We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
141
7
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
141
7
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching paddle boarding amazing things black beans world class an array mountain biking fly fishing seaplane ride horse drawn carriage choose your own tent horses adventure luxury wilderness resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2019 via mobile

What a fantastic place this is. Its a perfect cocktail of one part picturesque campsite one part a luxury resort and one part family home. It starts with a magical seaplane ride which leads to a homely reception. Overall the service is top but standout accolades must go to the passionate, knowledgeable and friendly guides: Dan in particular was awesome. The friendly barman was also great. We did some amazing things: walking among 1,000 year trees, whale watching, paddle boarding, mountain biking, horse riding, fly fishing - we did it all. So many wonderful adventures to be had but for my 8 year old daughter the highlight was the opportunity to play with all the staff’s dogs who roam free adding to that family vibe. The breakfast was world class. Our only minor criticism was the lunch and dinner menus were somewhat limited and repetitive. Quality was excellent though.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank oakley9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley G, General Manager at Clayoquot Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Dear Oakley9191,

What an incredible review! Thank you so much for submitting your feedback and sharing about your experience. Your "perfect cocktail" description of the resort is awesome! We're thrilled that you had such a lovely vacation with your family and enjoyed so many adventures. We will be sure to pass along the 'kudos' to Dan and Richard; they will be excited to know you acknowledged them personally. We love that your daughter enjoyed playing with the dogs and that you all felt right at home. Our furry family members are definitely a special part of the CWR experience :-)

Again, thank you for taking the time to write this review. Wishing you a beautiful autumn season and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again one day soon!

Sincerely,
Bradley and Antonella, General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2019 via mobile

Luxury gone wild! If I could i just would stop here. The location is amazing. The wilderness stunning and the black bears amazing. Will come again for sure. Staff is so nice and the food is amazing. If somebody complains I would not understand.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ChB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley G, General Manager at Clayoquot Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2019

Dear ChB1970,

It was a pleasure to host you and we are grateful for your positive, 5-star review! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're so thrilled you enjoyed seeing the black bears; it is truly a special experience to see them in their beautiful, wild habitat. Thank you for the glowing praise for our team of staff and the culinary program. It means the world and we will be sure to pass along your kind words to our team.

Thank you again, wishing you safe and happy travels. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bradley & Antonella, General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2019

Just returning from Clayoquot and still marveling at the level of service, the exquisite beauty and the sophistication of the food... luxury and adventure rolled into one. Our experience was memorable from the first minute with champagne and sparkling lemonade awaiting our arrival (post horse drawn carriage from the seaplane dock). The two general managers showed us the entire property and kept an attentive eye on us and all the guests throughout our stay. Their greatest achievement is in the staff they have assembled. The guides were incredibly enthusiastic, accommodating and caring. Each of them overjoyed to be there and knowledgeable about everything from bears to orcas to paddle-boarding and canyoning. The activities are endless with the flexibility to choose your own adventure at (nearly) a moment's notice. Canyoning, wildlife watching, hikes, horses, spa, archery... we did it all. Our entire experience was customized to us. Another true highlight was the food -- the pasty chef is amazing and the sheer selection of entrees at bkfst/lunch and dinner kept us constantly stuffed, but unable to turn away from the next delicacy. We enjoyed the small touches -- laundry done for you, cookies and desserts put out each afternoon, the staff setting up games for us while it rained and proactively offering the kids hot chocolate and an unbelievable amount of gear for any occasion..down to brand new archery gloves, paintball suits, beautiful Helly Hansen hiking boots, all in an array of sizes.

We could not have been more impressed. Well done, Clayoquot!

Room tip: Go for the en suite tents on the water -- it's worth it.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sydney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley G, General Manager at Clayoquot Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2019

Dear Sydney4,

Thank you so much for taking time to submit this wonderful review! We are thrilled that you had a marvelous time at the resort. As you experienced, Clayoquot Wilderness Resort is more than a hotel, it is an immersive experience shared with staff, fellow guests (and dogs!) alike that become like family. Thank you for commending our incredible team of staff. They are indeed passionate, knowledgeable and dedicated to ensuring our guests experience the best of what this beautiful environment has to offer. Thank you also for acknowledging our pastry chefs! We will pass on your kind words and they will be thrilled. Chef Pataran and team truly create an extraordinary culinary experience, in the remote wild no less!

Again, we thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience, which we will be sure to share with our team. Until next time, happy and safe travels!

Sincerely,

Bradley & Antonella, General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2019 via mobile

Please don’t let my review discourage any one, this is one of the most amazing places in the world to stay at. The GM’s are lovely, walking around and reacting with guests, the staff are so knowledgeable, kind and caring. The guides are amazing as are the wait staff. Accommodation is beautiful with nice attention to comfort. Unfortunately since being taken over by an umbrella group, things are a little different. The food was a bit disappointing, we received cold meals on more than one occasion & they ran out of items on the menu 2 days in a row. If you don’t eat fish you might struggle. We had a large group in, maybe a conference. They took over on many occasions & the last night in the lovely bar they put on their music , sang & danced very loudly. We left....On our check out day we had a time but house keeping came so much earlier which was very intrusive, made us feel we were being pushed out. Also please let your guests know what they order may not be on the inclusive list. We got a bill without being told what we were drinking was not included. We still had a wonderful, relaxed & fun time away but a few little issues stayed with us.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Saronbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley G, General Manager at Clayoquot Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2019

Dear Saronbell,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and submit this review! We loved hosting you and your friends and are thrilled to hear that you think Clayoquot Wilderness Resort is one of the most amazing places in the world to visit! We couldn’t ask for a better comment and we are grateful for all the positive and constructive feedback you shared.

We are so sorry to hear of some of the dining and housekeeping issues you encountered. We never want our guests to feel like they can’t speak with us directly while on property, or personally over the phone/email following your stay so we can remedy any negative experiences. Rest assured, we take your feedback seriously, and we’ve met with our department leaders to review your comments.

Again, thank you so much for sharing these notes with us so we can continue to improve and offer our guests the best experience possible. We will follow up with you personally in the coming days and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit!

Sincerely,

Bradley and Antonella, General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

This was a 1 week trip rescheduled post the new management (we visited in July 2017, there's no option to choose this far back in the review,so full disclosure)

It's an incredible place but the best bits for us were
1) Seamless and professional organization from arrival to departure and in-between
2) Excellent food with skilled chefs who can create amazing things which cater to probably any dietary restriction (e.g. egg-free baking)
3) You can do whatever you want at whatever pace - we went on a pretty demanding hike, spent another day hanging out on a boat
4) They have the "communal but private" balance right. We traveled as a couple and didn't necessarily want to be surrounded by other people's kids at mealtimes or on activities.They get this, even if some parents do not :-)
5) Accommodation was luxurious, outdoor showers were lovely but don't hang around out there if you're attractive to mosquitoes

All the guides were fun and highly trained.

Cell is non-existent and wifi was spotty, it didn't bother me but may be an issue if you're expecting to stay "plugged in" (to work) whilst here.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank G3471PYjoannaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosalynY7, Manager at Clayoquot Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Joanna W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review, it really means the world to our team, and to hear what you specifically found wonderful is extremely helpful to us. The comment about "communal but private" balance is great to hear. The dynamic of each set of our guests is unique and we are conscious of creating the experience they envisioned for their trip. Anything we can do to accommodate that is our number one priority. And thank you for mentioning our flexibility - this is a vacation after all, and we always want our guests to feel relaxed and able to enjoy the resort at their own pace.

Again, thank you for this review, and I hope we will see you back in the Bedwell soon!

Sincerely,

Rosalyn Young
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews