We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do if you like gardens”
Review of Babel Restaurant

Babel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Simondium
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Housed in the old cow shed, Babel Restaurant is a wonderful mix of Cape Dutch architecture and contemporary glass walls that makes for a simple yet edgy environment in which to try our tasty yet often unconventional combinations. We have a farm-to-fork philosophy which means we like to serve food that is seasonal and that reflects our “pick, clean and serve” approach.
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The garden at Babylonstoren is amazing. Classically designed and almost entirely edible! Espaliered pears and figs and hedges of onions in bloom and rosemary. A cactus maze, orchards, chickens, geese...it's really something special. It's so beautiful with the mountains rising in the distance.

We were told to stop at Babylonstoren on our way from Cape Town to Franschhoek by our Cape Town Innkeeper. We asked if they had room for us for lunch, which they did not, as it books months in advance. But while we were there we decided to make reservations for dinner since we'd heard the food was so amazing. And with that vast edible garden out front, how could it not be?

The dinner menu is not the same as the lunch menu - it's more "fixed" (set appetizer, set salad, and a choice for entree) - it was good....but not great. It was much more basic than lunch. For all those incredible foods in the garden, the salad that came with our dinner was nothing more than some greens dressed with oil and vinegar. So disappointing. I got the feeling that the only people eating there were guests at the hotel - it seemed that we were the only outsiders. So I would not recommend it for dinner if you're expecting the same incredible experience people claim they have at lunch.

That said, the gardens are totally worth a stop even if you don't have a table for lunch. They have a charcuterie and a fromagerie to one side of the tasting room, and a bakery on the other. So if I were to do it again, I'd grab some cheese and meats, a loaf of bread (the olive bread was AMAZING) and buy a bottle of wine (bring your own cup or glass, though - they will not let you use one) and grab a picnic in that amazing garden.

Date of visit: February 2013
Thank bimbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

980 - 984 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

Traveling with guests from England we were advised to stop here on the way to the Winellands. We tried to book in the main restaurant but was told it was closed on Tuesdays but the " Glashuis "
picnic area was open. On arrival we were advised to go straight to the Glashuis for lunch as it could well be full later on and they didn't take bookings. The walk through the gardens was interesting. Acres of beautifully maintained fruit and vegetable gardens. Our early lunch at the picnic area was very pleasant. The food was presented well but was not exceptional. The bread was very fresh. Quite a few items on the menu were not available. Plastic knives and forks were provided which were not ideal. When we left over an hour later there were in fact more tables available. On the way out we passed the restaurant which was open and in full swing! The shop was well worth a visit.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jessicabianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We had Sunday lunch at Babel with a couple of friends. Very relaxed, good service and some very different food. My desert was exceptional and I had to resist having seconds! We had booked many many weeks ahead because it is so popular, but it was worth the wait. And not too pricey either. Our only problem was that the signs from the car park to the various shops/eateries on the farm, were a little confusing. It was also so very very hot and we did not manage to see as much of the beautiful vegetable and fruit gardens as we had wished because of this, but will go back again in slightly cooler weather to see more of them and visit the tea room which we have heard so much about.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Avril W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We were advised to visit the Babylonstoren gardens and restaurant after a tour of the Motor Museum nearby. We were strangely charged R10 by the gatekeeper and informed that the restaurant was fully booked, but we could get a snack in the cafe. However the restaurant proved to be far from full of customers and we were given a table straight away, although we were told that it would have to be vacated in an hour. Another strange thing as the restaurant was still not overbusy when we finished. Apparently the restaurant is famous for its salads with a choice of red, green or yellow. We had the green which was extremely boring, underdressed and had as a significant item a pile of uncooked green beans.
All very strange and an experience we have no wish to repeat.
By the way the large vegetable gardens are very attractive but also unkempt and full of weeds in the bit we saw.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rjg4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

What a find! A most wonderful place to visit. Beautiful gardens where they grow most of their own fruit and veg for use in the restaurant. Bookings essential for lunch but do visit the tea room. Had the best scone I have ever tasted in my life! Excellent shop where you can buy a range of their products. A must for anyone visiting in the wine country.

Date of visit: February 2013
Thank alicedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babel Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Babel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.