our holidays great. We truly felt relaxed while being there.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Krzysztof G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pastef, Directeur général at Le Jardin Malanga, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for your stay with us and for this feedback. We are happy to see that you enjoy food and landscape. See you soon, Claire & Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

A very unique, historic property. Very private with wonderful breakfast and evening dinner
accommodations. A 1927 banana plantation manoir with three rooms in the main house and three
bungalows each containing two rooms. Beautiful infinity pool with expansive views of Les Saintes in
the distance. A very French Caribbean experience.

Room Tip: We would recommend staying in one of the adjoining cottages.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pastef, Directeur général at Le Jardin Malanga, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your great feedback. It was a pleasure for us to have you in our establishment. Laurent is very happy to know that you appreciate all his dishes. We look forward to welcoming you another time in Jardin Malanga ! Claire & Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

I should say at the beginning that the hotel was full, and we seemed the only guests not enchanted with the property. To be fair, there were many good points but several disappointments. You need to know that the hotel is very hard to find. It is in a crowed area with narrows twisty streets above Trois-Rivieres. Suggestion: Print off the directions from the hotel’s web site before you go, you will need them. The hotel is a small walled compound and their web site fails to show that they are hemmed in by neighbors with trash, farm animals and chickens that wake up about 5 am. The hotel’s grounds did suffer a great deal of damage from Hurricane Maria in Sept 2017 and damage was still visible six month later, so we overlooked the condition of the grounds. Given time it will come back. The property looked a bit run down, peeling main and a broken banister. They really need to renovate. Our room in the main house was huge, but rather spartan. There was one rather uncomfortable chair and absolutely no place in the room to put luggage. Our bags had to go on the floor. The curtains were the cheapest you could find. Our biggest issue was the bathroom. The shower/tub had no back splash and no shower curtain. It was impossible not to get the floor and walls wet. The window frame behind the shower had a great deal of mold as did the tub. I am including photos to show the mold. There was accumulated dust and dirt on the tops of the baseboards in the bathroom area. All in all, it looked in need of renovation, or a good cleaning. The high point of the stay was the food, the young Chef Laurent prepared exceptional meals. The food was the best we had on Guadeloupe. To be fair, no other guests seemed bother by the condition of the hotel. We were clearly in the minority.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 124C41NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pastef, Directeur général at Le Jardin Malanga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guests,
Sorry to heard that you really didn’t like your stay with us. It is sad to see that you tell nothing to us directly. We are hiding in the mountain, not in the city center it is true. But if you follow our sign or just our district “L’hermitage” you could find us. In September we had hurricanes with wind at 250km/h. We lose some trees and it cannot come back in 6 months. So the vegetation needs time.
We take note about renovation. But as you said, the hurricane was strong in Guadeloupe. They were not available before to repair because they are still working in St Marteen were the hurricane was really strong. So the banister will be finish to repair at the end of April. Thanks to put photos really closed to the windows that could “prove” what you say. But in the reality it is not mold. It is just a part of the wood without painting. Your room was in the heart of the authentically colonial house. Just in wood with a beautiful view on the island “Les Saintes”. But it seems that you were more occupied to check our neighborhoods and not the sea views. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews