We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had fun... but pack your ear plugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We had fun... but pack your ear plugs!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Anytime we visit a place where we haven't been, we use Tripadvisor.com to help us choose hotels, restaurants, etc., so it is important to me to make sure I write a review when we return so we can help others to make their decisions, too. There were only a couple of reviews for Big Splash that concerned me and either 1. They have done a lot of work to fix the issues or 2. Those reviewers just had really strange circumstances. This place is awesome for kids! We just returned from a one night stay with our 5 and 6 year old and they had a blast. I never once had an issue with their level of cleanliness. Everything was clean, I didn't notice any funny smells, and there were no bugs, whatsoever. I thought there were plenty of staff available and there may have only been 1-2 people that weren't smiling. They were all very pleasant. The real problem is not with the hotel or the staff or the food. The problem is that people these days do not watch their kids, and too many kids are not taught to be considerate of others. The life guards did a good job of watching the kids in the water park, but the hotel staff cannot babysit 24/7 and I literally was up all night listening to kids run up and down the hallways, and the constant sound of doors slamming. I even got up once to take a peak out to see what was going on, and there were adults out there, too! (this was at 10:30 pm). I noticed that there was a sign in the hallway indicating that there was a mandatory quiet time from 10:00 pm to 8:00 am.... but those people could not have cared less. Being there with 2 small children who had been in the park all day, we were in bed by 8:30, so I think the quiet time should start even earlier but like I said before, it doesn't really matter what the sign says. The free breakfast was pretty good for being free, and it is nice that there are a couple of places to eat on site. Prices were very reasonable. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you are going with small children who go to sleep earlier, you may ask if there is an area that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abrames, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent posting! We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests. We have worked very hard to rectify issues over the last year. We are so glad to hear that our hard work has been noticed and that our guests are having pleasant experiences. We work very hard to control noise and do have a 24 hour security department. We will notify them of your experience. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to have you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    123
    101
    42
    46
See reviews for
327
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My Family (4,6,7)& I stayed here in Sept. 2011 and Loved this Hotel... It was very clean and my children had lots of fun in the waterpark. There is also an Amish resturant at the bottom of the Hill that we ate and really enjoyed the food. Would Highly recomnd to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy10yr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abrames, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent posting. We are so glad to hear that you had a great time and would recommend our facility to family and friends! We hope to have you as guests again soon!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We traveled with 4 kids (all 8 years old or less) to French Lick for Fall Break 2011 and had a great time. The water park was not overly crowded and we had no problem getting a table/chairs. There was something for all age groups - kiddie pools/slides, fast tube slides, lazy river, etc. Read previous poor reviews about the food, but we had breakfast buffet each morning and it was plenty adequate (although fresh fruit would have been a nice addition). We stayed in a room just a few doors down from the waterpark entrance and didn't experience any noise issues. The room was smaller than it looked in the pictures, but otherwise clean and well appointed. Parking was never an issue, but be prepared for a VERY steep ascent up their driveway!

Room Tip: Bunk beds were a big hit with our crew
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilywithTwins46037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abrames, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you had a great Fall Break experience! We can't wait to have you back as a guest again soon!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was our 2nd trip to Big Splash, its a great winter trip for the kids. We normally stay one night let the kids swim and play the video games. They now have a laser tag and some more games in another building by the main road. And for the adults if you get a chance you have to ride the Indoor Go Kart racing which is real close to the hotel. The other activity close is snow tubing at Paoli Peaks. This place is not super fancy, just a decent place to go during the winter and the kids love it.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is the access to the waterpark so I would say the higher the floor the quieter it is going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank radelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abrames, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. We are glad to hear that you had a great time while you were here! We are also glad that you feel like there are multiple activities to participate in while visiting Big Splash! We hope to have you back again soon!
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is a great place to take the kids in the winter to get some "summer" fun. The waterpark is warm and fun. Lots for kids to enjoy. Staff is superfriendly. The downside is you can hear the kids all hours of the night and day. They run through the halls and you can hear every footstep. Even upstairs. Tried to keep the A/C running to drown out the sound (had it cranked down to 60), but it runs on a thermostat so it kicks off. I know it's not the hotels fault that people can't be considerate of other guests. I'm talking 11:00 at night. Kids and parents being noisy in the hall. Bring a small fan or something would be my suggestion. Other than lack of sleep it was a ball!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckduck619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abrames, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear that you had a good time while you were here! We do have 24 hour security and always encourage guests to call the front desk and report noise complaints. This way we are able to address the complaint immediately. We do hope that you will consider our facility again in the future!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Lick
0.9 km away
Best Western Plus French Lick
3.2 km away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
33.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
35.2 km away
Jasper Inn Dome & Convention Centre
0.7 km away
French Lick Springs Hotel
French Lick Springs Hotel
#2 of 5 in French Lick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Splash Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Splash Adventure Resort

Property: Big Splash Adventure Resort
Address: 8505 W State Road 56, French Lick, IN 47432-9401
Region: United States > Indiana > French Lick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Price range (per night): $182 - $270
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Big Splash Adventure Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Splash Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Splash Adventure Hotel French Lick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing