We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
161
55
18
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
55
18
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen navy graduation great lakes bedroom suite tortillas my son naval base beer and wine hotel of choice conference room home away from home meet greet every morning small kitchen room door free breakfast boot camp
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I visit the north Chicago suburbs and Milwaukee area one or two times each year. In the past, I’ve always stayed in Schaumburg, but decided to try Waukegan because it is more centrally located. I highly recommend the area for its convenience to both places.

This hotel is definitely one of the better Residence Inns I’ve visited. With one exception, all of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were very, very clean. I plan on making this our new go-to hotel when visiting the area.

The only downside is that the hotel is relatively large but only has one, rather slow, elevator.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TomInMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for making us your "new go-to hotel" TomInMichigan. It is our goal to ensure a positive guest experience. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate team members for follow-up. Rest assured we will continue to consistently provide you with a high level of quality product and service. We can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We stayed here for our daughters graduation weekend from Navy Bootcamp. The staff was so friendly and so helpful with questions about the area and about how to get to the PIR ceremony.

We loved having the 2 room suite, so nice for our sailor to have a spot of her own to shower and relax for the weekend after boot camp.

The staff at the hotel even had a surprise for our sailor and the other sailors graduating that weekend. They really went out of their way, it was so sweet.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sillymeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

We are thrilled you all enjoyed your experience with us Sillymeow and that you found our spacious suites to be a comfortable atmosphere. Our team strives to go above and beyond every day. Please extend our deepest appreciation and congratulations to your daughter for her accomplishment. We're honored to share in such a proud moment with you and your family. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This place was clean and the full kitchen was very handy. I will say that it was pretty noisy, both the air conditioner and the people on the floor above us. But the bed was comfortable and the room was nice.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor if you can.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fierycrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Fierycrest,
Thank you so much for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott during your recent visit to the Waukegan area and for sharing your comments. We're glad your stay was enjoyable. Please make sure you come back and see us again and we'll do our best to find you a nice quiet area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We were only here for two nights in August for a Navy RTC graduation, but they were great (Plus, I cashed in points, so that was nice). All the staff there were friendly and helpful. The breakfast food was good, even had some spicy Andouille sausage! The room was clean, A/C was cold. A real nice touch was a personalized banner on our room door, congratulating our son for graduating boot camp!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ditusar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Congratulations to you and your son Ditusar! We are so glad we're able to share in such a proud moment in your lives. Our team is thrilled to see we were successful yet again in providing you all with a great experience. Best wishes to you all and be sure to extend our appreciation to your son for his service and commitment. Please come back to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Staff were above and beyond helpful and friendly. Thank you David for all your help. Beautiful, clean rooms, good breakfast and the mixes were a nice touch at night if we didn't want to get out. Very good spot if you have business at the Naval Lakes facility.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you so much Jerry P for the wonderful review and the personal acknowledgment. Our team is thrilled to see we were able to provide you with such a great experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews