We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Living area and bedroom open floor plan High
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living area and bedroom open floor plan High
kitchen 1 bedroom apt downstairs Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Living area and bedroom open floor plan High
kitchen 1 bedroom apt downstairs
Bedroom
dining area by living are
Kitchen
Hallway
Outside front
Beach less than 1 mile
Beautiful beaches!!
The Lighthouse Outlet Mall over 100+ stores across the street
beach less then 1 mile
Washington Park
Zoo
Washington Park Free Music on Thurs 7:30 in summer
front
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Michigan City, Indiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pamela C
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This apt is directly across the street from the Lighthouse Mall and two blocks down from the Farmers Market on Saturday mornings. This is our 3rd time we have stayed here and Darlene makes you feel right at home. When we first walk into our apt she has cookies on the table waiting for us. It has Satellite TV and free Wi-Fi access and a full kitchen with everything you would need to make yourself dinner if you wanted. It's clean and the bed is comfortable. We always get the downstairs room because it seems larger and she has a smaller apt upstairs. The steps are steep and narrow and my husband and I are older so it makes it harder to carry our luggage upstairs. This apt is so close to the main downtown area that we can walk everywhere. We even walked to the beach; but we have to drive our vehicle to take all of our beach chairs and cooler and umbrella.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay and your kind words!! Please come back and stay with us again!! Thanks Darlene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjbear6
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great apartment and great location”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was a first time visitor to Michigan City and was so happy that I found this amazing apartment and such a wonderful host! First off, the location CAN NOT BE BEAT! You can walk to anything and everything (except the casino... that might be a little far). The outlets are across the street, the beach is just under a mile, cute restaurants and pubs all nearby. If you don't stick with things in Michigan City, the train is an easy 5 minute walk making a day trip to Chicago completely reasonable. The train can also take you to Indiana Dunes State Park or you an drive and hike around the dunes.
Now for what will have me coming back... the apartment was amazing. Darlene has put a lot of love and care into this house and it shows. The décor is great and fits the Victorian home. The apartment is well appointed with linens, kitchen equipment, A/C, and a comfortable couch and bed as well as plenty of seating and space. I loved drinking coffee out on the front porch in the morning and planning the day. Darlene was a great host. She makes you feel welcomed with a personalized sign, plenty of brochures to help plan outings, beach towels, and recommendations for activities and food.
I loved my trip to the North Coast of the US having grown up as an East Coast beach goer... and I plan to return to Darlene's!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well appointed apartment and the hostess!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
So glad you enjoy yourself!! Please come again, you all are always welcome!! Have a wonderful summer!! Thanks again for your kind words.. Take care! Darlene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosko1627
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spacious apartment in a good location”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were in Michigan City for a wedding that was taking place downtown so the location of this place was really great being only a couple blocks away. Everything was prepared nicely and clean for our visit and it was quite comfortable. Plenty of space in the bedroom/living room as well as a nice full kitchen. Comfortable bed/bedding was also a plus. Definitely will consider this rental again if we're back in town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Older TV
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveB001
Columbus, OH
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice apartment, great owner”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My wife and I wanted a quiet place to spend a few day. Darlene's place filled the bill.

It's not fancy, but is roomy, clean, and well kept. Perfect for a quiet get away.

In addition to being very convenient to the local outlet mall, it is a short walk to the nice little Michigan City arts district. There are very nice restaurants, galleries, resale shops, all with terrific personality. A short drive to Indiana Dunes, if you're interested in a day at the beach.

We were very glad to have stayed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen P
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome Apartments / Owner”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The apartments in this house were wonderful. Decorated nicely and very clean. Well equipped kitchen...nice sitting area...bedroom. Nice location...near outlet, beach, restaurants. The owner was on site, and was very helpful answering questions and giving suggestions. A very enjoyable trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique apartments in the house and owner
Liked least: Homes In area needed the TLC this house received
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review!!! Nice having you stay with us in Michigan City, please come again!! Thanks Darlene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing