We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, nice room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Severin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Omni Severin Hotel
Ranked #12 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed two nights at the Omni Severin last weekend. The hotel is located right downtown within walking distance of most everything we wanted to do. The room was very small with a tiny bathroom, but fine for my wife and me. It was clean and the bed was comfy. The TV was huge (bigger than the bathroom, actually). We didn't watch it much, but it was great for watching the NCAA highlights before bed. Only cons were a slow tub drain and no free wifi. Downtown was packed with St. Patrick's Day revelers, people attending the Pacers/Knicks game, and SuperCross fans (combining three Hoosier favorites: drinking, basketball, and loud noises), so the atmosphere was quite festive. We had a nice time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swervie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
We're sorry the tub drain was an issue. Please let us know next time and we'll be happy to send an engineer to the room to fix the problem. Also we do charge for Wi-Fi, but if you join our Select Guest program it's free. You'll also get morning beverage service and newspaper and it's free to join.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    563
    203
    96
    41
See reviews for
396
443
65
813
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Our friends recently got married & had their wedding at the Omni. Their wedding could not have been more elegant, and went off without a hitch. The food was absolutely fantastic, and the decor was stunning. Out of convenience, we decided to stay at the Omni for the long weekend. While our hotel room was nice, it was insanely small for $200/night. The bathroom was literally the size of a closet. So small that only one person could even be in there at a time. The one other aspect that did not sit well with us was that they put 1 random older couple on the same floor as the wedding party (including the soon-to-be groom & his family). This older couple proceeded to call hotel security numerous times, claiming that there were multiple parties going on (completely false accusation, but I do know the noise level was not exactly what I would call quiet.) Now, I have to question the hotel staff's judgement putting a random couple in a room on the same hall as 40 wedding guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetCarolineKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and the wedding. We do apologize for assigning a room on the wedding party floor to someone who wasn't in the party. We hope this incident won't deter you from staying with us next time you're in town. If you can provide more information on this we would greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed for an event at Lucas Oil Stadium, and was able to walk everyday.

Rooms were clean and comfy, room service and restaurant had great hours. Food was not so great- so many other great places a stone's throw away.

Very busy weekend and getting the car back from the Valet service was a bit frustrating, but everything else was spot on.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ln_spindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T.C., CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

At check-in the clerk acknowledged me as the "Expedia Rate guaranteed room"... Thought that was strange. Anyway, bell and desk staff were nice. The room was small but the Bathroom was tiny, most notably the sink area had no counter space whatsoever to place vanity items. It basically consisted of the sink top and no more. No place to hang towels either... just a little frustrating.
Would only stay at this property again if I could upgrade to a suite. Looks like there are several other cute hotels in the immediate area if you want to stay downtown Indy.

Room Tip: After asking for a corner or room with a view, clerk placed us on the 10th floor (view of the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoJo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
We're sorry that the bathrooms didn't have more space. As a historic hotel, some of our bathrooms have a smaller configuration. However our suites do feature larger bathrooms. Many of our suites have balconies with great views of the city as well. We hope you'll consider booking one next time you're in Indianapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We arrived on time but our room had not been cleaned. The front desk staff was accomodating and stored our luggage and offered us free drinks at the bar while we waited. After about an hour, we went to our room which was supposed to be a deluxe King but looked like it had been carved out of a coat closet. The bathroom was about as long as the bathtub and barely as wide. There was little room to move around in the room as the bed took up almost all available space. The elevators were clearly overworked all weekend and we frequently had to wait over 10 minutes to get an elevator to go up or down. Because of private parties in the hotel, access to the stairwells from the main lobby was restricted so there was no alternative but to wait for the elevator to get to your room.

The housekeeping, front desk, restaurant and bell staff were polite and well informed.

Room Tip: If the hotel is crowded, allow plenty of time to get to and from your room on the elevator since the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonofMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
We're sorry that you felt your room was too small. We do offer larger rooms for a charge if you would like more space. As we are a historic property, some of the bathrooms are not as large as a newer hotel. We also apologize for the elevator issue. When the hotel is busy there may be some delay, but we rarely request guests not to use the stairwell due to private events. We're glad that our staff helped make your stay more pleasant and we hope you'll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#9 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#2 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#3 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#20 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Severin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Severin Hotel

Property: Omni Severin Hotel
Address: 40 West Jackson Place, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price range (per night): $181 - $576
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Severin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 424
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Omni Severin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Indianapolis
Omni Indianapolis
Indianapolis Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing