We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus French Lick(French Lick)(Great Value!)
USD 121*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites French Lick(French Lick)(Great Value!)
USD 122*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 236*
USD 201*
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Baden Springs Hotel(West Baden Springs)
USD 293*
USD 239*
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 64*
USD 56*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Spring Mill Inn(Mitchell)
USD 107*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 169*
USD 161*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Jasper(Jasper)(Great Value!)
USD 101*
USD 81*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 90*
USD 85*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 128*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
106
130
106
44
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
130
106
44
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parklaser tagbunk bedstoddler areabigger slidesfrench stickfall breakbreakfast buffetputt puttovernight tripmini golfroom keystaff was friendlyoatmealtrain ridethe room was nicemini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My Family (4,6,7)& I stayed here in Sept. 2011 and Loved this Hotel... It was very clean and my children had lots of fun in the waterpark. There is also an Amish resturant at the bottom of the Hill that we ate and really enjoyed the food. Would Highly recomnd to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy10yr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abrames, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent posting. We are so glad to hear that you had a great time and would recommend our facility to family and friends! We hope to have you as guests again soon!
Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We traveled with 4 kids (all 8 years old or less) to French Lick for Fall Break 2011 and had a great time. The water park was not overly crowded and we had no problem getting a table/chairs. There was something for all age groups - kiddie pools/slides, fast tube slides, lazy river, etc. Read previous poor reviews about the food, but we had breakfast buffet each morning and it was plenty adequate (although fresh fruit would have been a nice addition). We stayed in a room just a few doors down from the waterpark entrance and didn't experience any noise issues. The room was smaller than it looked in the pictures, but otherwise clean and well appointed. Parking was never an issue, but be prepared for a VERY steep ascent up their driveway!

Room Tip: Bunk beds were a big hit with our crew
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilywithTwins46037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abrames, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you had a great Fall Break experience! We can't wait to have you back as a guest again soon!
Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was our 2nd trip to Big Splash, its a great winter trip for the kids. We normally stay one night let the kids swim and play the video games. They now have a laser tag and some more games in another building by the main road. And for the adults if you get a chance you have to ride the Indoor Go Kart racing which is real close to the hotel. The other activity close is snow tubing at Paoli Peaks. This place is not super fancy, just a decent place to go during the winter and the kids love it.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is the access to the waterpark so I would say the higher the floor the quieter it is going to be.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank radelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abrames, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. We are glad to hear that you had a great time while you were here! We are also glad that you feel like there are multiple activities to participate in while visiting Big Splash! We hope to have you back again soon!
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is a great place to take the kids in the winter to get some "summer" fun. The waterpark is warm and fun. Lots for kids to enjoy. Staff is superfriendly. The downside is you can hear the kids all hours of the night and day. They run through the halls and you can hear every footstep. Even upstairs. Tried to keep the A/C running to drown out the sound (had it cranked down to 60), but it runs on a thermostat so it kicks off. I know it's not the hotels fault that people can't be considerate of other guests. I'm talking 11:00 at night. Kids and parents being noisy in the hall. Bring a small fan or something would be my suggestion. Other than lack of sleep it was a ball!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duckduck619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abrames, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear that you had a good time while you were here! We do have 24 hour security and always encourage guests to call the front desk and report noise complaints. This way we are able to address the complaint immediately. We do hope that you will consider our facility again in the future!
Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Now, it could be because it was MLK weekend AND the fact that the groupon we used is about to expire, but it was INSANELY crowded. My friend and her 6 year old daughter and me with my five year old daughter arrived at 3:30 and for an hour and a half kept us waiting in 30 minute increments for our room, kept telling us "in 30 minutes it will be ready." So at 5pm they told us again it would be ready in 30 minutes, I finally said that we really were done waiting and we had already exhausted the gift shop and restaurant and magically a room came available. The waterpark itself is pretty cool, the air is warm and so is the water (well kinda warm). Our girls are not very daring, so they stuck close to the small toddler pool/slide, splash area, pool and lazy river. We did enjoy it, except that it was SO crowded and the air was so thick with the smell of chlorine that even upon arriving at home now, my lungs are still burning. Ok, so service... ALL staff (with the exception I saw two adults) are teenagers. Some were pleasant, others looked like did NOT want to be there. My biggest complaint is the food. Oh. My. Word. 2 food places, one sit-down restaurant, where the food was just nasty (we didn't even get to try the free breakfast as there were probably 50 people waiting in line for it), and the other food option was at the pool where only junk was sold, pizza, pretzels, hamburgers, ice cream. This establishment caters to families, families with children. Please upgrade your menu with some HEALTHY options!!!! A prepackaged Dole fruit cup loaded with processed sugar is not my idea of a healthy option. The arcade had about 20 games. No kidding 10 were out of order and the other 5 were out of tickets or ate tokens. I waited 5 minutes to finally find a young boy to help us. The rooms were nice and clean, except there were stains on the pillows, ick!!! There was a nice TV, but absolutely NOTHING suitable on for little eyes to watch. Front desk clerk was rude when asked to request a later checkout time, but had no problem keeping us waiting to check in. Gift shop had just a random assortment of crappy made toys. My daughter got a generic Barbie for $11 and she already has lost a leg. So there you have it. My honest opinion. I really could probably go on, but you get the idea.

For being so close to Louisville, and seeming like such a nice getaway for families, it was a HUGE disappointment.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jworth428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abrames, Manager at Big Splash Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent posting. I am happy to report that we were able to rectify the situation. We have addressed all concerns with the guest and hope to have them back again soon. Great customer service is our utmost goal and we work hard to make sure our guests are happy!
Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews