We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
55
62
29
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
62
29
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cinnamon rolls direct tv front desk navy graduation king and queen pancake machine training center gravy and biscuits conducting business naval base great lakes nice stay beds were comfortable first floor weekend trip would stay here again nice size
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed here while shopping. The hotel lobby and rooms were clean. The pool area was very dirty.... if my kids won’t swim you know it’s bad. My husband checked out breakfast area and a gentleman dropped spoon on floor and didn’t tell anyone just set it back... needless to say we didn’t eat breakfast at the hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn & Suites for our family reunion. The staff was friendly, professional and accommodating. The hotel was clean and beautiful. Our room was clean and swelled so fresh. The hotel was only about five miles from Gurnee Mills Outlet mall. Great shopping experience at Macy's and other great stores! Six Flags Great America was about five miles from the hotel. The breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful! Our bed and pillows were so comfortable we hated to leave. We spent three nights there and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This was our second stay at this hotel and we'll be back in the future. Beautiful and save location.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank elderelbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We stayed at the Holiday Inn & Suites Waukegan/Gurnee for 4 nights while attending our son’s Navy Boot camp graduation. Our 2-room suite was a nice size (divided by sliding doors). Beds were comfortable and the room served its purpose. The curtains don’t completely close at one end and light easily comes through in the early a.m., which can be an instant wake up alarm for those of us that are light-sensitive sleepers. Maid service was very good, no complaints.

There are many places close by to eat and there is a Super Walmart just down the street. Most of the food locations are fast food in the Great Lakes area, but you can find a few that are a bit more upscale if you use your smartphone or laptop.

They offer a free breakfast in the morning which is nice. On Fridays, breakfast starts at 6 am for those attending boot camp graduation. I recommend taking advantage of starting early and leaving by 7 for graduation (see Note below). My only comment would be to recommend that the staff keep on top of cleaning the tables/chairs as guests leave, making it presentable for the next guest.

There is a computer and printer for guests to use in the main lobby.

Note: We had a rental car and chose to drive to graduation. Although we left at 7am, with the back up of traffic, we did not get to the parking garage until 8am. The Holiday Inn offers a free shuttle to and from the location, but I'm not sure if they get a special access point to the entrance for drop off or not, so check it out before deciding whether to drive or use the shuttle. Most of all, keep in mind the total number of divisions graduating your particular Friday. There were 11 divisions graduating our day, and on other days only 7 divisions may be graduating. This should be taken into consideration regarding traffic delays.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cricket59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Super friendly staff, checking in easy and fast. I have stayed at a few ofnthese hotels around the states and there were above the average of their chain.

Room was very clean and did not smell bad. My pet peeve test, they passsed. No mold in the shower. My only negative is no usb charging outlets so dont forget your 110 volt plug.

I would stay there again. Also great location and close to a lot of food options and Walmart.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank carsdogstats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel was easy to get to from O’Hare Airport — about a 45 minute drive. The area immediately surrounding the hotel has a plethora of dining/shopping options. The hotel itself is clean and quiet. The hotel makes an effort to cater to families attending basic training graduation providing information and insights that were incredibly helpful.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews