We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Tradition ”

Zaharako's Ice Cream Parlor
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We travel from out of town every Christmas season to share giant sundaes and go across the street to the giant indoor playground. I recommend the "Big Z". You pick five flavors of ice cream (that arrive together in a big bowl covered in whipped cream and cherries) and three toppings (that will arrive in gravy boats for you to pour yourself). It serves four people a small ice cream sundae, but two hungry people could finish it, or one person with the appetite of a teenage boy. The cookies and cream is the best flavor ice cream, but if you go in December you can get Candy Cane ice cream and that is fabulous as well. Don't forget to bring a few quarters to play the "player band" in the museum area, near the bathrooms. It is like a player piano, except it is an entire band including banjo, triangle, piano, castanets, tambourine, etc. You can watch all of the parts move through the glass windows on the front and side. For those who might be noise sensitive you should sit near the door, as there is a very large player piano at the very back of the restaurant and it is extremely loud. Like church organ loud. We sat right in front of it when it was playing and my kids loved it, but other people asked to be moved away. You can sit at the old soda bar if you have a small group, or at one of the tables if you have a large group. There is even one mini table with chairs for small children, and we have sat next to that and let our kids sit at their own little table!

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank SportsMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

A must stop for Christmas. Beautiful decorations in a 1900's setting. Food is good, but a little pricey--oh well it's Christmas! Gotta love the ice cream and the favored sodas.

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Dropped by on a cold day for some lunch. Mediocre at best. Ice cream look good and seemed like a good price.
Go for the atmosphere. Look at the pictures-- this place has been here and looking like this a long time. That's what makes the visit worthwhile.

Date of visit: December 2017
2  Thank justabubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Come for the ice cream, but piano (organ?) roll music nearly blasted us out of the place. But that was only a problem for a few minutes. They need to exercise some volume control!

The reason for the visit, of course, was the ice cream. And it was terrific. Don’t miss this place!

Date of visit: November 2017
2  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We stopped in for lunch at Zharako's after taking an architecture tour around the town on a Friday afternoon. This was an easy walk from our car that was parked at the Visitor Center. Carrie, our waitress, was super friendly and had lots of suggestions on sizes of sandwiches and favorite ice creams. My husband ordered the sloppy joe that was served as a grilled sandwich and liked it very much. I had the smaller burger - it was delicious. We shared a chocolate malt that was outstanding. We sampled the peppermint ice cream (truly the best peppermint we've ever had) and the butter pecan. We also sampled the famous green river float. This is a real ice cream parlor. Lots of interesting soda fountain sets in the museum side of the building. After lunch, when things had quieted down from lunch a long-time employee, Wilma, showed us and a couple other patrons the restored upstairs rooms that are furnished in a very Victorian style. What an unexpected treat to see that part of the building. This restaurant is a gem in Columbus. It was immaculate, full of interesting woodwork and collectibles. The owner obviously takes great pride in offering first rate establishment in a first rate small city. Prices are very reasonable for the excellent quality of the food. Carrie and Wilma made for a winning team last week. We just wish we could get this ice cream in Columbus, Ohio.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KathieColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zaharako's Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

 

Been to Zaharako's Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing