We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, high noise level.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
Ranked #27 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location, high noise level.”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I booked this hotel for two nights as part of running the Indianapolist 500 festival half-marathon. The hotel is indeed built from an old renovated train station, and it is still active. Trains do occasionally rumble through the active station nearby. To their credit, the front desk staff does warn every guest checking in about the trains during check in. The noise level from these trains ranges from a barely detectable hum to a mildly earth-shaking vibration. The front desk staff were courteous and helpful. Wireless internet was free; there's a 4-digit wifi access code which they will write on your key envelope at check in. The location is excellent. It can be found right next to the Indiana Convention Center, accessible via Skywalk from the Circle Centre Mall and other downtown highlights, also in close proximity to Lucas Oil Stadium. I did not try the Pullman Restaurant in the hotel, so I cannot speak for that.

My main problem with the hotel was not the train noise, but the amount of noise through the walls. I was placed in Rm 146, which is beside the indoor pool/hot tub on the ground floor. The walls are paper-thin, and EVERY sound can be clearly heard. That includes the family full of kids who splash and scream in the pool starting at day break, or the graduation party a couple doors down screaming at each other to take shots at 2 am. (Both these happened on my stay; the loud children being clearly audible all morning and afternoon in the pool was a recurring theme.) The room itself was clean enough, with basic amenities. Like any budget hotel anywhere, really. Is a fine location and a decent price in downtown Indianapolis, but if a good night or morning of sleep is important to you and noise bothers you...you might look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The farther away from the pool you can get, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFUltimate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, 24 June 2012
First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at out hotel. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as our friendly hotel staff. We take pride in our level of service, cleanliness and location of our hotel. I am sorry you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the noise from our other guests. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.


We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    293
    132
    69
    43
See reviews for
180
166
41
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

First... all the windows overlook the interior lobby. The lobby is nice. Things that are bad:
A- Severely out of date rooms. Ceiling damaged, framing showing around mini-fridge, and closet doors that don't stay on track. Everything, minus the TV, needs to be replaced, even linens.
B- Being in an active train station is not "quaint" I was woken up multiple times a nite by the noise and shaking. I live in NYC and can normally sleep through most distractions.
C- Executive level is basically in the lobby, closest to the trains
D- Staff was pleasant, but could use an update in self presentation
E- Executive club's sparse offerings
F- too much bleach in the towels

Sorry to be so negative, but this was truly a strange and disappointing hotel. My limited interaction with staff proved them to be friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor. Turn down executive club upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djr311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear djr311,

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel. I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the noise levels at the hotel, and accommodations received. However, I am pleased to see your interactions with the staff were a high point. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. We do hope to host you in the future.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed for a weekend; if you get one of the train car rooms, do it! They are cool and the kids will never forget. Nice indoor pool and gym too. Food on breakfast buffet was great but bit pricy. You are close enough to walk to the downtown mall, and see many of the sights.

Room Tip: Get one of the train car rooms, very unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My wife and I travel quite often, and this hotel ranks high on the "worst hotels" list for us...for a number of reasons.

First, the set up of the hotel and its rooms is difficult to appreciate. As other reviewers have stated, the hotel is built into a former train station. Because of this, the rooms are almost all facing inward with a single window opening to the lobby or the pool area. This means that the rooms feel like a cave with no view of the outside. It also means you have little privacy, as people in the lobby are walking and sitting directly outside almost all of the guest rooms. Our room in particular was located above the pool, where we not only had no privacy but we also had no silence. Finally, you hear trains rattling your entire room constantly. Some may love this, but given how bad everything else was...I did not.

The rooms and the hotel itself are all in disrepair. The ceilings are marked with water damage, the walls are marred, and in general the hotel feels worse for wear. Our room in particular was dirty and we experienced the dirty towels others have noted. There's also the issue of amenities in the rooms themselves. Our standard room had a single (yes, one) outlet that was not behind a bed or the TV stand. Our bathroom was not great either, as it was small and dingy (a theme for this hotel).

In addition, the service wasn't great. Our friends staying with us had issues getting their room clean, and I couldn't call the front desk (or anyone, for that matter) because our phone's programmed buttons did not work. When I was finally able to call the valet, the phone rang and rang only for me to walk downstairs and find two staff members standing and doing nothing. Essentially, the only nice thing I can say about the Crowne Plaza is that we had hot water. Not high praise.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawks80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear Hawks80,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in the Crowne Plaza and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I paid $230 a night here, which was ridiculous for this kind of hotel. Decor is dated, no exterior windows, and it is part of a train station, so you will hear rumbling throughout the night. It is ok if it were $100 cheaper but is a total ripoff for what I paid.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Velvetgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Velvetgemini,

Thank you for your your stay and leaving us feedback. We are deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,357 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#8 of 182 in Indianapolis
341 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Property: Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
Address: 123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#56 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price range (per night): $212 - $455
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places and located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center at Historic Union Station is 'housed within America's first Union Station.' Our hotel s downtown Indianapolis location is ideal. We re just steps away from both the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the Indianapolis Colts & convenient to Bankers Life, home of the Pacers, Circle Centre Mall, The Indianapolis Zoo & White River Gardens, The Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Motor Speedway & Hall of Fame Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, The Children s Museum & downtown nightlife. Our Romanesque revival-style hotel features 273 guestrooms, Pullman's Restaurant & Lounge and over 50,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're best known for our 26 authentic Pullman traincar guestrooms named after prominent personalities from the early 1900's. Another popular feature of the hotel is the white fiberglass ghost travelers dressed in period clothing, and still lovingly haunting the premises. Our hotel is still an active train station, which enhances its ambiance and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing